YA Unhaul…The Aftermath

So, I wasn’t kidding when I said that I had completely lost interest in the vast majority of my young adult books. And because there is nothing I love more than getting rid of stuff, I thought it was time for another un-haul. It is sometimes hard to get rid of the pretty ones, but I was strong(ish). So, these are the books that will be finding a new home…

ya unhaul

So, that lightens my load by just a shade under 50 books. As a bonus, not only did I free up three whole shelves on my bookcase, but I dropped down to only 117 books on my TBR pile. I say “just” 117, but for a while I was at the 400 range. My goal for 2016 was to drop below the 100 mark, which is pretty much a given. This is pretty much an even mix between read and unread, but I still am happy with the un-haul. The not so great part? Having to cart all of them around to give them away.

10 thoughts on “YA Unhaul…The Aftermath

  1. Tavia Klein says:

    Hi K: I’m not sure where you live, for some reason I was under the impression, it is in Canada. I cannot give away books to anyone or to any organization. If you live anywhere near Toronto, Ontario, where are you taking your books. Thx Tavia

  2. snapdragon says:

    Great job on being able to let go of your books. I know how hard it was for me to get rid of several boxes of books before I moved. I ended up getting rid of over 20 paperboxes worth of books. I still have 3.5 bookcases of books at home but I had a-lot more time to re-configure what I wanted to keep.

    • kaleigha says:

      It is hard, but sort of freeing at the same time, isn’t it? I did it over the course of probably 4 big un-hauls, and a few smaller ones, so the pain wasn’t quite as bad. I think my biggest one was around 90 books, and then a few at the 50 book range. The hardcovers are the hardest to let go of, at leat for me.

  3. Iain says:

    I’ve done 2 unhauls in my life I think…leaving behind all my kids books like Animorphs when I left for college… and unloading all my Wheel of Time, Dresden Files, and Jack Reacher paperbacks and the like from college and afterward… I never bought too many books before my switch to kindle…

    ..your unhaul post leaves an image of a dude selling bootleg DVDs out of the trunk of his car in my head, however unrealistic that may be…

Leave a Reply

