Reading Wrap Up

booksThings have been pretty quiet around here for the last few days, mostly because there just wasn’t a lot to mention. I figure this is as good a time as any to share what we all have been reading, since it has been almost a month since my last wrap up post.

To be honest, I haven’t seemed to be able to get much done these last couple of weeks. I did manage to read Midnight Marked from Chloe Neill, which is the second-to-last full book in the Chicagoland Vampires series. It took me longer to finish than I thought it would, though. I do enjoy the books, but they don’t quite grab me like I wish they would. I have no problem putting them down and leaving them for a couple of days, which I did quite a few times on this one. I guess what I am trying to spit out is that like the rest of the books in the series, it was a good read, but it didn’t wow me, either.

I have two new releases on the go as I type, and those are Fire Touched by Patricia Briggs, and Lady Midnight from Cassandra Clare. For some reason, I am not totally feeling Lady Midnight, though. Maybe it is because I am reading it for the character guide, so it is more a fact-finding mission than a leisurely read, but I am not involved with parts of it. It isn’t bad, at all, but I am not really connecting with Emma or her story, which sucks since she is the main character. But surprisingly, Julian is a stand-out, which I didn’t expect. I figured he would be second fiddle to Emma, but that isn’t the case at all. And his story-arc is quite compelling. I am still slogging along on this one, but it is slow going.

Fire Touched is another story. I am at the half-way point, and it is flying by. These stories are once a year treats, so I do try and savor them, but it is hard to not just devour them in one sitting. I find myself forgetting a few of the background characters, though, which is a little annoying. Definitely time for a re-read of the series.

And on the subjects of re-reads, I got a few more novellas done for the Dragon Kin series by G.A. Aiken, along with another crack at the second In Death book from J.D. Robb, all of which I liked just as much the second time around. To my eternal shame, I still haven’t read Marked in Flesh – I know, I know. Like I said, ashamed. But it will be up after I finish Fire Touched. Too many books, too little time.

What have you been reading? What was your take on some of the big releases of March?

20 thoughts on “Reading Wrap Up

  1. Ashley says:

    Well, I devoured Fire Touched and Marked in Flesh as soon as they came out. Fire Touched was amazing, of course, and much too short. I need Mercy books about three times that length!!! I enjoyed Marked in Flesh as well. I really appreciated that the end wasn’t a major cliffhanger. It felt like a way for the readers to take a deep breath before we dive into the next stage of Meg and Simon’s story. I also caught up on the last two In Death books. They both hit the mark for me, but especially Brotherhood. Probably one of my favorite in the series. I’m a little worried, though, because it’s been a long time since any of the main characters have been seriously injured — or worse. One of the few things Eve and Roarke haven’t had to deal with is the death of someone in their inner circle. I’m wondering if it’s about time. Pure speculation, of course. And since my book budget is long gone, I”ve been poking around free sites and reading The Kings series by Heather Killough-Warden. It’s pretty darn formulaic, but I’m intrigued by the “under plot” weaving throughout the series, and that keeps me going through the blah blah blah. Good reading month!

    • kaleigha says:

      March is an awesome month, for sure. I am glad that there isn’t a cliffhanger, because the year wait for an ending would be killer. I am still tackling the In Death books, but the great new releases this month have put me behind schedule. It is so good to hear how many still love the series so many books in – gives me hope.

  2. pals20 says:

    I completed a re-read of all three of Anne Bishop’s Others last week before starting Marked in Flesh on Saturday. Finished it on Sunday and it is the best one so far. Plotlines wrapped up and exciting new lines opened up for the next book… You really should read it as soon as possible!!

    I’ve also discovered Yesterday’s Gone a book series – a sci-fi/ horror/ thriller cross between the The Lost and The Stand. Finished the 1st “season” and starting the 2nd one hopefully today. Both these are free on their website. It’s pretty fast-paced and full of twists and cliffhangers at the end of each “episode”.

    • kaleigha says:

      I do love it when you start to get answers to long running questions in a series – not when they end, of course, but when things start to come together. Another one to look forward to.

