Weekly Wrap Up…

booksTime again to check in and see what everyone has been reading for the last couple of weeks. On my end, I have been sort of chugging along at a slow pace. My quest to get caught up on the character guides meant that I did a re-read of Thea Harrison‘s Midnight Kiss. This one is a stand-out for me, and is probably one of my favorite books in the whole series. I am usually notoriously fickle when it comes to the female leads of my books, but I thought Melly wasn’t a superhero chick, but she was fun and ingenious and really relatable. And I also remembered to check out Pia Does Hollywood, which is the second in a trilogy of novellas focusing on Dragos, Pia, and Liam. While the first in the trilogy is pretty much a must-read (there are quite a few new developments), this one isn’t. Not saying it was bad, but it doesn’t add a ton to the overall storyline.

Oh, and I also did a re-read of Deceptions from Kelley Armstrong. I am loving the Cainsville books, and this is one of the rare (like bigfoot rare) quasi-love triangles that doesn’t make me want to punch myself in the face. The only other one I can think of is Will/Tessa/Jem from Cassandra Clare‘s The Infernal Devices. What they both have in common for me is that there is no clear cut winner or loser. Not like an Edward/Bella/Jacob situation where you know damn well who she is ending up with and the third character ends up as little more than a plot device. Ok, I got off track – love me some Cainsville. There.

I have been less successful in my finishing up series plans. I am half way through Jennifer L. Armentrout‘s final Lux book, Opposition (well, final if you don’t count the upcoming alternate POV addition, Oblivion). I think the problem is that I really should’ve done a refresher on the previous books, because honestly, I was lost for a while. I did get back into the swing of things, but it isn’t quite grabbing me like I thought it would.

What great books did you read (or re-read) this week? Anything deserving of a special shout-out?

 

3 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up…

  1. Amy says:

    I read Colleen Hoover’s newest, November 9. And while I wasn’t blown away like I was with Hopeless, I still very much enjoyed it. Can’t really say the same about Richelle Mead’s Soundless. I’m only about halfway through, but the characterization is falling flat.

  2. Iain says:

    Life’s gotten in the way of reading for me… Carhunting has slowed reading the past few months, but moving into a new apartment this week has me on the same ebook for nearly a week now, and I finally finished Monster Hunter International (#1) on audiobook in the same amount of time or longer…

    In recent weeks I listened to Downside Ghosts #4 by Stacia Kane, and just started the 5th and latest one today… should be all caught up in time for the new one next year…

    Need to get to Sweep in Peace soon too… its burning a hole in my Kindle

Leave a Reply

