Pick of the Week

I must be in the winter blah’s because even my pick of the week can’t get me excited for some reason. Shelly Laurenston/G.A. Aiken writes great books that are always good for a laugh, but for some reason I am having to talk myself into buying The Undoing, which is the second book in the Call of Crows series. Maybe I am finally breaking free of getting books because I “should”, and moving on to books I really want to read at that moment? That would be nice. Either way, The Undoing is my pick of the week.

the undoingSynopsis…

A risk worth taking…

No one would ever accuse Jace Berisha of having an easy life—considering her husband…you know…killed her. But that was then! Now she fights for mighty Viking gods with the spectacular and vicious Crows.

But things are turning very bad, very quickly because a vengeful, ancient goddess has come into the world with just one thing on her mind—ending it. And the only way they can hope to stop her is if the Crows join forces with their one-time enemies, the Protectors. A Viking Clan created to do nothing but kill every Crow they see.

Thankfully, Protector Ski Eriksen is a peace loving kind of guy. Because the woman he is desperately trying to get close to is the beautiful and not-very-chatty Jace. Battling Nordic clans? Unkillable goddesses? Jace’s mean-spirited dog? None of these things would ever get in the way of a true Viking!

I did like Call of Crows, but it didn’t grab me like either the Dragon Kin or the Pride series did. Have you tried this one yet? What did you think about the new series?

7 thoughts on “Pick of the Week

  1. Dawn says:

    I really wanted to have it on release day, but I just have a big problem with the cost. I know it’s been mentioned & discussed before, but the publishing houses are ripping off the readers when they charge $10 or more for a new e-book, and how much of that does the author even get? If it was released at a price point of, say 6-7, I might’ve gone ahead and splurged, but having a part-time job and my husband’s contract increases don’t even cover cost-of-living increases — it SUCKS being a teacher in NJ, where we get blamed for EVERYTHING — I just can’t do it. (Especially after I already spent that amount for Midnight Marked earlier this month!)

    God I feel old, I can remember buying 4 paperbacks for that price when I was in high school!

    • dougmeeks says:

      Kensington is the very worst for some reason about overpriced books BUT they are introducing a new “brand” called Lyrical Press that is supposed to allow their books to be marketed at a lower cost but it may just be ebooks, not sure what it will cover yet.

    • kaleigha says:

      It is a bit high for a paperback, isn’t it? Used to be that when they first came out I picked them up for around $10.00, now they are running $15.00. Sigh.

      Lyrical Press? Interesting. I must look into it and see what they will be putting out.

      • Dawn says:

        I think the almost-$30 for a hardback might be worse. And then they barely cut it in half if you buy it as an ebook instead. Either way you look at it it’s ridiculous.

        I think this is one of the reasons, along with how little they actually get from the sale of the book, that more and more authors seem to be taking the self-publishing route. I have noticed when that happens that the prices o become more reasonable. Maybe if enough big name authors do this the publishing houses will rethink their pricing strategies…naw, that’s expecting them to be reasonable! 🙂

Leave a Reply

