How Things Change…

no signI have been faithfully following my plans to both whittle down my TBR pile and tackle a bunch of the series that I have only a book or two left to read to finish them off. For the most part, the series that needed to be finished off were young adult trilogies, since most of my adult series are pretty much open ended. So, I am chugging along, when it suddenly hit me that…I didn’t care. For some reason, I completely have lost my interest in most young adult books. I was forcing myself to read them because I “had to”, and forcing myself to keep buying the second and third books in the series because I already had the first one, when my brain kicked in and I realized that I really didn’t “have to”.

As I was going through my piles of YA books that still had to be read, I realized that I didn’t remember most of the characters or storylines, and I had absolutely no interest in finding out what happened next. There are still a few that I will keep up on – like the Arcana Chronicles from Kresley Cole, and the Shadowhunter books from Cassandra Clare, but for the most part I am giving them up. I can’t stomach the thought of one more angsty love triangle, I swear. It will be a case-by-case basis whether or not I read the ones I already have or if I give them away.

The funny thing is, it hit me all of a sudden – and I can’t tell you why. Within the course of about a week, my whole interest shifted and I just can’t seem to care about anything YA related. I was about 50 pages from the end of a story when I realized that I didn’t even feel the need to see how things wrapped up. Then it happened again. Then again. Maybe I finally grew up? Nah, I can’t see it. I guess there are just too many great books that I want to read to make myself take time for something I don’t.

How have your reading habits changed? Have you ever just gotten tired of a style/author/genre without warning? How have you been expanding your reading horizons?

50 thoughts on “How Things Change…

  1. Sandy S says:

    I stopped Reading YA a couple of years ago. I was tired of the same thing, over and over, and the love triangles that were never truly solved. I was also tired of the adults being portrayed as the evil and the stupid. And if there were parents, they were always TSTL. I also found the story lines were very immature; the text and dialogue too simple; and the mentality of the characters was an insult to the reader. The popularity of YA came back with the Twilight Series which in and of itself was a questionable assault on our senses.

  2. cheryl says:

    I know he is a good writer but for some reason I just gave up on Jim Butcher. I think it was all the angst with the Dresden character… I felt like Dresden couldn’t be happy for more than 5 minutes. I have found new authors thanks to your forum and the read reading site on Amazon…. some books I felt like I should read and then I realized it was like homework and no longer enjoyable. Some authors change their style or add too much smexy times and not enough story…drives me crazy. I have given up on Christine Feehan and she was one of my favorite authors and now not so much.
    I can’t even put a finger on why I got tired of the Kevin Hearne series that I really liked but I guess my tastes changed and his story line went a different direction, in my opinion.
    I really hate when I have to give up on favorite authors but sometimes my tastes change … I find I don’t read as much contemporary romance and leaning more toward romantic suspense and urban fantasy as well as my paranormal romance main stay. I am an older reader and maybe that has something to do with it… the twenty something romantic triangles just make me want to throw a wad a paper at the characters.

    • Ashley says:

      Did you know that Butcher has started a new series? It’s called The Aeronaut’s Windlass, and I thought it was fabulous. Very, very different from the Dresden files. And I’m currently reading Kevin Hearne’s Iron Druid series, but getting a little weary of one crisis leading into another with gods yet again trying their best to kill Atticus. I love the characters enough to keep moving forward with it, though.

      • kaleigha says:

        Yeah, it is hard to tell sometimes if it is our tastes that change, or authors’ styles change, or a combination of both. It is tricky, though – you don’t want authors to keep writing the same old, same old, but when they change too much it doesn’t work, either. I can’t do contemporary at all, and I know that anything New Adult just doesn’t work for me.

      • snapdragon says:

        I adore his new series and I always preferred the Codex Alera series to the Dresden one. I read the first several books of Harry’s but the stories didn’t trigger me to want to buy. It did with the Codex series and the audiobook of the Aeronaut’s is spectacular.

