Spotlight Wednesday – Amanda Bouchet

Well, for something a little different, today’s spotlight Wednesday author is one who is recommended by…me. Yep, I am jumping in with a completely blind rec for a debut author, Amanda Bouchet, and her Kingmaker Chronicles.

It was on one of my updating binges that I came across the cover for A Promise of Fire, and while it was pretty it was the glowing author blurb from Darynda Jones that made me take a second look. A little bit of independent digging has turned up pretty much stellar reviews across the board for this fantasy romance, with one Goodreads reviewer even putting it in the league of an Ilona Andrews story. High praise indeed. I am not usually huge on the fantasy stories, but I will be picking this one up for sure. If you would like to check out an excerpt, one can be found HERE.

a breath of fireSynopsis…

Catalia “Cat” Fisa is a powerful clairvoyant known as the Kingmaker. This smart-mouthed soothsayer has no interest in her powers and would much rather fly under the radar, far from the clutches of her homicidal mother. But when an ambitious warlord captures her, she may not have a choice…

Griffin is intent on bringing peace to his newly conquered realm in the magic-deprived south. When he discovers Cat is the Kingmaker, he abducts her. But Cat will do everything in her power to avoid her dangerous destiny and battle her captor at every turn. Although up for the battle, Griffin would prefer for Cat to help his people willingly, and he’s ready to do whatever it takes to coax her…even if that means falling in love with her.

There will be at least two more books in the Kingmaker Chronicles series, as well. Breath of Fire will be out on January 3rd, and Heart on Fire will follow later in 2017.

amanda bouchetAbout Amanda Bouchet: Amanda Bouchet grew up in New England where she spent much of her time tromping around in the woods and making up grand adventures in her head. It was inevitable that one day she would start writing them down. Drawing on her Greek heritage for the setting and on her love of all things daring and romantic for the rest, her debut trilogy, The Kingmaker Chronicles, took form. She writes what she loves to read: epic exploits, steamy romance, and characters that make you laugh and cry.

Has anyone picked up one of the ARCs for A Promise of Fire yet? How big are you on the Fantasy Romance genre?

10 thoughts on “Spotlight Wednesday – Amanda Bouchet

  1. snapdragon says:

    I think I will be having to add it to the pile…I was getting flashes of Warprize there for a moment, and I really enjoyed those books.

    • cheryl says:

      I loved the trilogy of books in the world of Warprize by Elizabeth Vaughn? … hey bought them in Paperback way back when.. on my keeper shelf somewhere. This is going to my wishlist… too bad it doesn’t come out for awhile.

      • snapdragon says:

        Exactly! But there was actually 4 books in that series – Warprize, Warsworn, Warlord and Warcry was the final in that series (I believe that it was the weakest of the books myself, the others were really wonderful.)

  2. Jean says:

    I ordered it. I’ve thought about trying to find the books certain authors recommend like Darynda Jones and Ilonna Andrews. Might be a good way to find some new reads.

    • kaleigha says:

      That catches my eye right off, when a favorite author raves about a book…Nalini, Darynda, Ilona, that whole gang can make me buy a book pretty easily.

  3. renpuspita says:

    I have this one after request it on NetGalley. The first POV kinda taken me aback, because for me, fantasy work better if told from 3rd POV. But let see if the book deserve its praises or not

  4. Monika says:

    OK, I got an ARC from Netgalley, and though it is a debut novel, it is actually pretty amazing. Maybe not quite perfect, but I was completey enthralled and couldn’t put it down, working on the review now…

    • kaleigha says:

      For some reason, I got a really good vibe about this one. It was weird, all things considered. Glad I wasn’t completely wrong!

Leave a Reply

