I Might’ve Finally Met My Match…

leadsSince I started the blog, the one thing I have always said is that books are my treat, and I spare no expense. I did cut way, way back on my buying last year, but that was because my TBR pile was getting on my nerves and I knew that I was heading to the point that I was going to have more to-be-read than read pretty soon. For that reason, I got way more selective in what I bought, and things have been going pretty well. Between what I managed to read and the hundred or so I gave away, I dropped from well over 300 in the 100+ range. Yay.

But, like I said, I haven’t blinked at buying a book at all, and I have always been really glad to get them. A favorite series release is an absolute no brainer. Gimme. Money has never, ever been an object.

Until now.

I went to order Kresley Cole‘s newest, Sweet Ruin, and the re-release of Sherrilyn Kenyon‘s Seize the Night in hardcover (which I already have on Mount TBR in paperback), and I just couldn’t do it. Nope. No way. Both Amazon and Chapters have Sweet Ruin listed at $28.48, and Seize the Night as $28.92. Plus tax. And that is not happening.

I just can’t do it. It isn’t that I can’t afford it, it is just that it feels like a rip-off. I don’t know if prices are staying high because of Christmas, or what, but I refuse to pay that much for them. Authors have absolutely no control over pricing, so it is either the retailer or publisher keeping prices elevated. Maybe it is the crap Canadian dollar exchange rate, too. But either way, I hit my enough is enough point. I will wait until next week and see if prices drop, and if they don’t I will be picking Sweet Ruin up for Kindle, and Seize the Night can wait until it hits the bargain bin.

Have you hit your “not happening” point with a book? The point where you just say enough, and you can’t justify it? How much do you think is too much?

41 thoughts on “I Might’ve Finally Met My Match…

    • kaleigha says:

      Actually, it was your comment on the padding of the book that turned the lightbulb on about the inflated price. I figured that it just wasn’t worth it.

    • kaleigha says:

      I have always done around the $22-$23 range for hardcovers, which I can handle. More than $10 for a paperback is a bit steep, though.

  1. cheryl says:

    I do mostly kindle and I am having a hard time justifying 12.99 and up for a digital book. Even my favorite authors are getting a second blink and maybe I can wait for a price drop or get if from the library. I am addicted to kindle because I can listen to books while working but it is getting harder to one-click for something I can’t even
    sell for a used item and get some extra cash for.(to add to the book fund, of course)

    • kaleigha says:

      I have to admit, the digital prices would be hard to swallow. I don’t keep track of them, but I have noticed a few that have made me stare once in a while (like when they are more expensive than the print version). Never will get the logic on that one.

      • Iain says:

        I actually read an article that explained that… publishers make a large chunk of their money stocking the shelves of bookstores… since publishers get paid before the book sells… if they let ebook pricing be too appealing, bookstores order fewer hardcover/paperbacks… hurts publisher’s bottom line…

        … that’s the whole line in the sand between Amazon and publishers on Agency Pricing… I read this whole article with graphs that clearly showed this was hurting the authors’ wallets… then I couldn’t find the article next time I wanted to look at it…

  2. Dawn Bettin says:

    I came close when purchasing Justin Cronin’s first two books in his trilogy. But, they were worth it. My biggest grip is when the Kindle price is the same as the DTB. We get no pretty cover, etc. But, I remain loyal to my Kindle. It’s awesome to have instant contact with all 2500 of my books.

    • kaleigha says:

      I actually just got my father a kindle, which is great for him (but a pain for me). I order all of his books, which is fine, but he has decided that he can’t load up a book to read for himself. Once he finishes one, he starts to pout that he doesn’t have anything else to read because he “can’t find” the home page. Le sigh. Much pouting. But on the plus side, the Kindle unlimited is great, and I have gotten about 5 books from there for free so far.

  3. Tavia says:

    Hey K: I have the softcover Seize the Night. I will be more than happy to mail it to you, all is need is an address. I enjoy Kenyon’s books, but once I have read a book, I will not read it again. So let me know if you want it, or anyone else for that matter. I has some of her hardcover books as well, which I am also happy to pass along to anyone who wants them (free). Tavia

    • kaleigha says:

      Hey Tavia…that is really kind of you. I actually have the softcover, too, but I have been upgrading to the hardcover as they have been released. I do appreciate it a lot, though. It would be interesting to see if anyone wants to do a bookswap thing, though. Like a want add for books.

  4. Loverofromance says:

    That is quite a bit overkill right? I couldn’t do that either. I almost bought Sweet Ruin in Hardback at B&N which was $19, but it was still a bit too much. I like not spending more than $15 for a fiction release.