  3. Ashley says:

    I won’t go near anything with a dystopian theme anymore. I read for escapism and mental vacations. After being traumatized by Katniss and Tris, I declare no more! I also tend to stay away from most YA for all the reasons that have already been mentioned, but plus I’m a technical writing snob. There have been YA series that have a great story idea, but the book itself is so badly written that I have to put it away. Probably the two most recent series I walked away from was Black Dagger Brotherhood (there’s only so much violent sex I can take) and the Sookie Stackhouse series. She lost me there because the last few books in the series felt really forced. When I found out how it was wrapped up, I was just as glad I didn’t buy the books and put the time into reading.

    • kaleigha says:

      Yeah, dystopian has pretty much been done to death at this point. It does make me wonder what the next big thing will be, though.

  4. Shira says:

    I don’t like triangles, either.
    But my main problem with YA books seems to be in that the writing mostly comes in first person. I realized that I was getting tired of it last year when I was reading Keri Arthur’s Riley Jenson Guardian series and Dark Angels series. I somehow finished Riley’s, but couldn’t continue Dark Angels after one book. It was just too much “me, me, me!” and not much else.
    I have no problem with Mercy Thompson series and Stormwalker series, maybe because both authors also write in third person and they manage to describe other characters and their feelings well even from the main character’s point of view. But these seem to be the exceptions.
    So now I tend to pick third person books and almost inevitably more adult ones than YA. Sometimes I wish Goodreads has “first person” and “third person” tags on books so I can tell the writing style when I find potentially interesting books.

    • Sandy S says:

      When I write all of my reviews I ALWAYS tell which person POV in my reviews.I was sent a list of ‘must haves’ from a prolific reviewer of what to include in all reviews and the first piece of advice was to tell from which point of view the story line is presented.

    • kaleigha says:

      First person took a while for me to get used to, but I got there. The only time it threw me was with the first Jane Yellowrock book I read…”I went to the door. I opened the door. I went inside the room and then I looked out the window. I sat down. I made tea. I…I…I…” It got better after the first book, but I had a hard time getting into that first story, because it seemed choppy and repetitive and didn’t flow that well.

  5. alixnoelle says:

    I had the exact same thing happen to me a couple of years ago too. Like you, I have Arcana Chronicles by Kresley Cole still on my list but besides that I don’t really have any other YA titles I follow anymore. I used to be all YA, it was the genre that eventually introduced me to Paranormal Romance/Urban Fantasy, but I guess I grew out of it. :/

    • kaleigha says:

      For a while, it seemed that I really liked a lot of the storylines, and in fact they were just as good or better than their adult counterparts. But I think for me, part of it has been that the ones I have been trying to read have been really light on the romance side. Triangles aside, of course.

  6. Lisa says:

    I rarely read YA for the same reason.

    I’ve also stopped reading Jennifer Estep’s Assassin series because it feels almost relentlessly stressful to me. It lacks that special something that pulls me through from one book to the next. On the other hand, Ilona Andrews’ Kate Daniel series puts its main character through the ringer, but I keep going back because there are breaks of well done humor and romance pulling my interest steadily along like the proverbial carrot on a stick.

    I’m afraid that Carrie Vaughn’s Kitty Norville series is also making me hesitate to pick up the last two books due to “anxiety dread”.

    Come to think of it, I’ve been finding Urban Fantasy lackluster not just because it’s difficult finding well written AND unique concepts, but because of the anxiety dread I mentioned.

    I’ve been “cheating” on Urban Fantasy with some Rockstar romance (my guilty pleasure), Jana DeLeon’s excellent Miss Fortune Mystery & Shaye Archer series and the “Mine Is Not the Question Why” Military Space series by Jean Johnson – enjoying this type of read was a complete surprise to me, but I’m glad I read it.

    • kaleigha says:

      It is strange how involved we get, isn’t it? The characters can really put you through the ringer, even though you know that things will (probably) turn out ok in the end. Maybe.

