I Have Begun…

Sigh.

Yes, sigh. I don’t know if this has ever happened to you, but all of a sudden I had the overwhelming urge to read a certain book off of my TBR pile. One that has been sitting there for over a year. Not one of the ones that taunt me with their unread status, either, but one that has just been quietly sitting there. Waiting. And all of a sudden, in the middle of another perfectly good book, I took the brainwave that I absolutely had to start that mysterious TBR book. Right now. That is weird in an of itself, but when I tell you what book, you will understand the sigh…

Naked in Death.

Book one of the approximately 4 billion In Death books by J.D. Robb. Now, if you have read this blog much, you understand that I have…issues. Strange, organizational, OCD-like issues. So, of course, I now want the entire series. And not in the easy to find mass market paperback versions. No, of course not. Not these…

naked in death 1

These are perfectly fine looking, actually. And pretty much the whole series matches, which sounds perfect, right? And, I already own the first three in this style. So, of course, I don’t want them. I want these beauties…

naked in death 2

These are the UK version, and they come in a little smaller than a trade paperback. I have all of Kelley Armstrong’s Women of the Underworld books in this format, and I love them. Love. They look so good on the shelf, and they feel more sturdy than your usual paperback. My goal is to add both The Hollows series and the True Blood series in this format, too (you know, assuming I actually like any of these books). They cost about half as much again as the mass market, but they are so worth it.

The point of this rather long, boring post wasn’t actually to highlight my weirdness again, but to find out your take on the series. Any In Death fans around? Does the series get old or repetitive at some point, since that are just so darn many books? Is this one a waste of time, or am I on to something?

20 thoughts on “I Have Begun…

  1. Katie F says:

    I like her books. I read all the new ones that come out. They haven’t got repetitive to me, but then I do like the main characters!

  2. Lisa says:

    I liked this post. I do the same thing with books:) J.D. Robb’s In Death series is on my TBR pile too. I’ve been waiting for the right time to start them…

  3. Catt says:

    I am a huge fan of the in death series. Be warned once started it is a difficult series to abandon. In some ways the books are repetitive (Dallas always seems to get cases with serial killers) but each book has something new that the others don’t have. There is a wide range of well developed secondary characters and the murderer isn’t always obvious. I series I have often recommended to friends.

  4. Ju says:

    I love this series so much!!! It doesn’t get repetitive, I promise, I read them all. The only book I struggled with was Innocent in Death, I really wanted to punch a certain someone. You won’t regret!!

  5. Maria says:

    I discovered the series around 2006, and read the first books non stop. Since then, it’s about one or one and a half each year (if there’s a novella) For me it’s not repetitive. The main characters are evolving and there’s a new case in each book. Up until now it’s one of my favorites!!!

  6. Iain says:

    Before I really got addicted to them, I found some of the early ones predictable… but I think after awhile the author just acknowledged that and went with it… some of the later books give you bad guy POVs and the book follows Dallas’ chase for the killers… and there is a heavy overall plotline through the first 33 books that piece together Eve’s childhood memories and resolve it for the most part…

    Like I’ve said a few times… the audiobooks for this series are what make it great, to me.. The Dallas/Peabody dynamic is what really solidifies the series… which is missing in book 1 and part of 2, I think… might take a few more books to grow…

  7. Dawn says:

    Each book builds on the other. Characters are added into the main character’s, Eve, life despite the fact that she’s a loner. This series never gets boring or repetitive. You get caught up in each of the characters’ lives. I love this series and reread it every year…sometimes more than once.

  8. Jean says:

    I used to avidly read the In Death series but lost interest for some reason. Don’t recall specifically why, probably distracted with another series or overdosed on a combo of Nora Roberts and In Death books.

  9. Judy says:

    Very good series. I don’t think you’d waste you time reading, but instead of taking a few days to read, read in moderation. Too much Eve and Roarke may not be a good thing. Ice cream is good but not the whole container.

  10. kaleigha says:

    Glad to hear it is a favorite, since I don’t hear much about it. I am only about 80 pages in so far, so right now it is just reading like a police procedural, which is really different for me.

  11. Dawn says:

    I think I read all novels and novellas through Indulgence in Death (#31if I have them numbered correctly) before I got a little burned out. Then again, the first 10 years or so I used to do a complete re-read whenever a new book came out. Then it was every other year,, and then only from book 6, or 10, or wherever I felt like picking it up.

    Part of it is I felt like some repetition started to occur (serial killer or there would be a similar disagreement between Eve & Roarke from 2 books ago), but the characters and world of 2060 is so developed that it sucks you in and won’t let go. Maybe decide this year you’ll read the first 5, or whatever, and treat it like a tv series — especially if you want the UK editions. Get the specific number, read those, and that’s it for the allotted time period.

