Reading Wrap Up…

booksWow, I am almost current on fir this post. Miracle. Anyways, It is time to check in and see what everyone has been reading this week. Personally, I was relatively happy with how things went.

Ok, let me start this off with my pick of the week, Christine Feehan‘s Wild Cat. Um, yeah. Well. Wow. Bad? Not…really. It is what the last few books in the Leopard and Ghostwalker series have been lately. I am now christening these books “Uber Alpha and the Doormat”. The hero is dominant to the point of being a control freak, and the heroine just…goes along with it. She tries to placate and cajole her way out of “trouble”, usually meaning she tried to have a thought for herself, or god forbid said no to something. I like an alpha, but there gets to a point where it is just over the top. Actually, what really hammered this home is that right after I finished Wild Cat, I picked up Viper Game for a re-read for the character guide, and it was pretty much the same story. Or maybe it would be better to say same tone. Completely the same. Just switch leopard shifter for cat-enhanced super-soldier, and you are set. But of course, I still keep reading.

I also wrapped up another series, Marissa Meyer’s The Lunar Chronicles. Winter had a lot of ground to cover, what with not only telling Winter’s story, but finishing off Cinder, Scarlet and Cress’s arcs, as well as resolving the whole Levena situation. There were times I did find that it was almost too much going on, and things did get a bit bogged down at times. I would even go so far as to say that the big resolution was a bit of a let down, to be honest. Levena was so built up that it seemed like taking her down was almost anti-climactic. But even so, it was fun to get back into the Lunar world, and see everyone get their happily ever afters. Or happily ever after one days, as the case may be.

And my final book was another re-read. I picked up the last Fever book by Karen Marie Moning, Burned. Burned was tricky, in the scheme of things. Originally supposed to be the second book from Dani O’Malley’s point of view, it was instead primarily from Mac’s. On one hand, I was hoping for another Dani-centric book (just one in the middle of the series is a bit jarring), but on the other hand, I really liked this story. I liked Mac as an almost passive observer, and I liked the insights into the Nine that we might not have gotten if it had been focused on Dani. I planned on the re-read taking the best part of a week, but I got so involved I did it in two nights after work. But man, I really want the next one now.

So, what did you read this week? Anybody else try Feehan’s Wild Cat? Are you finding the alpha a bit over the top?

19 thoughts on “Reading Wrap Up…

  1. Emily says:

    I felt the exact same way about Wild Cat. She’s going to far with the alpha male concept and turning the dominant man character into a Dom. Yes, BDSM Romance has become a popular genre, but that doesn’t mean that every hero, and every erotic scene, should follow that trend. Feehan’s heroes really can’t even be called Doms; they’re just regular run-of-the-mill assholes. I was disappointed because I had really been looking forward to Elijah’s story. Just a repeat of my disappointment with Wyatt’s story in Viper Game. And Dark Ghost felt like it had two different authors. I couldn’t even get interested in it until about 66% , but after that, it was good enough for me to give a 4 star review. That’s just totally odd. I might not be ready to write Feehan off completely, but I have much lower expectations for her novels now. And I won’t be rushing to get her books on release day anymore either.

    • kaleigha says:

      Elijah’s story was my biggie for that series, and I didn’t completely dislike it. Well, parts got skimmed over when Elijah was being the dictator, and…crap, I can’t even remember her name, that was how bland she was…was all “yes, honey”, “of course, honey”. Meh, maybe better luck next time?

      • Emily says:

        You know, I can’t really say I disliked it either. It was okay. I’m just tired of the heroes being jerks. lol. And I’ve tried really hard to remember the girl’s name for you, but I don’t have a freaking clue. How crazy is that?

        • kaleigha says:

          Weird, isn’t it? It was ok, but then I rag on it for 11 minutes. You made me laugh when you couldn’t remember her name, either. I am going to start to call them all Blanda. Yep, “Uber-alpha and the Doormat”, main character Blanda.

  2. pals20 says:

    isn’t this pretty standard fare for Feehan? I have only ever read two b ooks of Feehan and trust me, they were more than enough for me. The very first Carpathian book was pretty much the standard fare for its time. Liked it enough that I picked up another one and that was one where the hero messed around with another book’s heroine’s pregnancy to make the unborn baby’s DNA compatible with his. Fast forward 18 years, and the exact same alphahole storyline kicks in. Oh, and the hero was the unborn baby’s father second-in-comment or best friend or some such crap. WTF!!!! Since then, no more Feehan for me,,,,

            • Emily says:

              Haha! Me too. It’s bugging the heck out of me that I can’t remember, but looking it up feels like admitting defeat, or cheating. For some reason, I think it starts with an S. Is that what you’re thinking?

                • Emily says:

                  Actually, I think Saria if from Drake’s book. But she is Remi’s sister. lol. So, I can remember the heroine from 3 books back, but not this one. I actually liked Saria; she could hunt crocodiles. Hahaha! I was thinking Sahara, but that’s Kaleb’s girl from psy/changeling. Man, this is annoying. 😠😡

                    • kaleigha says:

                      Sienna! I remembered while grocery shopping, and blurted it out in the frozen foods section. At least people stayed out of my way after that.

                    • Emily says:

                      Hilarious! There was no way I was going to remember it. I can picture her description, and remember scenes from the book, but her name was completely wiped from my memory.

                    • Emily says:

                      I totally caved and looked it up. lol. I couldn’t stand it anymore! My only consolation is that I was right about it starting with an “S”. But there wasn’t one of those “oh, that’s right, I remember now” moments. Other than it starting with an S, there was no recollection at all; like I was seeing it for the first time. No way would I ever have remembered it on my own. Crazy, huh?

  3. samoak says:

    Glad to hear that you were fairly happy with what you’ve been reading. I don’t think I’ve ever read a full length novel by Christine Feehan. I can’t stand uber alpha hero and doormat heroine books, so it might be why I’ve always avoided her.

    Sorry to hear that Winter’s resolution with Levana was a little anti-climatic. I need to pick that series back up (I’ve only read Cinder so far).

    • kaleigha says:

      Yeah, Winter was good, but just too much. Like 800 pages and about 6 storylines on the go, but I still think it was a great series. Plus, I stopped in the middle to read other things, so I think that threw off my pacing, so part of it was my fault, too.

Leave a Reply