      The only rockstar romance I have read was Nalini Singh’s. I haven’t done much in the way of athlete or celebrity stories at all. I find myself strangely enjoying paranormal romance mysteries lately – In Death, Alyssa Day’s new Tiger’s Eye Mystery, and I would even classify the Cainsville books here. A nice change of pace.

      • psub20 says:

        Isn’t it interesting how a good author can pull you across genres.. By the way, did you know that after her Rock Stars, Nalini Singh is moving to rugby players? Next up are T-Rex’s brothers… 🙂

        • kaleigha says:

          I sort of thought when I read Rock Hard that the brothers would be great for a spin-off series, so I am so glad to hear they are getting their turn. Should be fun!

  7. pals20 says:

    I’m pretty sure there is a term for it somewhere, “Genre Fatigue” or some such. And I am completely with you on YA books. The problem is that the genre is so saturated that it has become a write-by-numbers kind-of thing. No new ideas. Love triangles – blame twilight. Dystopian – blame Hunger Games.

    I’m currently going through a contemporary fatigue myself and am returning to my paranormals and thought I’d combine YA and paranormals. So I just started reading Gena Showalters’ Intertwined series but I’m really forcing myself to read it. I am just not invested enough. Need a good paranormal recommendation..

    • kaleigha says:

      It’s true…too much of a good thing. And then every author jumps on the bandwagon, too. I am going to keep some YA, but not sure how many will make the cut.

  8. PhoenixFyre says:

    I don’t usually read or get onto YA books. The only one I have ever gotten into is Chronicles of Nick but that is because it is part of Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Dark-Hunter series. And Nick is a main character in DH also.

    From what I read about YA’s there is always a triangle romance. After being a teenager and then raising four of them, I am done with it all, lol

    I just like adult steamy, kick-ass, and humorous book series.

    • kaleigha says:

      I am going to keep the Nick books, for sure, because it would feel like part of the overarching series was missing if I didn’t. You definitely already put your time in with four teens – that is drama enough lol.

  9. battleborn82 says:

    I read YA, but only from authors I have read before. I cant get into many anymore because they’re the most awesomest 17 year olds in town, Does my head in after a while. I can keep attention with trilogies, but a lot of the time I finish series because I hate open endings. I finished the 50 shades books, the struggle was real.

    • kaleigha says:

      I knew I was in trouble when I started not even bothering to finish things off…that is something I just don’t do, either.

  10. Emma says:

    I’ve found this with both YA and Adult fiction.
    Several years ago I purchased a load of books, that have to this day sat in boxes and I’ve not gone near them. I also had this issue with YA, the only series I think I’ve really enjoyed for a long time that is YA, is Lili St Crow’s “Strane Angels”, I’m a huge fan of Lilith Saintcrow anyway so I figured this series was worth a go. But since, I have not picked up a single YA. I’ve got an Excel document that I’ve been working on for over 8 years and I think at some point I will have to go through and cut a lot of it, as I don’t see myself reading some of them.
    My tastes appear to have changed, which is some what depressing. I think the biggest let down I had was a series by Richelle Mead, Dark Swan, I believe it was. I read books 1 & 2, and bought 3&4 but have since had them sitting on my TBR pile ever since and I just don’t see myself ever reading them!

    • kaleigha says:

      Do you get the same kind of “book guilt” that I do? I see them sitting on the shelf for years, and I feel bad that there are so many that just don’t grab my interest anymore. Maybe I just had too many and my tastes changed in the meantime, too.

      • Emma says:

        I feel complete guilt over not reading them. This is why I have yet to actually sort through them all and get rid of those I know I’ll never read. Problem is I’m like a magpie, all these shiny books that I just cannot wait to read, and in the meantime I’m avoiding the dreaded cut of those I know I’ll never get to.
        I think our tastes change in most things; the food we eat, the drinks we enjoy, and especially in the books that we read.
        If we all stayed the same think how many new authors and genres wouldn’t be here!

