So, What’s Going On?

Yes, I was totally just rewatching that scene from Sense8 where they all start singing the 4 Non Blondes song and felt the need to start belting out “what’s going on” I think it is called What’s Up, but What’s Going On works better for me. So, what’s going on? There aren’t any new series starting up this week, and like last week I thought I would again do something a bit different. But instead of looking into what new series you have been enjoying, I thought we could look at what series you follow that have just sort of…stopped, leaving you waiting for the next book that never seems to come. Or is promised to come – someday.

Mine is actually from Shana Abe. I was really hit or miss on her Drakon series – loved some, totally didn’t dig others. It was really weird, actually. I haven’t had that type of reaction to any other series that I remember. Of course, there have been times when I haven’t liked a certain installment in a series as much as some of the others, but not from one extreme to the other and back again in the course of five books. But what I did love was her young adult spin-off The Sweetest Dark books. The setting, the writing, the characters – loved it all. What I am not loving so much? The endless wait for the third book, which has been in limbo for, oh, about three years now, with no end in sight. I do know it is supposed to be in progress, but no clue on when. I keep looking for info, but no luck so far. I understand that things happen, but I think it is the lack of updates that bugs me the most. Or maybe I am just too demanding?

That one is probably the worst for me, but there are other series that seem to have just died off somehow. Like has anyone heard anything about the Downside Ghosts series from Stacia Kane? I haven’t started that one yet, but I have heard such good things about it I am really looking forward to diving in – but there hasn’t been any news about it for ages. Ditto Dani Harper‘s Changeling series and Coreene Callahan‘s Dragonfury books. I keep looking for info, but no luck.

What book has kept you in limbo the longest? What series do you follow that has just sort of gone into indefinite hiatus? How long do you wait before you just lose hope and move on?

22 thoughts on “So, What’s Going On?

  1. Ezinwanyi says:

    Stacia Kane’s Downside Ghost and JA Saare’s Rhiannon’s Law have kept me waiting the longest. When the new book comes, I am not even sure I will read them. I don’t trust the authors to continue to I’ve decided not to invest anymore money or energy there.
    But I really did love those series. I wouldn’t have started them if I knew they would be in limbo like this

    • kaleigha says:

      So it wasn’t just me that found that the Downside Ghosts lack of action weird? There was a consistent history of publication, then…nada. I haven’t heard of Rhiannon’s Law, though. I must look into that one.

  2. Monika says:

    There are two series on which I have given up all hope. One is Ann Maxwell’s (Elizabeth Lowell’s) Dancer series written in 1982-1983. It’s kind of a sci-fi series and there are three books in what looked to be the beginning of a longer series, but she just stopped writing more books in the series, though at the time they were very thought after. Used to be you had to pay $100 for an out-of-print book for this series.
    The other is Rebecca Brandewyne’s Chronicles of Tintagel, which was supposed to be a trilogy, but she just ever wrote the first two books in 1988 and 1991. Though it’s classified as a historical on Amazon, it has strong elements of fantasy and sci-fi. I checked for many years whether she was going to finish the series; in 2001 she was still talking about writing the third book, but now even her website is down and her last book came out in 2009…

    • kaleigha says:

      Holy crap, you blow my 3 years wait time right out of the water! And after that long, it makes you wonder if the author is even still writing at all.

  3. barbara says:

    Coreene Callahan’s latest entry in her Dragonfury series was a bit of a scam ( for me, that’s it) but I am pretty sure she is writing the next book (at least according her fb page).
    I am still waiting for the last book by Lydia Dare: according to their joined website “they are writing it”… but that was dated Novembre 2012…soooo I really doubt we’ll ever see it.

    • kaleigha says:

      I didn’t even know there was a latest entry until after it had already come out – damn self pubbing, they are so hard to keep track of when the book just appears for sale one day. Drives me nuts. I haven’t seen anything from Lydia Dare in ages, either, now that you mention it. There was a ton of books over a relatively short period of time, then just…nothing. Weird.

  4. cheryl says:

    Oh, I feel your pain. Sometimes I wonder why I even wait.
    PJ Tracy and her Monkeewrench series… it takes her an average of 2-4 yrs to get a new one out. Drives me insane. How can you even make a living taking that long to get a new release out. I know, I know… I am just a reader not the writer.
    Amy Lane and her Little Goddess series… the last book … the ending was the h was expecting twins… they should be 2nd Graders by now in reality. Now the author did respond with an email query by me with the hopes of the new book (already written) to be released in 2017. Now take into consideration that the last book was written in 2010. Do I give up or just dream up my own ending?

    • kaleigha says:

      I cringed when a lot of authors all started the book-a-year thing for the series that I follow, but I can live with it. Maybe not gracefully, but I can do it. More than that, though? I get antsy. Like you say, how can you make a living on a book every few years? The something like almost 3 years in between Ghostwalker books was horrible enough, but 2010 is over the top. At least you got an answer back – I think the lack of info makes me more annoyed than the wait time.