  5. Iain says:

    I pulled those books up on amazon… in US at least Seize the Night is $8 kindle, $20 hardcover… Sweet Ruin is $14 kindle, $18 hardcover… at that point the kindle barely seems like a savings… (/sarcasm)… YAY Agency Pricing

    That’s why I like my growing pool of favorite indie authors in the $5 or less range… Sweep in Peace… Elizabeth Hunter’s new Cambio Springs book, Waking Hearts… Penny Reid’s Happily Ever Ninja… $5 new releases ordered or pre-ordered in the last month… As much as I read, I gotta read cheap…

    • kaleigha says:

      Really, since the Canadian dollar is completely in the toilet right now, the prices kind of line up. The Kindle price is a bit of a chunk, though, isn’t it? It’s true, though, you do go through a lot of books, and if you want to feed the addiction you have to broaden your range. I have only ever heard good things about Elizabeth Hunter, too.

  6. Gabrielle says:

    I completely agree. Blood Kiss did it for me this week. I thought because it was supposed to be going back to “paperback” it would be £8 or £9. So when I went into Waterstones it was a complete shock to see it was double that at £19! And its hardback and paperback doesn’t come out for another 6 months. Although JR Ward is one of my favourite authors, I refuse to pay that much. Especially for book thats new and the start of a new series, so I don’t even know if I’m going to like it. I’ve ended up ordering it from Amazon for around £12.

    • Emily says:

      That’s crazy for a paperback! Even though I just finished reading it on my Kindle app, and it was crazy good, I’d still have a hard time with that price. Wow!

      • kaleigha says:

        Was it trade paperback size, or standard mass market? Because for mass market, that is flat-out wrong. Even trade paperback is a stretch, for that matter. Ugh.

        • Gabrielle says:

          The ‘Blood Kiss’ that I’ve bought for £12.91 is hardback, and I’m still waiting for it to be dispatched. The paperback of it won’t be released (in England) until 2nd June 2016, and that’s going to be £8.99, and I think it’s mass market. I’m not sure what their aim is to have prices that high, all it’s going to do is make people permanently switch to kindle because its so much cheaper. I have a few friends who don’t even bother buying the actual book anymore, just eBook’s, because they can save so much money. (FYI Kindle edition for Blood Kiss is £9.99, over here) :/

  7. Ashley says:

    Hi! I live in Canada and agree that sometimes the prices at Chapters are a bit too high. I’d recommend if you have a few spare minutes a day to check the deals online for chapters, or head into the store on a weekend (generally when their sales are). Whenever there is a sale I buy my books in bulk, and slowly read through that TBR pile until the next sale. Also something I just noticed but hardcovers are increasing in price, especially in the romance and fantasy sections. My assumption is that the publishing company is usually a lot smaller than, or a specific sub-set, of the general fiction companies and therefore costs a bit more to run. Good luck with your future purchases!

    • kaleigha says:

      I have been noticing that in the past few months, both Chapters and Amazon.ca have been keeping the prices high right until release day, then putting them on for around 40% off. This is the first week that they didn’t do a discount at all. I wish, but we don’t actually have a local bookstore (which sucks), but I am pretty faithful about checking new releases.

      I did notice that prices are inching up, too. I guess it makes sense, since everything else is, too. Sadly.

  8. Monika says:

    I, too, have become a kindle addict, albeit a bit reluctantly. But living in Switzerland it is just so much easier, faster and cheaper to get English books. There are very few secondhand bookstores carrying a decent selection of English books. Sometimes I also find a gem at my local thrift store; just a few days ago I came across Gena Showalter’s The Darkest Lie.
    I don’t mind paying $10 for a good book on kindle, especially since for me it’s mainly the story that counts and not the cover. And if I find the cover awful, I at least don’t have to look at it constantly. If a kindle release costs $15 or more it makes me think twice about ordering it, although usually with my favorite authors I get weak anyway. And getting books from Netgalley also saves some money 😉

    • kaleigha says:

      You know, as much as I have always bitched about e-books, I can honestly see the benefits sometimes. Especially with some of the hideous covers. I do like my i-pad for reading, since everything is in color, though.

  9. snapdragon says:

    I have a hard time with e-books at $8 and up. I just can’t do it. I wait and get on my library’s list to read the book and than just hope the item drops in price.

    Now Audiobooks are the same for me I am content to about $12 and than my pouty child kicks in and I don’t want to spend over. Luckily I have Audible and am paying for the subscription right now so I can use a credit instead. I did that of S.K. Dunstall’s “Linesman” which is a wonderful book and I am anxious for the 2nd book to come out in February.

    • kaleigha says:

      At least with the library you can get your fix and then pick it up yourself when the price goes down. I live in Deliverance country, and we barely have a library. Meh. I have been hearing more and more about Audible lately, and I am going to have to break down and try an audio book one day.