        • kaleigha says:

          I can’t pass up a pretty cover. It is my total weakness, I start thinking how nice it would look on my shelf, and then I am gone. But I am trying to have some control now, and it is working out ok. I really didn’t want to tackle the TBR mountain and start un-hauling books, but I have done it in stages and it made it easier. And I felt so much better afterwards. I think the trick was to not try and do it all at once, because it gets so overwhelming (and you feel so damn wasteful).

          • Emma says:

            I couldn’t agree more.
            I bought most fo the Sookie Stackhouse series and just couldn’t bring myself to read them. I gave them to my aunt who was a True Blood fan and she thoroughly enjoyed them.
            The way I see it, I gave them away and someone will read them.

            I have some time off work next month, I guess then is as good a time as any to go through my books and see what I have.
            I’m a complete instant gratification magpie…I blameall the review sites and blogs I read.
            I had planned to start a new series I’ve had for years the other week, now I’m reading Aly Martinez. That wasn’t even on my radar 2 months ago. I need a therapist, me thinks!

  11. kaleigha says:

    I bought the first book of the Sookie Stackhouse series in the UK version (pretty covers), but haven’t gotten to it yet. I used to donate my books to the library here, which has nothing, but one of the librarians is bitchy and made me feel like I was dropping off my garbage and bothering her, so that is out. Unread, mostly never even cracked open books, and she still sighed and grimaced as she looked in the bags. Now I give my young adult books to a friends daughter, and I give my adult books to a fella that has a used bookstore.

    • Emma says:

      I tend to pass my unwanted to my aunt and cousin. They both read pretty much anything. At least that way I don’t feel as if they’re going to waste.
      You’d think the librarian would suck it up and just say thank you. Some people really befuddle me.

      • kaleigha says:

        Heh – I am one of those polite Canadians, too, so I felt like I should apologize for bringing in my unread, never touched, hardcover books. I managed to contain myself, but only barely.

  12. Emma says:

    I’m a loud mouthed, opinionated Londoner. They’d have hated me!
    I don’t get her issue. As you say; unread, never touched, hardcover books.
    That’s a great thing to me!

    • kaleigha says:

      I went to New York on a holiday a couple of years ago, and a fella and I sort of met in a doorway. He held the door and I said “Sorry. Excuse Me. Thank You”. He said “Canadian”?

      • Emma says:

        Not a bad stereotype.
        Look at the stereotype they have for us Londoners, not so flattering.
        Manners aren’t a dirty word, they’re just a little thin on the ground is all

          • Emma says:

            Even in the UK, Canadians are known for being polite.
            I guess theres worst things to be known for. It’s just a shame that there aren’t places in every town where you can donate books to the less privileged and they don’t have to buy them. Kind of like a second hand bookstore that gives them a way

            • kaleigha says:

              My father is getting rid of 400 of his paperback books, and I think he said that there is a small seamstress (?!?) business locally that buys used books for 50 cents each, then resells them. She then donates the proceeds to a charity that digs wells in Africa. I thought that was nice idea.

              • Emma says:

                That’s an amazing idea. Shame nothing like that is done over here. I’d rather not lug all mine to a charity shop. They then charge money for them, and with the economy the way it is over here, too many people have to pick eating over buying such wonderful things as books 😦
                Kind of sad really!

                • kaleigha says:

                  It is sad, actually. I know with the Canadian dollar being in the toilet like it is, I am paying about 30% more for books than I was even 6 months ago. It is a shame, really, because the authors have to suffer lowered sales as a result.

                  • Emma says:

                    Exactly and as a result, risk not having their contracts lengthened if sales tank.
                    For no fault of the author, who, as you say has an awesome series. But not everyone is in a position to have extra pennies at the end of the month. Let alone pennies to buy books.
                    It’s a total crapfest, and it totally sucks!

