Spotlight on Julie McElwain

A very nice lady named Maia from Pegasus Books recently contacted me about a new book coming our way on April 11th, from author Julie McElwain. Always on the hunt for something new, I checked out the blurb for A Murder in Time, and I have to say it sounds really interesting. I might be completely out there, but I got an In Death-meets-Outlander vibe from what I have seen, and that doesn’t sound like a bad thing.

Once in a while, I try and take a step away from the “traditional” PNR staples of shifters and weres, and I think a time travel book would be fun for a change. And I thought I might give a shout out here…and can I just say, pretty.

a murder in timeSynopsis…

Beautiful and brilliant, Kendra Donovan is a rising star at the FBI. Yet her path to professional success hits a speed bump during a disastrous raid where half her team is murdered, a mole in the FBI is uncovered and she herself is severely wounded. As soon as she recovers, she goes rogue and travels to England to assassinate the man responsible for the deaths of her teammates.

While fleeing from an unexpected assassin herself, Kendra escapes into a stairwell that promises sanctuary but when she stumbles out again, she is in the same place – Aldrich Castle – but in a different time: 1815, to be exact.

Mistaken for a lady’s maid hired to help with weekend guests, Kendra is forced to quickly adapt to the time period until she can figure out how she got there; and, more importantly, how to get back home. However, after the body of a young girl is found on the extensive grounds of the county estate, she starts to feel there’s some purpose to her bizarre circumstances. Stripped of her twenty-first century tools, Kendra must use her wits alone in order to unmask a cunning madman.

I did pester Maia a bit and ask if there is a romantic angle to the story, and she assured me there is. Is anyone else thinking of checking this one out? What are your favorite time-traveling series? Or paranormal mystery series, for that matter?

11 thoughts on “Spotlight on Julie McElwain

  1. JudyV says:

    Outlander is by far my favorite book, so when I see a time travel story I will grab it up. I also really lik d Karen Marie Moning’s Highlander series. They are great romances and the McKelter are dreamy!

    • kaleigha says:

      You know, I do so have Outlander on my radar, but I am confronted by the eternal question – show first or book? I have the first season on blu-ray, but I am waiting to read the book first. And of course I am putting off buying the book because I am thinking I should watch the show. Oi.

  2. cheryl says:

    This looks really interesting. I am gonna add it to my ever growing tbr pile.
    I think the Highlander series is the last time travel type books I read and I wouldn’t have remembered that if not for your previous poster.

  3. Ashley says:

    I’m definitely going to give it a try. I’m without a current book and definitely feeling withdrawal. On an aside, I guess I’m one of the rare folks who does NOT like Outlander. I read the first three, and my first complaint is that the author has a serious fetish for male rape. It really, really turned me off. There are times when a singular event can work as a plot point, but when half the guys in the story have been a victim or even a perp? Not so much. Secondly, by the third book, the storyline was so convoluted that it felt forced to me. But hey, to each their own!! Just my two cents worth.

    • kaleigha says:

      I do have a hard time with rape in a book, I have to admit. I guess that is the point, really, but it does throw me off.

      • Ashley says:

        I can handle a one-time scenario when it’s well written and serves a real plot or character point, such as with Mac in the Fever Series. But multiple characters and multiple rapes? Nope. I’m done.

  4. Charry says:

    I’m generally not a big fan of time travel (historically, society has not often kind to women or people of African decent and I’m both! ). However this book seems interesting. I guess it just depends on how close to reality the book comes. If it’s a more of a romanticized version, then I’m in. I guess that’s true about most of the PNR books. In reality the alpha male guy who seems awful at first …probably is. In these books he ultimately becomes a hero with a heart of gold.

    • kaleigha says:

      It can be a fine line between Alpha-ness and Douche-ness, that is for sure. That was a big part of why I stopped the historical romance books.

Leave a Reply

