The Story So Far

A while back, a light bulb came on and I had an idea that I would like to start at the beginning of a series and do a book-by-book summary. Nothing major, but just a page or two of events that had happened during the course of each story. I figured that it would work best on a long running series, since that is where details can sometimes get fuzzy. Also, I thought that it would maybe make more sense on a series that focused primarily on one couple, since one book can run into the next and it can seem like one huge story.

So, long story…long, I thought I would give it a shot. Since I recently started J.D. Robb‘s In Death series, and the corresponding character guide, I figured it would be a good one to tackle. As a bonus, it seems like there is a ton of interest in the series, so people might find it helpful.

I do have to say that, like the character guide, this one will be a work in progress. I will update as I read the books, and I hope to add a new one every couple of weeks.

You can find “The Story So Far” for the In Death series HERE. Do you think something like this is worth continuing? Would you get any use out of it, or is it overkill?

8 thoughts on “The Story So Far

  1. Karen says:

    I am up to date with JD Robb series but it would be great to have somewhere to read back over what’s happened so far. Even though Ms Roberts cranks this series out at the rate of two books a year, it’s still easy to forget what’s happened before.

  2. Melanie says:

    It is excellent idea. With reading quite a few series I sometimes have to backtrack before reading the next book in the series. A lot of books also have a continuing story arc even though each book is about a different couple.

  3. Monika says:

    I love the idea, too. I am up to date with the series, and in the beginning I re-read it a few times, but with time details get fuzzy. If I remember correctly, after some books there was a continuity mistake as she changed the name of the chief medical examiner (also a recurring character), so pay attention to that.

  4. Monika says:

    I also had a look at the character guide, and since it is not possible to comment there, I would like to add that if you are highlighting important recurring characters you should include Dr. Mira, Summerset, Charles Monroe, Ryan Feeney, Mavis Freestone and Nadine Furst, since they will become a staple of the series.

    • kaleigha says:

      It is a pain when the continuity errors crop up – things like changing how a name is spelt makes me nuts. But Oy, I didn’t notice that comments were turned off for every. stinking. page. in the new blog design. Looks like I have to turn allow comments on for ever page of every author section. Sigh. Thanks for pointing it out, though.

Leave a Reply

