Reading Wrap Up

american-english-idioms-book-with-wordsHey everyone, it has been a few days since last check in. It looks like Nalini Singh‘s Allegiance of Honor is going to be the big book for June (like that was a surprise), but I thought it would be a good time to take a look at what we have already read.

I finished up another In Death book by J.D. Robb, Rapture in Death (did I mentioned I am trying to memorize the titles in order as I read them? It will be fun to see how far I get before they all blur together). I am only four books in, but so far I find myself enjoying each new one more than the last. When a series is that darn long, you have to figure that things will get old and feel recycled after a while, but for some reason I have the feeling that I won’t get tired of this one at all.

And for something a little different, I picked up a non PNR UF book (gasp! Shocked myself with that one). Alexandra Ivy started her new romantic suspense ARES series at the end of last year with the release of Kill Without Mercy, and I finally got around to picking it up. I have to say, I really enjoyed it. Hero was Alpha but didn’t fall into Alpha-hole territory, and the heroine was troubled by her past but not a complete wimp/doormat. Lots of action, some suspense, and great supporting characters, too. I even Kindled the All He Wants for Christmas e-collection so I could check out the series prequel novella, Sweet Rapture, which I liked, as well. I have only tried one other story, which didn’t really grab my attention, but there are still a few more to go.

That, sadly, wraps up my reading this week. What have you been reading lately? Any hidden jems to share?

12 thoughts on “Reading Wrap Up

  1. Lydia says:

    a co-worker is the one that let me know that Nora Roberts was also J D Robb; I told her that Nora Roberts was not my cup of tea, but she encouraged me to try her In Death Books. That was over 10 years ago and I am still hooked. The funny thing is that I remember every single book; nothing is jumbled in my head and I love and look forward to each new one.

    • kaleigha says:

      Yeah, I read a couple of Nora Roberts books and they didn’t do it for me, either, which was why I was meh on trying the In Death books. Glad I bit the bullet, though.

  2. Barb says:

    In Death is a wonderful series, which is my top two favorite series. The other is Naloni Singh. The first few books are good, but it gets so much better after she marries Roarke, and Peabody becomes part of her team. Between Summerset and Peabody, they add the humor into most of the intense story. Over the 40 plus books Eve evolves so much. I love her and Roarke, who is the best and sexiest male literary character. You are in for a fantastic ride, that just keeps getting better.

    As for Nora, I love her trilogies. They are mostly great.

    • kaleigha says:

      Peabody has only been in for the last couple of books, but she is fun. I love the dry, almost bland sense of humor. And Summerset and Eve make me laugh every time. I am loving Roarke, too – there is just enough of him to get my fix and still leave you wanting more. Lots more.

  3. Shannon says:

    I am with you on the JD Robb books! I really like those, although I find her Nora Roberts books hit or miss for me. I just read NR’s recent release, ‘The Obsession’ and really enjoyed it. I also loved ‘The Search’ and ‘The Witness.’

    We’ve had a bit of a dry spell with UF releases, so I have been reading some romantic suspense. I just came across Karen Rose, who I had not tried before but am really enjoying. ‘Scream for Me’ and ‘I’m Watching You’ were two of my favs, but most of them are in the good to great category for me. She has about 20 books published, so I am surprised it took me so long to find her.

    I am looking forward to Nalini Singh’s upcoming release!

    • kaleigha says:

      Just last night I was starting to do some looking into romantic suspense books since I enjoyed Kill Without Mercy so much. I saw Karen Rose, but didn’t check her out even though she does have a big backlist. I will definitely take a peek now.

  4. bfmason50 says:

    Well it has been a busy week or two for me as a listener to book series I listen to A LOT of books. As I do my pizza delivery job and play video games at home when I have free time. I listen to books not play music. This week I finished listening to Mercy Thompson and the Alpha and Omega series. I enjoy the strong female characters in this series Mercy and then the Omega Anna.