  5. Monika says:

    The problem is also when authors keep adding new series to their work. I really love both of Nalini Singh’s PNR/UF series, so I was not at all keen when she announced she would try something else, her “rock” series. I liked it more than expected, actually, but I still feel it’s not quite up to the same level of excellence as her Psy/Changeling and Guild Hunter series.
    Feehan also keeps adding series (nobody knows when she is going to write all the books she has planned). Before I completely stopped reading her I was upset by the way her main series (Carpathian, Leopard, Ghostwalker) seemed to converge in tone and characters until you couldn’t distinguish a Leopard alpha-asshole from a Carpathian control freak and all women turned into doormats as soon as said assholes laid eyes on them

    • kaleigha says:

      Yep, the Feehan’s seemed to be a one-note feel no matter what the series (except the Sisters of the Heart, which has stayed pretty true to the original feel). At least now she is back to the one-book-per-series-per-year schedule, but for a while the long wait times for anything other than Carpathians was a pain.

      • Jill says:

        I am currently reading Fire Bound by Feehan and I am still disappointed. I have felt like giving up on her for a couple years now but still get suckered into buying them but they just aren’t doing it for me anymore. Too much repetition in everything. I used to love her books but not so much anymore . I think it is time to give up. Totally get where you are coming from.

        • kaleigha says:

          I haven’t hit the give-up point yet, but I do still hope for a return to the “old” Feehan style. The repetition is getting old (and, honestly, the short and choppy endlessly descriptive sentences are, too). Although I am proud of myself that I haven’t given in and bought the last Carpathian book – waiting for that one in the bargain bin, since a) I loathed whatsername’s character and b) heard things that I am not a big fan of about the book. The only reason I will one day get it is to see if any new ancients pop up. You know, the most deadly and dangerous ancient of them all. Until the next one, who is then the most deadly and dangerous of them all. It does make me laugh, though.

  6. snapdragon says:

    Kristen Britian’s Green Rider Series — I just found out that Book 6 is coming out in just over 280 days. It takes her about 2-3 years per book and than it is over a year until it goes to trade than mass paperback after that. Mirror Sight (book 5) just came out in paperback a year ago. A really good series, book 5 was meh for me but I am hopeful for book 6.

    Stacia Kane — I tried to read the first book and I could not get past the main character being addicted to drugs. It completely ruined the book for me.

      • kaleigha says:

        Uh, I might be able to handle the drugs, depending on how it works in the story, but not sure about the hook-ups with someone else. That doesn’t usually work for me.

  7. pals20 says:

    I know that some authors stop writing a series because of lack of sales.

    Some authors like Shiloh Walker do freely talk about it. She had to stop writing her Grimm series (I think) due to lack of sales. But most of them probably choose not to talk about it. Which I kinda get, it’s the worst possible reason to discontinue a series – that you’re not able to make a living and your writing is not good enough . The readers who like the series unfortunately feel short-changed.

    • kaleigha says:

      You know, that one always makes me sad, and it is one reason I am so anti-piracy. It shortchanges not just the authors, who deserve to be compensated for their work, but it also can affect our enjoyment of great series.

      I was starting to get a bit down over Gena Showalter wrapping up her contract with one of her publishers which left her Alien Huntress and Otherworld Assassin series hanging, but I am so grateful that she is publishing a novella to wrap it up it is pathetic. Once I get my hands on that, I will be happy, and I appreciate her not just letting it die.

  8. Haylo says:

    C.L. Wilson is one of the worse for me. She was supposed to follow up the Fading Lands series with Bel’s book, but it never happened. Instead she started a new series, which was really good. But now the second book of that series has also been pushed back. Total frustration.

    The biggest one for me ever though was Dara Joy. At the time of her PNR series for the cat guys I didn’t think that there was anything similar out there. Then she also had another book written in a world where men were treated like the biddable virgins and women were in power. She had some huge blowout with her publishers and once she started writing again she went self pub and I couldn’t back in to her series. It’s a shame.

    • kaleigha says:

      Yeah, the CL Wilson thing was hard, mostly because it wasn’t just one book that was majorly delayed or pushed back. It was pretty much all of them. I think when I started reading hers the first couple of the Fading Lands books were out and I loved them. But the wait-pushback-wait-silence was hard. I do appreciate things happen in real life, but it was over and over. And over. Book after book. I finally gave up.

      I haven’t read Dara Joy, but I have heard of her work, but I am weird when an author goes self-pubbed, I admit it. I want them to do well, be successful and productive, but it always feels like there is a shift, somehow, something that I can’t quite put my finger on, but things never feel the same. Like I am wondering about how Thea Harrison’s Elder Races will work out now she is going the self-pubbed route. If I could actually find out any info about what is going on, that is.

Leave a Reply

