BotM – Brotherhood in Death

book of the month

I admit, I am only two books into the In Death series by J.D. Robb, but I get the hype. It is funny, actually – even though this sucker is #42 in the series, I haven’t heard anyone say that they drifted away, or got bored, or things got repetitive. None at all. I can’t think of any other super long-running series that can say that. I am not surprised that Brotherhood in Death was chosen as February’s book of the month.

brotherhood in deathSynopsis…

Dennis Mira just had two unpleasant surprises. First he learned that his cousin Edward was secretly meeting with a real estate agent about their late grandfather’s magnificent West Village brownstone, despite the promise they both made to keep it in the family. Then, when he went to the house to confront Edward about it, he got a blunt object to the back of the head.

Luckily Dennis is married to Charlotte Mira, the NYPSD’s top profiler and a good friend of Lieutenant Eve Dallas. When the two arrive on the scene, he explains that the last thing he saw was Edward in a chair, bruised and bloody. When he came to, his cousin was gone. With the mess cleaned up and the security disks removed, there’s nothing left behind but a few traces for forensics to analyze.

As a former lawyer, judge, and senator, Edward Mira mingled with the elite and crossed paths with criminals, making enemies on a regular basis. Like so many politicians, he also made some very close friends behind closed—and locked—doors. But a badge and a billionaire husband can get you into places others can’t go, and Eve intends to shine some light on the dirty deals and dark motives behind the disappearance of a powerful man, the family discord over a multimillion-dollar piece of real estate . . . and a new case that no one saw coming.

Ok, seriously. Is anyone up-to-date on the whole In Death series? I am going to pace myself, even though I am tempted to do a mini-marathon, so that I don’t burn out. I am looking forward to it, though.

18 thoughts on “BotM – Brotherhood in Death

  1. Texas Book Lover says:

    I’ve only read fifteen or so of this series so far but I’ve loved them all. I’m determined to read them all so I’ve set a goal to read at least one a month going forward.

    • kaleigha says:

      We’re in the same boat…I order the next one as soon as I have finished the one I am on from The Book Depository, so it takes about 10 days to get the next one. Easy way to pace myself.

  2. Catt says:

    I am totally up to date in this series. I read each book as soon as I can. I can’t wait for this one as the Mira’s are some of my favourite characters! My only problem is that I have shared these books with so many different people that they are all up to different parts in the reading order. Talking about each book is a minefield because you have to try not to give anything away!

    • kaleigha says:

      Ha…too true. I am doing up the author page, and adding all of the blurbs. I am trying to proof them without reading them, so I don’t spoil myself. Not easy. I think I will have to double check them as I read each book, so I don’t get ahead of myself.

  3. Maria says:

    I’m up to date with it and I absolutely love them. They’re easy to read, funny, and it’s a change of pace from the uber sexy, alpha to the max, arrogant and somewhat insufferable heroes that seem to grow everywhere I look!

    • kaleigha says:

      I think that is what I am liking, the little bit I have read. Story comes first, but every scene with Eve and Roarke counts.

  4. Charry says:

    I love this series. I read the first half in about two weeks awhile back and have kept up since then. What I find interesting is how she’s changed the characters over the years. When she started writing this series it was back in the 90s during the battle of the sexes type books. You can see that somewhat at the beginning. However, she’s managed to keep her strong leads all these years but make adjustments to reflect the changing times and styles but not so much that it’s inconsistent with the characters personality. That’s hard to do.

  5. Ashley says:

    I’m almost up to date; I’m on #40. I love Eve and Roarke. And I adore how Eve is shocked and uncomfortable as she inadvertently gathers friends as she opens herself up. I think one of the great things about this series is that the author resolves Eve’s traumatic past. That’s not to say it’s gone by any means, but Robb brought it to a peak so that we’re not still in that particular meatgrinder. And every time I think I might start to get bored with the series, Robb throws down another engrossing plot to reel me back in.

  6. snapdragon says:

    Also completely up to date and so excited to get my hands on this book Thursday! – This weekend will be a reading frenzy for sure! I so adore the Mira’s and can’t wait to read this one.

  7. Iain says:

    I listened to all 39 audiobooks and 10 audio-novellas a little over a year ago just before #40 came out… took me 4 months… was alot of audio… around 550hrs I think… long time to stay hooked to a single series… I think I mixed ebook reading in the first month, and some other ebooks and audio the last… but it was otherwise solid JD Robb

  8. psub20 says:

    I am completely up to date – twice over.. And almost half way through this book. I had a massive “In Death” re-reading marathon last year when I was going through a bad reading slump. I liked Ashley’s comment on how Eve is always shocked and uncomfortable at having friends and family around her. Robb is such an amazing writer, I can easily visualize Eve’s hair pulling frustration when there are birthdays and festivals and parties. Always an easy read and her murder mysteries are always something different..

  9. Anthea says:

    I have read every In death book including the anthologies. Have every book written in paperback. Can’t wait to read Brotherhood in Death. Only complaint I have is that I wait to long for my next fix. Love the Dennis Mira character

  10. Helen Thomas says:

    I have read all of the books and wait impatiently for the next one. I will admit some are better than others. Some have you rolling on the floor due to Eve’s comments to Roark, Peabody (you just have to love Peabody), Feeney, and others. Eve is great as a detective but sadly lacking in the “girly” and/or “social” stuff. Oh to be Eve and totally satisfied with just having Roark, coffee and chocolate.

Leave a Reply

