Pick of the Week…

For some reason, I didn’t actually get my pick of the week listed in the new releases. Meh, one reason why e-books annoy me is because they don’t have a lot of lead time before they are published, but to be fair I think I just missed it. So, long story short, Thea Harrison‘s novella Liam Takes Manhattan is released today, rounding out a trilogy of stories featuring Dragos, Pia and Liam. Usually I don’t find novellas to be considered a must-read, but the first two had some very interesting developments. Here’s hoping this one will be as good.

liam takes manhattanSynopsis…

Reeling from a deep loss, the magical prince of the Wyr, Dragos and Pia’s son Liam Cuelebre, turns inward and withdrawn as he struggles to come to terms with who he is, along with the challenges that lie before him.

Hoping to ease his heartache and offer comfort, a concerned Dragos and Pia offer him a gift, something he has desired for a long time. Liam’s response has a ripple effect across all of New York. Soon miracles of all kinds start arriving just in time for Christmas, along with a visit from a mysterious person who gives Liam hope and a vision of his future.

What is your pick of the week? Anything exciting on your radar?

 

5 thoughts on “Pick of the Week…

  1. Dawn says:

    Sometimes I wonder how they come up with the story descriptions. I had pre-ordered the novella, and received it this morning. Being only a half day, and no classes to teach, I read the story within about 90 minutes.

    Not quite as eventful as the previous two in the trilogy, but it certainly completes the wrap up of this story arc, and sets up some interesting possibilities for the next one, if they are indeed set in the UK.

    But, please, tell me, how does Liam’s response have a “ripple affect across all of New York”? I just don’t get that part!

    • kaleigha says:

      I am a bit meh on the UK direction, personally. Not sure why, but I am not finding myself excited for the set up of a whole new section of the Elder Races.

      Yeah, the Liam thing made me wonder, too. Keeping it general, but while we know Liam has a goal for the next year, the ripple effect won’t be happening for a while yet. I don’t think.

      • Dawn says:

        I guess moving to the UK allows her to open up the cast of characters. But I’d sort of like to get stories for the rest of the Sentinels — unless I lost track somewhere, we only had ones for 4 or 5 of the 8 (now 7). And that’s including Tiago & Rune, who no longer count, I guess. Hopefully we’ll get those stories as well.

        • kaleigha says:

          Yeah, I think that is what throws me. On the rest of the races, there aren’t really any Vamps that I think are “must have”, or Dark or Light Fae either, for that matter. I think the remaining Sentinels, Hugh and Eva, and Ferion would make me happy. I don’t know, I think that even though Thea has said she will be coming back to the Americans, it feels a bit undone.

          • Iain says:

            I think the problem is that we as readers want every interesting character we like to get a book (even though it starts to stretch belief sometimes in my head that all these immortal beings start finding their mates in the span of 2-3 years generally, but I endure)… and Thea Harrison, at least, has stated before that she never intended to focus so heavily on the Wyr demesne… she intended to jump around between demesnes more… and now that she’s self-published she can do whatever she wants I guess…

            …that being said, I too would like the Sentinels’ stories to be completed eventually…

Leave a Reply

