So, Are You Ready For Hugh?

For a while now, I have heard talk about Ilona Andrews writing a book about Hugh D’Ambray. Or rather, I heard whispers of rumors of a book about Hugh. And I took it as just that…a rumor. Turns out that the rumors are true, and it looks like a Hugh book is in progress as we speak. As in, being written. With real words. Now. Wow, ok. Deep breath. If you would like to check out a brief snippet, it can be found HERE.

As I was reading the snippet, I kept thinking “is this Hugh? Nah, can’t be. But…not Innkeeper, not Hidden Legacy…must be KD. Nah, can’t be…Hugh?” I actually made a weird squeaky noise when I realized it was indeed baby Hugh. And I am pretty sure I am not alone.

We all know this will be epic, but it going to be a monster task to try and redeem Hugh. Personally, I loved him (and hated him, but whatever), and I can’t wait to see what makes him tick, how he is when not under Roland’s control, and how what he has done in the name of Sharrim affects him after he is “free”.

The only other series I have read where the “big bad” was given his own story is Kresley Cole‘s Immortals After Dark. Lothaire was awesome, and I so enjoyed getting to know the backstory of why he did the things he did that it became one of my favorites of the whole IAD series. I really can’t wait to see how Ilona handles things.

So, who else is ready for Hugh? What direction do you see his story going? Personally, I have no idea, other than it will be great. Have you followed any other series where the decidedly bad boy (or girl) gets a story of their own?

16 thoughts on “So, Are You Ready For Hugh?

  1. bfmason50 says:

    I am at about 50% sure it is going to be a story where he is not redeemed. It could be a anti-hero novel where without the help of Roland he will try to get his revenge on Curran for he has been beaten 2 times. If Hugh is salvaged some how I wonder if he will get a female. How weird would it be if Hugh somehow becomes connected with Desandra? She seems like the only female character in the KD world that could relate to him.

  2. Emma says:

    I’m not sure how I feel about Hugh getting his own story.
    It feels a little hinky, that’s not to say that I won’t be reading it, but he’s done so much damage to Kate and her family that I just don’t see him as being redeemable.

    As for reading a book about a bad boy getting his own story. I read Larissa Ione The Demonica books. Several books/Novellas have been about “Bad Guys” or Antiheros

    • kaleigha says:

      It will definitely be interesting, that’s for sure. I can’t quite even picture what will happen if Curran gets another shot at him. Or Derek, for that matter.

      • Emma says:

        I suppose it has to depend on how Ilona and Andrew write it.
        I mean to say, Roland did send Hugh away and he did say he had punished him. I can’t quite recall if he said what he had done to him. So I can’t say for sure if that may have something to do with it

  3. Monika says:

    I have to say that even though I agree that Hugh has heaped world of hurt on Kate and her family, if anybody can redeem Hugh than it is Ilona Andrews. Ever since they pulled the fake cover and blurb as an April’s fool joke I have been secretely wishing for Hugh’s story. And the beginning is promising, I already feel sorry for him.
    One of my favorite bad guy turned hero stories is Feehan’s Dark Slayer. The way she showed how Razvan was actually forced to do all the horrible things he did and how he was finally redeemed was very moving and emotional. Actually Razvan’s book turned out to be one of my favorite stories in the Carpathian series.
    And if you want, Kaleb is also kind of a questionable character (after all, he was the albeit reluctant apprentice of a serial killer) that turned into a hero, although he hever was really bad, though it seems he has done some terrible things in his single-minded quest for Sahara… but then, who doesn’t love a tortured hero 🙂

    • kaleigha says:

      I knew there was something behind the scenes when the “book” was first announced. I didn’t get the whole story, but I do remember that there was infighting in the fandom and Ilona was not amused. It is funny that a real book would come from that situation. I had forgotten about Razvan, actually. Getting his backstory definitely made all the difference, didn’t it? And Kaleb is so a favorite it isn’t even funny.

  4. Redbutterfly says:

    I’m with you there K., I have a love/hate relationship with Hugh too lol. I have to confess it took me a while to know the snippet was about Hugh, only when I read this part that I connected the dots: “The man was golden and burning with magic, so much magic, he almost glowed.”
    Then I was like: “OMG, THIS. IS. ABOUT. HUGH. *screams, runs and throws confetti*

    I’m pretty sure this is going to be epic and I can’t wait to read it ^_^

  5. PhoenixFyre says:

    My bad-boy is Stryker from Dark-Hunter’s. He Is a bad-ass but with honor. The Daimons think he is old-fashioned for living by a code-of-honor however. But he will never torture his prey. He feels the Dark-Hunters deserve to die as the warriors they are.

    He also has a back-story that is sad and his ex-wife is as bad as him. What a wild ride between those two.

  6. Libraria Booker says:

    I think that the only way Hugh can be redeemed is if he plays a significant role in helping Kate and Curran defeat Roland; however, I doubt this will happen, since K and C’s fate will be determined in book 10 and Hugh is going to have his own book, so it doesn’t seem likely. Aside from that, I don’t see how such a bloodthirsty, conscienceless person can be redeemed. He’d have to suffer enormously over what he’s done to people over the years in order to even come close.

Leave a Reply

