Marvel’s Jessica Jones

jessica jonesFor the last few weeks, the hype for Marvel’s next Netflix original series, Jessica Jones, has been strong. Like, really over the top. The early reviews that I saw were pretty much universally positive, and some were downright gushy. In fact, many said that it is better than Daredevil, which I thought was an awesome show. So, basically I went into Jessica Jones certain I would love it.

I didn’t.

To be fair, I don’t dislike it, either. Or to be more exact, I like parts of it quite a bit. From best friend Trish to G.I. Joe wannabe Will to smokin’ hot Luke Cage, the supporting cast is terrific. The setting might still be Hell’s Kitchen, but it is a prettier version than seen in Daredevil. I would kill for Trish’s apartment, and I loved the peek at the $50 million TriBeCa penthouse mansion I had drooled over online last year. What I didn’t like was, well, Jessica Jones. No slight meant to actress Krysten Ritter, but I found myself waiting to get her scenes over with to get back to the other characters. That isn’t really the best reaction to have for the main character, that’s for sure.

And on a bit more…delicate…note, the raunch got a bit old for me. I am no prude (hell, we all pretty much read the same books, so it isn’t like I am a shrinking violet), but by about the third romp between Jessica and Luke I was just getting bored. And a bit embarrassed, to be honest. I was watching it by myself, with headphones on, but I found myself looking around to make sure I was still alone. Awkward.

What was your take on this one? Did you check out Jessica Jones? To be fair, I am not finished yet, but I am not feeling the need to drop everything to dive back in. I will probably get there within the next couple of days, if all goes well. Here’s hoping things pick up on the back end.

8 thoughts on “Marvel’s Jessica Jones

  1. Iain says:

    I’m only 4 eps in and liking it… but kinda agree about all the sex scenes, especially in ep 3 so far…

    Like I said in a previous comment, I recently moved… also got a new TV which seems to have more sound variation that my old one… higher highs and lower lows… so I fiddle with the volume quite a bit, and some of them abrupt sex scenes could probably be heard by new neighbors… awkward…

    I really like Tennant, as an actor… but he hasn’t really been onscreen much so far… he’s much more behind the curtain than Kingpin was…

  2. Jean says:

    I’m enjoying Jessica Jones. Tried one episode of daredevil and it didn’t take for me, I’ll try It again. Jessica Jones is good but I’m not losing sleep binge watching it. Lurv my agents of shield series as a side note. Agents of shield took a couple tries before it clicked. Now it’s up there with walking dead for me.

    • Iain says:

      I liked Agents of Shield season 1… haven’t watched 2 yet… 1/2 of the best part of 1 for me was being able to binge watch it… I watched the season 2 premiere but didn’t want to have to wait a week between each episode, so I paused…

      • kaleigha says:

        That’s what I do…I check out the first episode or two to see if I like a show, then I get the blu-ray and pull a marathon.

  3. Jean says:

    I’m enjoying Jessica Jones. Tried one episode of daredevil and it didn’t take for me, I’ll try It again. Jessica Jones is good but I’m not losing sleep binge watching it. Lurv my agents of shield series as a side note. Agents of shield took a couple tries before it clicked. Now it’s up there with walking dead for me.

Leave a Reply

