Marked in Flesh Review…

We are just a shade under two weeks away from getting our hands on Anne Bishop‘s next The Others book, Marked in Flesh. To say that this is a hugely anticipated book for a lot of people is a tiny bit of an understatement, I figure. Doug Meeks sent over his review, and it sounds like we won’t be disappointed.

marked in fleshWhat Doug said…

I try to never steal lines from other reviewers but this line was too good and too on-the-spot to not repeat “So good I needed a cigarette when I finished”. Yeah, it WAS that good.

I hate trying to review books like this when all you want to do is write a page of “AWESOME’ “EXCEPTIONAL” well you get the idea. This book, in fact this whole series, is so out there in a league of its own you don’t know what to write but here goes.

The Others have put up with the Humans First and Last (HFL) for a good while now and these idiots have no clue what they are going to find at the end of this road but that does NOT mean they are not dangerous.

The Lakeside Courtyard is trying to help the humans that have been friends with them but their resources are limited. We also get a glimpse into some of the other settlements and maybe that is where some of the new stories are going to come from because this really read like a end of series book (which I am pretty certain is NOT the case) and so at the end in addition to weeping that the book has ended you have to wonder “Where does Anne Bishop go from here” but I have been fooled before so I will moan and complain for another year until the next one.

You might notice I am not saying a lot about the story because a lot of things turn into spoilers and so just know that Armageddon is coming.

Bottom Line: When you read books like this, you hate for them to end, you just kind of sit back and for a day or two you don’t really want to read anything else, you just want to roll around in the memory of this great story. Anything more I could say about this novel would just be redundant so 5 Stars only because that is all they allow, there ought to be an “elite” category for books like this.

6 thoughts on “Marked in Flesh Review…

  1. bfmason50 says:

    Thanks again for a great review Doug, now I can not wait even more for the publication date. You were like 1 of 5 reviews I read today for this anticipated book. I am almost counting the days to this book being released to either get an audio or the actual book to hold in my hands!!!

  2. DebbieF says:

    I’m counting on fingers the number of days until I can get my hands on the new book. Currently re-reading the last story just to get myself into the mind-set so I can seamlessly melt into the new storyline. Anne Bishop is by far the best writer out there. There are many good writers that I enjoy but she is in a league of her own.

  3. dougmeeks says:

    Just for the record Anne Bishop answered a question I posed about the next book and she said it was almost ready to hand in to her publisher so we are not at the end yet.

    • kaleigha says:

      I wonder if it is only one more to go, or only one more confirmed? I have seen a listing for a fifth book for a while on Goodreads, but haven’t heard of the series extending beyond that. Which is a nasty thought, actually.

      • dougmeeks says:

        She is great for leaving these last 2 book in a place where the series could end and while you would hate it, it was in a good place. I am hoping for several more but this is so “out of the box” stuff no way to guess.

  4. snapdragon says:

    I so can’t wait for this one. I have such high expectations. I know it will end up twisting my thoughts into knots thinking about what’s going to happen.

Leave a Reply