    Just be sure to include the novellas. There are obscure references scattered throughout some of the novels to those events & cases. And read the full Remember When, not just the Eve Dallas portion, it really makes the story better.

    I agree moderation is key (isn’t it always?).

  12. Connie says:

    This is a great series! Yeah, there’s some repetition in that Eve is a homicide detective and thus deals with murders. What I love about the series though, is how the relationships between the characters build over time. Eve does start out as a loner and through meeting Roarke (and his being one of her prime suspects in a series of murder) she suddenly and reluctantly finds herself involved in “Relationships” and the “rules” that govern them. And she has to have rules to dealing with all these people due to her past.

    There are three different cover deigns for the series. I have the whole series and all three designs are on the shelf. Then there are the covers for the novellas. It would be great if they all matched. I also have a British copy of ‘Divided in Death’ purchased in London while on vacation because I couldn’t wait until getting back home to read it!

    You may not know that the first cover you have in you post is not the original cover. This is….

    http://www.abebooks.com/NAKED-DEATH-Blue-lady-cover-J.D/12485023969/bd

  13. Charleen says:

    I’ve read all of the In Death series and actually re-read them a couple of years ago. The murders vary from truly creative to relatively mundane, but the love story is spectacular! The other reasons I love this series are:

    The supporting cast are great; you begin to feel that you actually know them

    You learn a lot about the characters; there are family problems; some of them have been accused of murder; some of them have loss loved ones. Eve and Roark have issues from their terrible childhoods and you see them work through that

    The books are time consistent; although this series has been going on for years; actual time in the books is only about 5 years (not 100% sure of that)

    They are funny! Characters personality traits are distinct and you know how they will react to some things

    And of course, Eve and Roark are the ultimate couple; romance on the edge of danger; have to love it – I certainly do.

    I have actually passed on some of Nora Roberts other books, but this is consistent in quality and I just enjoy reading about the characters, its kind of like a family other than the murders.

  14. kaleigha says:

    One of the things that made me hesitate to pick this up for so long was that I tried a couple of Nora Roberts contemporary romance books, and they didn’t grab me. To be honest, I got them because I thought they would look pretty on the shelf (ugh – I know), but for me they fell flat. I am not a contemporary kinda gal, I learned after that, but the stigma stayed. I think what I will try and do is have the In Death books as my “target” for the year (or couple of years), and read one, skip on to something else, then come back.

  15. snapdragon says:

    I adore this series and have both paperback, e-book and audio. The audio done by Susan Erickson is just amazing. I enjoy some Nora books but some just fall flat for me but the In Death series just keeps sucking me back. I am on hold through the library for Brotherhood In Death which is coming out next month?! I read the library editions and wait for the paperback due to cost constraints.

  16. Iain says:

    The series starts in February 2058 I think and its now January 2061 as of the 2015 books…

    The novellas are the more Paranormal books… possible vampires… Hansel and Gretel clones… ghosts… Eve gets possessed by a gypsy… etc

    If I had one gripe about the series, its the way Eve goes through tech… and its only an issue because of said timeline… every 5yrs or so publishing time Eve has to get a new computer/car… but in book time thats like 8-10 months… and every time its some supercomputer Eve couldnt possibly break… then she quickly does… at least the DLE seems to have staying power… just keeps uncovering new hidden features…

  17. kaleigha says:

    So, update time. I am about three quarters through the first book. I have to say, my interest picked up a lot when the relationship between Eve and Roarke did. I am liking the change of pace from my usual vamps/weres to murder mystery, too, which is a bonus.

  18. Ashley says:

    I love this series, and have read all the books and novellas currently out. I also find the murder mysteries a refreshing change from my usual diet of supernatural stories. Personally, I’m ready for Eve and Roarke to move forward. I know that screams “baby!” to most people, which J.D. Robb has said won’t happen during the life of the series. If she ever goes there, it would wrap up the series. The murders are getting a little formulaic, but the one about to come out looks a bit more inspired than the last couple of books. Still, as a romance couple, Eve and Roarke are in my top five. It helps there is almost zero goopy romance like her straight romance series. Enjoy!

  19. Anthea Fortuin says:

    There is no way you can go wrong with the In Death series… I have yet to read one that does not grab the attention. I buy the new book as soon as it is released. Irrespective of cost. Hubby threatened to divorce due to cost of book in RSA. Oh well many husbands around (lol)

Leave a Reply

