My OMG-WTF-LOL Moment of the Week

Minor spoilers ahead for Fire Bound.

I have mentioned in a few comments that I really enjoyed the latest Christine Feehan book, Fire Bound, which was my pick of the week. It is the second-to-last book of the Sisters of the Heart part of the Sea Haven books, but Christine recently announced that she had plans to write more books set in this world, and that they would focus on a group of Russian bikers that move to town. Great. Logic told me that they would somehow be connected to the last Prakenskii brother, Viktor, who has been MIA for the last 5 years. All good so far.

So, it turns out that yes, indeed, the next books set in Sea Haven will focus on the “brothers” Viktor made in the school he was trained in, the most brutal of all the facilities. When they finish their last assignment, he and his crew will head to Sea Haven. I liked the set up, and I figured that it was an interesting direction to take this world. I figured it would ideally be a group of 5, maybe 6 of Viktor’s nearest and dearest. Maybe 8 if Christine Feehan reaaaallllly wanted to milk it. But here is where my OMG-WTF-LOL comes in. Is it going to be 6? Or 8? Nope…wait for it…wait for it…

Seventeen. Seven. Teen.

Yes, you read that right. Seventeen psychically gifted Russian assassins are heading for Sea Haven. Seventeen highly trained, completely Alpha bikers. I read that, then stopped. Stared. Read again. Then I started to laugh hysterically. That is so randomly over the top I can’t even deal. Seriously? Is it just me, or do you find that completely crazy? At one book per series per year – well, do the math. I like the idea – truly, I do, but SEVENTEEN of them? There is milking it for all it is worth, and there is milking it, then beating it into the ground, then setting it on fire to finish it off. It is like a Russian version of the Ghostwalkers, where more and more characters are added until there is no hope of ever getting all of the stories told (by the way, there are still 27 Ghostwalker men over the four teams who need to get their stories, not to mention the females). Oy. But I did have a good laugh.

24 thoughts on “My OMG-WTF-LOL Moment of the Week

  1. Sam says:

    Holy crap..17! This is the only Christine Feehans series I haven’t read. I am still waiting for the other Ghostealkers to have their stories told…must be at least 20-30 without mates. And now that Christine has added all of the ancients from the monastery to her Dark Series…she will be writing into the next millennium.

    • kaleigha says:

      Aaand, I looked at some info on the upcoming Shadow Rider series – and it looks like while there are “only” six in the main family, there are tons of supporting characters…and whole other families.

  2. Darchelle says:

    First there was Ilya Prakenskii in the Drake series, then his 6 brothers in the Sisters of the Heart series. Now 17 more HAWT Alpha Russian psychic bikers headed for Sea Haven … WOW! What’s not to love!!!

  3. Em says:

    And this is one of the many reasons I never pick up a Christine Feehan book. I had her on my list, but after seeing how many books there were to purchase for EACH series.
    I just couldn’t keep up. I’ve had this same issue with several other long running series. Sometimes authors really do just go on and on.
    Keri Arthur – Riley Jensen series ended earlier than I would like, but it was a natural conclusion.
    Other series have been cut violently too short,by no fault of the poor author.
    So for authors like Feehan to be able to keep whipping the poor dead, and now decomposed horse, to me, makes absolutely no sense :/

    • kaleigha says:

      That is part of what makes me sound like a moron sometimes. I lament when a series ends, but find it just as hard when they go on too long. Or rather, longer than they should. I will be very sad when Kelley Armstrong wraps up her Cainsville series at book 5 (it will be a dark day), but I would rather have 5 great books than 10 that started to feel like filler.

      • Em says:

        It’s not moronic. Sometimes it’s better to grieve a great series that ends well, than to rage over a cash cow series that just won’t die already

        • kaleigha says:

          That is what makes me wonder about the switch of the Lords of the Underworld to hardcover at this stage in the game. If anything, it should be wrapping up in less than half a dozen books, but the switch in format makes me think that more Lords will conveniently be found soon. Sigh.

          • Em says:

            I dread to think what will happen next.
            I think I’ll stick to the only two long running series, I’m currently reading. BDB & Anita Blake.
            Shoudl have bough them on Kindle, coming out in Hardcover when I have all the previous in Paperback, not a happy bunny *sighs/

            • kaleigha says:

              The only good thing about the LotU hardback is that it is about $10 cheaper than most hardbacks I have seen around lately. Not sure why, though.

  4. pals20 says:

    17 Alpha bikers??? I’ve heard of sequel bait, but this is ridiculous. Also, aren’t Alphas by definition top dogs and natural born leaders… And Bikers to boot?? Insane stuff.

    Can you imagine what their training must’ve been like? Someone should write a book about this – I would buy the crap out of such a book.

    • kaleigha says:

      Yep – if you throw in the Prakenskii brothers, that will be 24 Russian Alphas in Sea Haven. The little bits we have seen of the training the boys went through makes you wonder how anyone would come through with any form of sanity, that’s for sure.

    • kaleigha says:

      Viktor said he and “the boys” have a plan – God knows what that is, but they won’t be fit for a public life. I wonder if they won’t buy that land that was up in the mountains that the cult had, or something like that. Not sure how they would support themselves, or maybe they have money already?

  5. snapdragon says:

    I just want to see the team building exercises that they are going to have to do to get used to living in a smallish town. Preferably without T-shirts, involving water and or mud puddles.

  6. serepink says:

    This is hilarious. I think this is one of the reasons I wont pick up any of of her other books. I am stuck with the Ghostwalkers and Leopard series so far and thats all I am willing to give her…. sigh
    Then again even those I only buy after months of them being out and save them for when I have nothing on the horizon.

    Sere

    • kaleigha says:

      You are lucky you didn’t get hooked on the Dark series, since there are about 10 million of those at this point.

      • Sam says:

        The DARK series is about to release #30..and there are still sooooo many Carpathian men without mates…and Christine keeps finding more ancients without mates…look at the Monastery where Gary is now in charge.

        • kaleigha says:

          God, I didn’t pick up the last one, but the first time I heard monastery, I thought “uh oh, more ancients”.

  7. Becky Williams says:

    Thank you, I haven’t laugh so hard. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed reading your posts. I too am hooked on Christine’s books, so when those seventeen begin to make there appearance I will probably be purchasing them as well. Hmmm what’s a person to do?

    • Becky Williams says:

      Oh by the way, I have all of her Dark series, Ghostwalker series, Drake Sisters, Leopard, and Sisters of the heart series that have been written. I think I need help or am I a sucker :).

  8. Haylo says:

    Maybe I read it wrong, but weren’t some of the 17 women? I thought I read 17 men and women. So presumably some of them will mate with each other? Otherwise where in the hell is she going to come up with 17 psychic women to match them? Or maybe their mates don’t have to be psychic…It’s all too much lol.

    I didn’t read the last Carpathian book yet so I think i’m starting to get to a point with her. It’s wild how some people; like JD Robb, can have 40 books and each one is still fresh. But with Feehan, I don’t think she can pull it off. Many of the Dark books are all but interchangeable at this point.

Leave a Reply