    • kaleigha says:

      Nice…I would love to do a Nalini re-read in the near future. I have only read them twice, but they just don’t get old.

  3. bfmason50 says:

    I have listened to Marked in Flesh twice now and read it one time. I absolutely loved the book and I got more Elementals in the book. The Elementals for some reason I just find as great characters they have so much power and like no conscience if it hurts Terra Indigine or Humans but one exception of Meg. I did throw this out on another part of the website but how would you readers of The Other series react if in the last book we get a ending like readers got in Divergent or Hunger Games series?

    I Just started reading Written in Red for the first time, and finished a relisten to Richelle Meades Silver Shadows. I will probably relisten to Ruby Circle today, or do another series.

    Side note did you see on Ilona Andrews blog she leaves a hint for a Hugh book!!! From her blog “Got a fun idea for a novella set in Kinsman world but on a different planet. It will have to wait. We have edits on White Hot, then likely edits on Magic Binds, then Hidden Legacy 3, then hopefully, Hugh’s book just so I can download it from my brain and it will stop nagging me.”

    • kaleigha says:

      I like the elementals, too – it is something about all that power in a being that looks like a little kid or a pony freaks me out.

      I did see the Hugh thing…interesting. Potential to be hugely entertaining. With the bits we heard in the Julie and Derek novella about Hugh, I am so ready to see what happens to him.

    • ashley says:

      Do we know what happened with White Hot? It was supposed to be released back on October, but that didn’t happen and I couldn’t ever find anything on Andrews’ website about it. I was frustrated because I LOVE Nevada and Mad.

      And dear heavens, I certainly hope Bishop doesn’t go for a heartwrenching ending like Divergent or HG. I don’t think she really can. At this point, I think everything Meg has been in the midst of building would collapse under the weight of her death, and The Others would just rampage.

      • kaleigha says:

        Yep, we do have White Hot news. Because Ilona missed the deadline for it, White Hot had to be pushed back. Way back. But, the good news is that there is going to be a sort of “relaunch” of the Hidden Legacy series. Burn for me will be re-published, then a few weeks later White Hot will be released (May 2017), then the third book will be out in August. So, a bit of a wait, but then all three quite close together.

  4. kaleigha says:

    I had huge reading plans for this week – I had 4 out of 5 days off, and I thought I would be able to chug right along and get caught up. Nope. I now have 5 12 hour shifts..sigh. Whatcha gonna do?

  5. shannon c says:

    Loved Fire Touched and Marked in Flesh! Best two new releases this year so far. 🙂

    Now I am on a mystery/suspense kick. I came across Karen Rose, who I had not tried before and I am really enjoying her books. She has a bunch of them and I am on my third one.

  6. battleborn82 says:

    I’m currently reading Fire Touched, but pacing myself too because it’ll be a year…Maybe we’ll get an Alpha & Omega book in between (fingers crossed)who knows ?! I’m loving the story so far because especially the dynamic between Mercy & Adam, but I am so glad I’m not alone in forgetting characters. There’s a vampire that shows up and I’m like who’s this guy ? The struggle was real in trying to remember. Glad I am not alone !

    • kaleigha says:

      I thought it was just me forgetting…I couldn’t remember the vampire, either, and even some of the lesser packmates had me wondering if I had seen them before. Threw me off a bit.

      • battleborn82 says:

        I honestly have no clue where Zack came from….I vaguely remember Mary Jo….and I must need ginkgo because I forgot Joel and his wife lmao…i got most of the books from the library so this is a legitimate excuse to buy and re-read lol.

  7. bfmason50 says:

    I am thinking of starting the Fire Touched series how does it compare to series like: The Others, Kate Daniels, Gin Blanco, Guild Hunters and Black Dagger Brotherhood series?

    • kaleigha says:

      It is a really good series – both it and its spin off Alpha and Omega series are really well done. Considering Kate Daniels and Guild Hunters among my A+ series, these ones would come in at my A level.

Leave a Reply

