Winter is Here…

Sigh. I truly don’t mean to start every second post whining about something that I forgot to do, but dammit I so meant to do a pick of the week post for this one and, well, didn’t. Anyways, it might be a bit late but it still counts, since not only is it my pick of the week, but my pick of the month (and then some).

One of my very favorite young adult series is wrapping up, and I have been looking forward to this last book all year. Winter is the final book in Marissa Meyer‘s Lunar Chronicles series, which on the surface sounds…well, just plain strange. Cyborgs and moon people and werewolves, but I loved it. The whole series was fun and different and really well done, intertwining the fairy-tale stories of Cinderella, Little Red Riding Hood, Rapunzel and Snow White. I would love to see this one go on for a few more books, but I guess I will have to content myself with next years short story collection, Stars Above.

winterSynopsis…

Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend—the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters?

Are there any other Lunar Chronicle fans out there? Which fairy tale stories do you think could’ve been added to this world? There is always Beauty and the Beast or Sleeping Beauty, both of which could fit, but I have to admit I am sadly ignorant about fairy tales.

4 thoughts on “Winter is Here…

  1. yarnna says:

    Thanks for the reminder! I’d forgotten to track the releases on this one, but have really enjoyed them so far. Well, except for Levana’s story which I didn’t finish. While it’s interesting to add dimension to a villain, I don’t want to hate the main character.

    • kaleigha says:

      I have that one, but didn’t feel the need to read it (yet). I like my happily ever afters, and I like my bad guys to get what is coming to them, and I can’t see the two going together in her story. Maybe after I finish Winter I will give it a shot.

Leave a Reply

