Reading Wrap Up

booksWith another week about to fire up, let’s take a peek at what we all have been reading. I finished up the Deborah Blake Baba Yaga series with the third book, Wickedly Powerful. I liked this one as much as the first two, and I am glad I picked this series up. There is a spin-off coming featuring the Riders, So that could be interesting. The only downside for me is that I am not a huge fan of the, uh, situation that the heroine finds herself in. I don’t want to say what it is because of spoilers, but it is one of the book tropes that don’t really get me excited.

The only other stuff I got to was re-reads of the Dragon Kin series from G.A. Aiken. I am working on the guide for it now, and I decided to do a chronological reading order rather than publication order, and it seems to be working out well. The problem for me always was that I couldn’t remember who was who. Just no way could I keep everyone straight. But for some reason I turned a corner a couple of books back and things seem to be sticking a bit. It makes going back and checking out the early novellas a blast, since I now know who is connected to who. I missed so much the first time around not knowing anyone’s names, and that made me not enjoy the series as much as I should’ve. I have already managed to read the first three novellas and the first full book, Dragon Actually, and it is like a whole new world. They are a lot of fun.

So, that is it for me. Nothing much to brag about, I have to say. I did manage to not add to the tbr pile, so that is always a win, but I didn’t manage to get too many off the mountain, either. And with the juggernaut that March is shaping up to be, I won’t be too successful there, either. What have you been checking out lately? Anything worth passing on?

4 thoughts on “Reading Wrap Up

    • kaleigha says:

      Plus, she had a couple of different storylines to wrap up, and establish a basis for The Riders, so she packed a lot into just the one book.

  1. snapdragon says:

    I basically read “Alien in Chief” twice over the weekend and had a blast doing so. Gini Koch does such a great job making her books so full of fun, action and snark. I also got sucked into “Alliance” by S. K. Dunstall. I got this on audio and basically stayed up Saturday night listening to the whole thing. I just could not shut it off.
    I also finished “the Dragon Conspiracy” by Lisa Shearin which was enjoyable.
    Than I read ” A New Hope” by Robyn Carr which was alright but I have a huge pet peeve. If there is a “pet” on the cover of the damn book than there should be a pet in the story. Grrr. It just really kinda threw me off because every time I picked the book back up I kept – expecting – the have a animal come into the story.

    • kaleigha says:

      Doesn’t the wrong cover bug you? Makes me nuts. I don’t mind when cover model’s change or things like that, but at least have elements from the story represented correctly.

Leave a Reply

