Cover Lover – Blood Vow

Thanks once again to Pheonix, who not only sent over the link to the cover and blurb for the second book in J.R. Ward‘s Black Dagger Legacy series, but who also listened to me whine about the fact that it is hardcover. Don’t get me wrong, I love me the hardcover books, but we were told this series was going to be an old-school paperback PNR series, and it…isn’t. One freakin’ book comes out in paperback and then a switch to hardcover?!? Meh. Anyways, the hardcover Blood Vow will be released on December 6th. Oh, and the blurb is slightly spoilery for those who haven’t finished The Beast.

blood voxWhen a brooding vampire warrior-in-training teams up with a quick-witted aristocrat to solve a deadly mystery, the only thing more dangerous than their mission is their undeniable attraction.

Trainees at the Black Dagger Brotherhood’s training center continue to prepare for the war against the Lessening Society, but fighting is the last thing on Axe’s mind. Still plagued with the guilt of his father’s death, the brooding loner finds himself battling an unlikely attraction to Peyton’s enticing, aristocratic cousin, Elise. Elise feels it, too – especially when the two are thrown together in unusual circumstances, and she must decide whether she can trust Axe as she uncovers the mystery surrounding her sister’s death.

Meanwhile, Mary and Rhage are fostering Bitty, a young pretrans orphan, and hope to adopt her… until the appearance of a young male claiming to be Bitty’s blooded uncle threatens to tear the new family apart.

Ok, seriously. I am not letting this switch to hardcover thing go. Am I alone in thinking this is weird? If the series had started out that way, great. But to switch after one book bugs me. A lot. It does make a Kindle more attractive, I have to admit, since it would quiet my ocd. Maybe.

13 thoughts on “Cover Lover – Blood Vow

  1. Emma says:

    You’re not alone, it’s getting friggin’ ridiculous.
    How on earth can the publishers keep justifying this change. This is why I’m so happy about eBooks.
    This who paperback to hardcover is driving me crackers. I am not a happy bunny

    • kaleigha says:

      One lonesome paperback sitting there, surrounded by hardcovers. It already bugs me enough that I have the (as yet unread) Fallen Angels books split between hardcover and paperback.

      • Emma says:

        There have only been two series I have switched (willingly) from paperback to Hardcover. Kate Daniels and Women of the Otherworld.
        Who wants to wait another 9+ months for the paperback to come out.
        And please, don’t get me started on the price of eBooks costing more than a paper book. Kelley Armstrong’s Omens series costs 9.99GBP in Kindle and just a few pennies less in print.

        • kaleigha says:

          And there is just something more exciting for me in getting a hardcover. I pretty much always switch over if the option is available, and I even went back and re-purchased books in hardcover after backtitle lists became available for series like Mercy Thompson and, yes, the BDB. I am even picking up the Dark-Hunter books as they are re-released, even though I haven’t read them yet. But the kindle version costing anywhere near the same price is insane. Can’t figure out what people are thinking on that one.

          • Emma says:

            When I can afford to re-purchase Kate Daniels, I will.
            But with so many more books I wanna read, I just cannot justify the extra expense.
            As for the kindle prices, either they aren’t thinking or they’re just seeing dollar signs

              • Emma says:

                It would appear I was over eager, I’ve just checked Amazon. No Kate Daniels back orders in Hardcover. Now that just sucks, I’ll have mismatching books. I hate that

                • kaleigha says:

                  God, it bugs me too. Since I have one wall for hardcover and one wall for paperbacks, I have different series spread out over multiple areas. Meh.

  2. Stephanie says:

    You would think publishers would know better. The kindle has hurt them enough, all they are doing is shooting themselves in the foot. I never ever buy hardcovers anymore. Unless it’s a Kresley Cole book.

    • kaleigha says:

      Between the format changes and the pricing, it really is making me wonder what they are thinking. I do love hardcover, and I get them when I can, but they need to make up their minds.

    • kaleigha says:

      I wonder, though, if it is a publisher only decision. I don’t know how much control authors have over things, unless they go the dreaded (at least for me) self pubbed route.

  3. snapdragon says:

    Ilona Andrews really fought to keep books in paperback and managed to until Magic Rises. It’s more of a publishing thing having to due with sales and whatnot.

    That is why I love the library. I get to read hardbacks so I know what is going on but than I will wait until the paperback comes out and than get the kindle addition and paperback.

Leave a Reply