    For something different I am about halfway through listening to The Last Templar by Raymond Khoury, which I would call a Historical Fiction type book centered around a robbery heist at the New York Met (museum). Where four riders on horseback dressed up as Knight Templars from the time of the Crusades. Ride their horses into the opening night of a Vatican exhibit where one of the riders takes 16th Century object with mystery. It has been a interesting book with a lot of intrigue between the FBI, Catholic church, and a witness to the crime a female archaeologist.

    After I finish the Last Templar series I am debating between starting either Chloe Neill’s Chicagoland Vampires or Jane Yellowrock by Faith Hunter. Since I am a “Libra” born in the end of September I have a HARD time making decisions like this so I am not sure yet which one I will choose. I often time when at restaurants I have to ask my wife or mom what I am in the mood to eat.

    • kaleigha says:

      I actually started with the Alpha and Omega books before the Mercy books, but I really do enjoy them both. I would love to see the world expand even more than the upcoming Moira book and maybe focus a few stories on Ben, or maybe Sam. I would love a book about Bran, but that probably won’t happen anytime soon, if ever. Sigh.

      For me, The Chicagoland books aren’t bad, but they aren’t a top favorite either. I enjoy them when I read them, but I don’t do a countdown for the next book, if you know what I mean. I am weird on the Jane Yellowrock books, though. They have absolutely everything to make me like them, but I have a hard time getting into them. I think it is because I like a defined romantic interest, not a cast of several that could be “the one”. Throws me off a bit.

  5. Amy says:

    I just finished Armentrout’s newest, The Problem with Forever. While I did like it, I don’t think I would classify it as one of my favorites.

    I also used my Kindle Unlimited subscription to read Jasmine Walt’s Baine Chronicles series. I really enjoyed those since I love me a good slow-burning romance.

  6. CC says:

    I also enjoy the Robb books. My mom can’t read anymore but she listens to lots of books. We are taking turns buying the series in mp3, even though we read them years ago. There is so much I forgot, it’s fun to revisit the series.

    I just finished listening to 3 books by Tina Whittle. Mainly because they are read by Renee Raudman, who does Ilona Andrews books. My library(overdrive) had two of them and the first was free on kindle. I picked up The Dangerous Edge of Things free then bought the Whispersync copy. I’m on the list for number 4 then will buy 5.

  7. Monika says:

    As I haven’t managed to lay my hands on a an ARC for Allegiance of Honor that is the book I look forward to most in June and as it is pretty long it will hold me for like two days 😉 .
    I liked many of the earlier books of Nora Roberts, but I LOVE her in Death series. I think part of the reason that they are still so great after so many installments are the great supporting characters and the fact that all the characters continue to grow, though lately Eve sometimes got on my nerves by yet forgetting about another social function of Roark’s that she sort of promised to attend, but then there is always another murder…
    I love Jane Yellowrock and for all those who persevere, she finally gets laid in book 8 (Broken Soul). My problem was not so much the multiple love interests, but that she was thinking about getting laid all the time and not getting any…
    At the moment I am completely hooked on Elizabeth Hunter’s Elemental series; it’s really outstanding. The only problem I see is that book 1 (A Hidden Fire, which is free on Amazon Kindle), is kind of slow moving and can’t quite decide whether it wants to be PNR or a campus novel. But from the second book the pace really picks up and there are mystery, political maneuvering, great battles, heartache and emotional turmoil. What I particularly like about the series is also how different each of the couples are so that you don’t get the problem as with some authors that you cannot keep them apart because they are just all the same über-alpha…

    • kaleigha says:

      Ah, yes. Allegiance of Honor – I will be doing my re-read soon, which is awesome. Actually, you said very well what throws me about Jane Yellowrock – it was the “what about him? Oooh, maybe him?” aspect. I don’t know where to focus my interest when that happens. I have never heard anything but good things about Elizabeth Hunter’s writing, either. Looking forward to getting into her work.

Leave a Reply

