Pick of the Week – and a Bit of Drama

There were three monster books for me this week. THREE. Marked in Flesh, which is the book of the month for March, Lady Midnight, which I already mentioned in the New Series Alerts post yesterday, and Fire Touched. So, that make Fire Touched my pick of the week (the other two have gotten enough time already). Plus, Patricia Briggs only puts out one book a year, and that makes it a cause for celebration.

fire touchedSynopsis…

Tensions between the fae and humans are coming to a head. And when coyote shapeshifter Mercy and her Alpha werewolf mate, Adam, are called upon to stop a rampaging troll, they find themselves with something that could be used to make the fae back down and forestall out-and-out war: a human child stolen long ago by the fae.

Defying the most powerful werewolf in the country, the humans, and the fae, Mercy, Adam, and their pack choose to protect the boy no matter what the cost. But who will protect them from a boy who is fire touched?

Apparently, Amazon.com might’ve temporarily screwed up on this one. It seems that there was not only a problem with pre-orders being cancelled, but with pricing guarantees, as well. Of course, that leads to not only angry fans venting to the authors, but people leaving 1 star reviews on Amazon, both of which I just don’t get. Patricia Briggs did her part in writing the book, so if there are issues with the selling people should contact Amazon directly. And the 1 star review thing is a monster pet peeve of mine. I know it is disappointing when you want something and can’t get it, but lowering the rating of a book over anything other than content just doesn’t work for me. On the other hand, I am also annoyed by the slew of 5 star ratings on Goodreads for books that aren’t out yet, so maybe I am just bitchy?

Anyways, I hope you got your copy of Fire Touched without trouble. Now we just have to wait a year for the next Alpha and Omega book.

10 thoughts on “Pick of the Week – and a Bit of Drama

  1. Shira says:

    I agree about the stars for review.
    I live in Japan, so physical books usually take a few weeks after the release day until they arrive even when I pre-order them.
    I was quite upset when it took Amazon nearly two months to deliver Shadows End to me. (Though I did read it in e-book before it arrived and I order physical books just because I like to keep physical ones and view the covers.)
    But it doesn’t feel right to reduce the stars because the review is about the book, not Amazon. So I still gave it five stars on Amazon review. I’ll probably complain to Amazon if my book arrives really late again.

    I haven’t started Fire Touched yet, but hopefully will by the weekend, and looking forward to reading it.

    • kaleigha says:

      That kind of wait time would suck. Hard. I agree, though, about dealing directly with Amazon when there is an issue. I know I have had quite a few “guaranteed to be delivered on release day” titles that haven’t come until two days later, and I am thinking of checking that out with Amazon. I might live in the North, but it isn’t the North Pole or anything. And it is one of the reasons I decided to bite the bullet and spring for Amazon prime.

    • Monika says:

      I live in Switzerland and I used to have to wait an average of 2-3weeks for English language books to arrive. Now I have Kindle, which works for me as no physical books means more room for other stuff 😉

  2. Dawn says:

    I got my preordered copy on my Kindle right on time. I agree that giving a 1 star review over something the author has no control over is tacky. I sometimes get frustrated by the time between books, but that’s my problem not the author’s. Back off the complaining and enjoy the book whenever you get it. More than likely, it will be worth the wait.

    • kaleigha says:

      Waiting does suck, for sure, and it seems like wait times are getting farther apart for a lot of the series I love, but there is always something to look forward to that way.

  3. Monika says:

    I’ve already devoured Fire Touched and I loved it, so I’ll probably leave a 5 star review. I have mostly just one criticism and that concerns the German language bits of Zee. I think Patricia Briggs hasn’t managed one book yet without at least one mistake in the German bits, which, though to most readers it might appear minor if they even notice it, is quite a big deal to me as German is my native language. What’s the point of giving a character a foreign language (supposedly his mother tongue) for flavor and in order to make him more authentic, if you then screw up a word in every second sentence?! I found it particularly bad in the last book, where some swear words were spelled wrong, which just makes the swearing sound ridiculous. She should really find a person able to edit the German bits and barring that, she could always send those passages to me 😉

    • kaleigha says:

      Actually, it surprises me that those little mistakes slip through. I expect it with certain authors, but not Patricia. Huh.

  4. Jean says:

    Your observation regarding 1 star reviews is far from bitchy. I lean towards a descriptor of wise. I’m a chapter or two into the new Patricia Briggs book and it’s looking good, as usual.

    • kaleigha says:

      It just doesn’t seem fair to me. I especially like the ones who leave a low review because the book cost too much. Those drive me nuts.

Leave a Reply

