Audio Book Recommendations?

I was supposed to post this question a while back, but I a) spazzed out and forgot, and b) deleted the email of the person who sent me the question. So, duh squared. Anyways, I got an email a couple of weeks ago that mentioned maybe doing a thread where you could share your recommendations for the best audio book series out there. I have never tried one myself, so I have no clue, but I know a lot of you are big fans. Which do you find to be worth checking out? Do you find any of them actually better than reading a book yourself?

12 thoughts on “Audio Book Recommendations?

  1. JudyV says:

    The Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon is an excellent audio series and shouldn’t be missed the narrator is spot on for her voices and she keeps you interested, entertained and involved throughout the entire series! One of my favorite audio series

  2. ezinwanyi13 says:

    I found Outlander too long at 40 hours. I read the book and I listened to it. The author is very verbose.
    My favorite Narrators: Robert Petkoff, Rosalyn Landor, Julia Whelan/Sophie Eastlake, Johanna Parker
    1) The Immortals after Dark by Kresley Cole, narrated by Robert Petkoff. Lothaire is my favorite audiobook.
    2 ) The Wallflowers by Lisa Kleypas, narrated by Rosalyn Landor is excellent.
    3) Sophie Eastlake’s narration on the Elder Race was good and her other name Julia Whelan is for books like Nora Roberts “The Witness” or “The Liar”
    4) I loved Sookie Stackhouse by Charlaine Harris, narrated by Johanna Parker.
    5) Kate Daniels (Renee Rudd, I think) is another good series on audio. Any of the series by Molly Harper (I prefer Half Moon Hollow), narrated by Amanda Ronconi would definitely garner a chuckle.

    It really depends on what you want to listen to. The Anne Bishop series is really good on audio too.

  3. Nae says:

    It took me a little to warm up to audiobooks but now I very much enjoy them, especially doing tasks that don’t require a lot of thinking. 🙂 a few of my favourites are:
    1. Renée Raudman is the narrator for most of Ilona Andrews work and it is all fabulous.
    2. Both of Patricia Brigg’s series
    3. Anne Bishop’s The Others series. The Black jewels series has a different narrator and I really couldn’t get into it even though I adore the books.
    4. JD Robb’s In Death series is awesome on audiobook (i’m listening right now).
    5. Heidi Cullinan’s Love Lessons series (m/m).
    6. All of Nalini Singh.
    7. All of Shelly Laurenston & GA Aiken
    8. All of Elizabeth Hunter
    I have a quite a few others that I love but didn’t want to overwhelm (most of the character guide list is a pretty good audio).

    Unfortunately I can’t rec the first 6 books of the Dresden Files by Jim Butcher or the first half of the BDB.

  4. Lynn says:

    I prefer to read. Especially new books in a favorite series BUT…. my job is dull at times, so I purchase audios of books I already read (usually Amazon will give you a serious discount price since you already purchased the Kindle verse), that way if I get distracted by work I really don’t lose my place (because I’ve already read it. )

    I recommend the BDB. The reader has the right voice for the Brothers and especially when the latest book is about to out and I need a refresher.

  5. Jan says:

    If you have a good narrator audiobooks are great. It frees you up to do other things like walking or chores but being entertained at the same time. As mentioned by others above my favourites are;
    Kate Daniels and Edge series by Ilona Andrews
    Mercy Thompson series by Patricia Briggs
    Psy-Changlings and Guild Hunter series by Nalini Singh
    BDB series by J.R. Ward
    I also enjoyed Kresley Cole, Molly Harper, Shelley Laurenston and Lisa Kleypas (Wallflowers series) and have J.D. Robb’s In Death, Anne Bishop’s the Others series on my ‘to listen to’ list.
    Other favourites of mine are;
    Rachel Morgan/Hollows series by Kim Harrison
    Fever series by Karen Marie Moning
    Morganville Vampiries series by Rachel Caine
    Neighbor From Hell series by R.L. Mathewson
    Novels of the Others series by Christine Warren
    Rock Chick, Colorado Mountain, and Dream Man series by Kristen Ashley (best romance author ever)

    All great series on their own but they work as audiobooks because of the excellent narrators.

  6. Debs Malcolm says:

    I love listening to audio books whilst driving, or when doing chores around the house. My favourite is the BDB (J R Ward): although it’s a bit odd to hear the sexy bits read out loud!

  7. cc says:

    This year I’ve listen to more audiobooks, as I get to do it at work. I also use kindle ebooks with audio. JD Robb in death is good. I also enjoyed Stacia Kane’s Downside books. All of Ilona Andrews books.

    My mom uses overdrive from the library and has a big choice of books. If you have this option its great for trying out new authors. I have found I don’t always like the way a audiobook turns out even if I like the book.

    • snapdragon says:

      It really depends on the narrator for me. I can never buy or listen to the Guild Hunter series by Nalini Singh due to the narrator. Her voice just rubs on me like nails on a chalk board.

  8. snapdragon says:

    Where to start : –

    Kate Daniels Series by Ilona Andrews – Narrated By Renee Raudman

    The Aeronauts Windlass by Jim Butcher – Narrated by Euan Morton

    The In Death Series by J. D. Robb – Narrated by Susan Erickson

    The All Souls Trilogy by Deborah Harkness – Narrated by Jennifer Ikeda

    The Iron Druid Series by Kevin Hearne – Narrated by Luke Daniels

    The Collegium Chronicles by Mercedes Lackey – Narrated by Nick Pohdel

    The Others Series by Anne Bishop – Narrated by Alexandra Harris

    Any Clive Cussler book or series – most are narrated by Scott Brick

    The Cotton Malone Series by Steve Berry – Also narrated by Scott Brick

    Linesman and Alliance by S. K. Dunstall – Narrated by Brian Hutchinson

    There are others but these are the ones that come right to mind.

  9. Jennifer (@TheBookNympho) says:

    These are the series that I only do on audio. The narrators are so good.
    Molly Harper – all her books are great on audio
    Kresley Cole – IAD and The Arcana Chronicles
    Jennifer Estep – Elemental Assassin series and Black Blade series
    Ilona Andrews – all their books are great on audio
    Anne Bishop – The Others series
    Patrica Briggs – Alpha and Omega series
    Christina Lauren – Beautiful Bastard series and Wild Season series
    Darynda Jones – Charley Davidson series
    Alice Clayton – Cocktail series
    Stacia Kane – Downside Ghosts series
    Kim Harrison – The Hollows series
    Kevin Hearne – The Iron Druid Chronicles
    Faith Hunter – Jane Yellowrock series
    Shannon Stacey – Kowalski Family series
    Elliott James – Pax Arcana series
    Dannika Dark – Seven series
    Emma Chase – Tangled series
    Diana Rowland – White Trash Zombie

  10. cheryl says:

    I agree with all the above but they missed a series that I would have stopped except the audio got me hooked on it more than reading it myself.
    Jeaniene Frost’s – Night Huntress series.

Leave a Reply

