Starting the Yearly Wrap Up…

So, Doug Meeks sent over his picks for best books of 2015. He was going for top 5, but thing spiraled a bit and ended up being top 13.

What Doug said…

Well I gave a shot at a Top 5 list but it turned into a Top 13 list, I know I will forget something but here goes (no order, just listed as I thought of them), as you can see I failed at a Top 5, these are just the best books I could find that I read this year. I gave 5 Star reviews to all of these books.
Magic Shifts: A Kate Daniels Novel (not even a question about this one and add to this list anything with her name on it like Magic Stars)
Vendetta (Deadly Curiosities Book 2) (This book and it’s predecessor where such a total surprise in story and quality, this book does not release until 29 Dec but get book 1 NOW if you have not read it)
Feel the Burn (Dragonkin Book 8) (this might not be for everyone but I laughed more than I have almost any book in years)
The Dream Crafter (Entwined Realms Book 5)
Beneath a Waning Moon: A Duo of Gothic Romances
Radiance (Wraith Kings Book 1) (add to this list anything with her name on it)
Knight of Rapture: a Druid Knight Story
The Scarlet Deep (Elemental World Book 3) (add to this list anything with her name on it)
Shards of Hope: A Psy-Changeling Novel (Psy/Changeling Series Book 14)  (this was a deep book and a one of a kind romance)
Eighth Grave After Dark (Charley Davidson Book 8)  (Short description of this book – WTF just happened!!)
Dark Heir: A Jane Yellowrock Novel (I love every little thing her bloody hands touch)
Vision In Silver: A Novel of the Others (Uh, maybe the best urban fantasy ever?)
The Ghostess & Mister Muir (The Heart Of Magnolia)  (a great romance I fell in love with, watch the Ghost and Mrs Muir movie first to get in the proper mood)

It is time for me to get my own lists going, and I think I am going to attempt a top 15 of 2015. That is usually fun. How does Doug’s list shape up with yours?

7 thoughts on “Starting the Yearly Wrap Up…

  1. bfmason50 says:

    I would have to say my top 5 for this year in no particular order since it would be so hard to try to number them 1 – 5. These are the books I can find myself either rereading or relistening to often when I can not make up my mind what I want to listen to next (Yes I am a Libra can’t make up my mind to save my life).
    1. Magic Shifts (Kate Daniels #8) by Ilona Andrews

    2. Queen of Shadows (Glass of Thrones #4) by Sarah Maas

    3. Ruby Circle (Bloodlines #6) by Richelle Meade

    4. Visions of Silver (Others #3) by Anne Bishop

    5A. A Court of Thrones and Roses #1 by Sarah Maas (I told you I was a Libra)

    5B. Archangel’s Enigma (Guild Hunter #8) by Nalini Singh

  2. Monika says:

    I am afraid I can’t limit myself to just 5 books. So my favorites this past year were (in chronological order, as it would be difficult to rate them):
    Karen Marie Moning: Burned (Fever #7)
    Patricia Briggs: Dead Heat (Alpha & Omega #4)
    Faith Hunter: Dark Heir (Jane Yellowrock #9)
    Nalini Singh: Shards of Hope (Psy/Changeling #14)
    Dianna Love: Witchlock (Belador #6)
    Ilona Andrews: Magic Shifts (Kate Daniels #8)
    Darynda Jones: Eigth Grave After Dark (Charley Davidson #8)
    Jayne Castle: Siren’s Call (Harmony #12, Rainshadow #4)
    Nalini Singh: Archangel’s Enigma (Guild Hunter #8)
    Eileen Wilks: Mind Magic (World of the Lupi #12)
    G. A. Aiken: Feel the Burn (Dragon Kin #8)

  3. kaleigha says:

    Well, I am going to give it a shot. Of course, in no particular order…
    Karen Marie Moning – Burned
    Anne Bishop – Vision in Silver
    Thea Harrison – Midnight’s Kiss
    Darynda Jones – Eight Grave After Dark
    Lori Handeland – Summer of Witches trilogy
    Nalini Singh – Shards of Hope
    Ilona Andrews – Magic Shifts
    Kelley Armstrong – Deceptions
    Nalini Singh – Archangel’s Enigma

  4. Iain says:

    My list of top books for the year is too long to wittle down… I have nearly 100 books 5 starred this year… I read the whole Guild Hunter series… October Daye series… and a number of others…

    Vision in Silver is easily my #1 tho… there’s nothing quite like the Others series… there’s not many 400 page books I’ll finish in one sitting…

    • Monika says:

      Iain, I only put books on the list that were released this year. I also just discovered Charley Davidson this year and would rate most of the books in the series 4 1/2 or 5 stars. I also didn’t include any books that are not UF/PNR…

      • Iain says:

        That got my list down to 17…

        14 are full length books:

        Waking Hearts by Elizabeth Hunter – Cambio Springs #3
        Archangel’s Enigma by Nalini Singh – Guild Hunter #8
        Fearless by Elliott James – Pax Arcana #3
        Magic Shifts by Ilona Andrews – Kate Daniels #8
        Dark Ascension by ML Brennan – Generation V #4
        Pure Blooded by Amanda Carlson – Jessica McClain #5
        Shards of Hope by Nalini Singh – Psy-Changelings #14
        Uprooted by Naomi Novik
        Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge
        The Unleashing by Shelly Laurenston – Call of Crows #1
        Prudence by Gail Carriger – The Custard Protocol #1
        Pocket Apocalypse by Seanan McGuire – InCryptid #4
        Vision in Silver by Anne Bishop – The Others #3
        The Dragon Conspiracy by Lisa Shearin – SPI Files #2

        3 are shorts/novellas:

        Hades by Larissa Ione – Demonica #11.5
        Coral-600 by Roxy Mews
        Bear Attraction by Jennifer Ashley – Shifters Unbound #6.5

        These are just sorted in reverse publication order…

  5. Shannon C says:

    I like looking at everyone’s list. Good post! It reminds me I am not up to date on a few authors–I need to look up the recent releases from Darynda Jones, Lisa Shearin, Seanan McGuire and Gail Carriger.

    Here is my ‘favs’ list from this year:
    Dead Heat, Patricia Briggs
    Reap the Wind, Karen Chance
    Mind Magic, Eileen Wilks
    Magic Shifts, Ilona Andrews
    Shards of Hope, Nalini Singh
    Vision in Silver, Anne Bishop

Leave a Reply