      • snapdragon says:

        If your get the right narrator they can be amazing. The readable books are good but a narrator such as Susan Erickson who does the “in Death” series by JD Robb/Nora Roberts takes it to a whole new level. The same with most books narrated by Scott Brick or Kathryn Kellgrin.

  10. Emily says:

    I always read on my Kindle app, so the prices haven’t ticked me off too bad, yet. The only actual books I buy are my favorite series, and those go on the bookshelf like knickknacks or something. lol. I haven’t held a real book, to read it, in 2 or 3 years. However, Seize the Night is included in the favorites category, so I might have to hold off on it and be satisfied with my paperback copy for a while longer.

    • kaleigha says:

      Yep, the goal is to have everything in one format. I think that is why I was a bit meh on the new Black Dagger Legacy going back to paperback – it feels like a step back from the hardcovers.

  11. Debs Malcolm says:

    Totally with you on this!!! The prices are getting silly, and not sure why books have to released in hardback first.
    I’ve made a commitment to myself that:
    – I have to be up to date with a series and love it to buy the next release;
    – To use the library more for series that are on my ” I want to read” but they are’t my absolutely must haves.
    Like you my TBR pile is out of control!!!
    How did you bring yourself to give some away???

    • kaleigha says:

      Hey Debs…I am with you on the commitments I have made. I have to be up to date, too, before I buy the next one. Plus, I have been trying new authors/series on kindle first, to see if I like it so I don’t feel the pressure to keep up with a series like I do with the physical book. And I am doing a “catch up” challenge with myself, where I am trying to wrap up a lot of the series that I was a book or two away from finishing (that is usually young adult trilogies). It is working ok so far.

      I had to be completely ruthless to purge the TBR pile. I did it over the course of two big pulls. I went book by book through the shelves, and did three piles. One was want to read. One was it has been on the shelves for years and I haven’t even glanced at it, so it can go, and the third pile was a stay of execution pile that I never reached for, but might. The second time, went through the stay of execution books, and ended up parting with most of them, too. It was actually quite freeing, to be honest.

  12. Dawn says:

    I’ve said it before, the e-book costs — whether for Kindle, Kobo, whatever — are ridiculous when you consider that the only “costs” incurred are the change of file format! I have to really, really, REALLY love a series to pay over $10 for a book on Kindle — and that’s usually only for ongoing series like JD Robb, Sherrilyn Kenyon, Chloe Neill, Ilona Andrews, Nalini Singh. Even the normal $8 price, which is the same as the physical book would cost, is tough to bear sometimes. But when it’s the next installment sometimes I just take the hit because I can’t wait (i.e., Shadow’s End). Others I keep an eye on, and hope that they have a price drop.

    Often I find new authors in the $.99 “recommendation” list to try, if I need something new and can’t afford the big purchase. Amazon also has a big list of free reads for Kindle that I can usually find something to tide me over from as well.

    But physical books, unless Amazon’s got a big price drop on a new one in a series I have all the rest sitting on the shelf (or B&N is having their Teacher appreciation discount days), are simply a thing of the past between space and price.

    • kaleigha says:

      I am finding that the Kindle Unlimited I signed up for for my father has been decent so far. I think it is 10 bucks a month, and so far he has gotten about five free books.

      • dougmeeks says:

        As many books as I get for FREE and Kindle Unlimited has still saved me a ton of money. I love retellings of fairy tales for quick reading at times and almost all of the ones I can find have been on KU.

  13. Shannon says:

    Wow, that is outrageous! I’m with you on the pricing. If a book is over $7.99 I wonder if it is worth the price. My top favorite authors I will sometimes go higher, but usually I wait for paperback pricing.

    And it really irks me to see any kindle or other ebook pricing above 7.99, considering how much the publishers save in printing costs. They are just robbing the consumers on that, considering that we already invest in a high priced device to read the ebooks.

    • kaleigha says:

      Yeah, the Kindle prices do make me shake my head, even though it doesn’t really apply to me (just novellas, and even then I have to bite the bullet).

  14. Erin S. Burns says:

    I don’t do paper of any sort anymore, but when I did, my limit was $18 bucks for hard cover. $15 including tax is my hard limit for ebooks now, and the only ones I’m going to pay that for are the ones that I literally take a day off work to read. And for those I pre-order as soon as possible and hope for pricing fluctuations that get me a lower price in the end. For books that are too high to start with, I put an alarm to remind me to cancel the order if pricing doesn’t drop enough. For all others I put in an ereaderiq alert and get it when it’s reasonable, or I borrow from the library.

    • kaleigha says:

      It is sad, but I never had a limit before. I just shrugged and paid, but the over $30 for two books the same week is a wake up call. I love hunting down stuff, so I will be keeping an eye out for sales.

Leave a Reply