                    • kaleigha says:

                      If you take March 8th, there is Marked in Flesh by Anne Bishop ($31.10), Fire Touched ($32.04), and Lady Midnight ($26.99). That’s over $90.00 Canadian for three books, where even last fall the three together might’ve cost between $60-70. Granted, that is an extreme week, but that is a big chunk of change. And if I am not mistaken, places like Australia run even higher.

                    • Emma says:

                      Yeah books are getting ridiculously expensive over here as well.
                      I bought Kelley Armstrong’s Deception for my kindle that was £9.99.
                      How can a publisher charge that for an eBook. I just don’t get it.
                      The biggest thing over here isn’t the money as such, it’s the constant date changes or the sudden notifications from Amazon that they can’t get the book and it’s delayed. That drives me totally crackers

  13. Monika says:

    Before I discovered PNR and UF I was a big fan of historical fiction and read it by the truckload. Nowadays the only Historicals I read are if Amanda Quick (an alias of JAK) brings out a new book or if I feel like re-reading some of my favorite Heyer novels.
    I never was into YA, the only one I ever read and liked was Harry Potter (is that even YA?). I did try the Twilight series, but found it boring. I am not a big fan of the first person narrative, mostly because I feel that if it is not done well it’s even more annoying than third person narratives.
    I also like crime novels (mostly by women authors), my favorites are Donna Leon and Sara Paretsky. I would also argue that Paretsky’s heroine V. I. Warshawsky influenced not only the representation of women in crime novels, but was in fact one of the prototypes for modern UF heroines, many (if not most) of who are in one way or another involved in some type of sleuthing.
    I admit I would never have taken up a Rock romance if not written by one of my favorite authors, Nalini. Since then I have read some others that weren’t half bad: one is Rise by Karina Bliss (I think this was in fact recommended by Nalini), and J. T. Geissinger is also doing a Rock trilogy, called Bad Habit. The first book, Sweet As Sin was pretty good, but I absolutely loved the second one, Make Me Sin, very hot and intense.

    • kaleigha says:

      I started reading historical romance way back in my university days. Couldn’t get enough of them, but when I got my first computer I found my reading stopped and I gave all of my books away.

      There are only a couple of authors I would cross genre for now, and Nalini and Ilona are the tops. I didn’t even follow Kresley Cole into her contemporary books she recently put out. I am going to try out Kelley Armstrong’s City of the Lost, too.

  14. snapdragon says:

    I still enjoy some YA but they are more in the category of fantasy. Sarah J. Maas and Tamora Pierce come immediately to mind. Both good authors that have strong, complex characters.

    • kaleigha says:

      I did keep my Sarah J. Maas YA book, since I do plan on giving that one a try. I am not a monster fantasy lover, but I am trying to keep an open mind.

  15. Iain says:

    Too many comments for me to read now… but my 2 cents:

    The Power of the Roarke 😛

    Just kidding, but you did start down the In Death rabbithole recently… just saying

    • kaleigha says:

      Ah, Roarke. Yes. He does bring it, doesn’t he? I am only wrapping up the third book, but so far it seems to be the perfect balance of Roarke-time. He isn’t in too much, but he makes an impact every time he is. Definitely leaves you wanting more.

      • Iain says:

        As a dude, I got sick of all the sexytime after awhile… but it slows down a bit around book 20… still 1 or 2 a book. after a sparring session or some laps in the pool…

        (vague mini-spoilers)

        Just read Brotherhood in Death, and I was reminded how much this series feels like an episodic TV show… characters make progress in their career… Books 2-20ish are Peabody’s trajectory from street cop to detective-in-training to full partner, then Baxter trains Trueheart from sometime around book 20 until book 42… and now Eve is planning her next conquest… another street cop with ambition from a few books ago…

        Also liked the focus on Dennis Mira in this book… the series still manages to find personal growth for Eve to make post-Dallas

  16. kaleigha says:

    I am just about finished the third book, and Dr. Mira has made a couple of appearances so far, and Peabody is still a uniform who has just been assigned to help Eve on a case as an assistant. Glad to know they stick around, since I like them both.

Leave a Reply

