Reading Wrap Up…

booksSo, this is probably my last reading wrap up for the year, which is darn scary when you think about it. Let’s start with one that I didn’t actually plan on getting to for a while. I had decided that Kresley Cole‘s Sweet Ruin just wasn’t worth the price tag, and I stuck with it. Sort of. A person I work with had gotten the Kindle version, and actually lent it to me. It worked out perfect, because the e-format version makes updating the guides a lot easier. Then, I found one on e-bay that only cost $22, shipping included. Great! And the same day I got a gift certificate from Indigo and used it to order Sweet Ruin. Wait, what? Yep, stupid ended up buying two copies. Oye.

Anyway, it wasn’t bad at all. I really liked the introduction of the Morior, and I can see them making some waves. Blace, Darach and Orion really grabbed my attention, and I look forward to finding out more about them. Also, seeing that much Thad was great. I didn’t mind Josephine and Rune, either, but I think I liked the rest of the book better than their story, if that makes sense. Like I said in the crack-pot theory post, I figure Orion will be hooked up with Nix, and that should be fun.

A while back, I finished up the fifth book in Jennifer L. Armentrout‘s Lux series. It was ok, but I found it hard to get into. Maybe I was too far removed from the last book, I am not sure, but it didn’t flow for me. But I was surprised that I enjoyed Oblivion as much as I did. It is a retelling of the first book, but from Daemon’s point of view. It was a fast, fun read, and it reminded me of how much I enjoyed the early books in the series.

I finished up the third Elder Races novella from Thea Harrison, too. Liam Takes Manhattan lacked the punch for me that Dragos Goes to Washington, but it was still good. I am interested to see how Liam’s story progresses once he heads to Europe, too.

There were also an emergency re-read done. I am not sure how, but I had forgotten to do Archangel’s Enigma for the Guild Hunter character guide. Ok, that was just wrong. I don’t forget Nalini Singh books. Ever. But the re-read was great – loved it. The whole series is just so well written and well thought out that you get something new out of it every time you pick it up. Can’t wait for the next one. And the one after that.

How did your Christmas reading shape up? Did you find anything exciting, or rediscover any favorites?

 

5 thoughts on “Reading Wrap Up…

  1. Lidy says:

    I agree on pretty much everything about Sweet Ruin… except the Orion+Nix part. They’d make for a cool pairing, but I think Thad’s Nix’s mate: Nix tells Jo something like “You thought he was yours, but he’s mine” and IIRC, KC said on her forum that Nix’s bat was given to her by hrer mate, which’s why she has everybody wondering about the bat. I may be mistaken, though.

    At any rate, Sweet Ruin was a better book than *Dork* Skye and MacRieve.

    And Archangel’s Enigma… Oh Naasir. Kaleigha, have you figured out who Lijuan’s third angel is?

  2. Iain says:

    Christmas was kind of reading Renaissance for me… my reading has kinda been neutered the last few months between having to move out of moldy apartment complex and find a new car that fits me…

    Since Christmas Day, tho, I finished Magic Stars and Sweep in Peace by Ilona Andrews, read A Red-Rose Chain by Seanan McGuire and Linesman by SK Dunstall, and listened to Manners & Mutiny by Gail Carriger and half of Daughter of Blood by Anne Bishop…

    Nice to finally get some quality reading done, even if my initial reading goals fell short for the year… read 285, goaled 300, expected closer to 350 back in September…

Leave a Reply

