Allegiance of Honor Review

So, the countdown is now on for the release of Nalini Singh‘s Allegiance of Honor, the epic ensemble Psy/Changeling book due out on June 14th. Doug Meeks sent over his early review, and as one who was lucky enough to also get an ARC, I can say I completely agree.

Allegiance of Honor_MediumWhat Doug said…

I have been trying for the last couple of years to be a bit more stingy with my 5 Star ratings since giving a book that I enjoyed but was really 4 Stars a higher rating cheats those actual 5 Star novels but this is not one of those times.
Nalini Singh has crafted a novel here that is kind of a “catch up with everyone” that we have been introduced to over the life of this 15 book series (and countless novellas and short stories) but in spite of all the catching up we are allowed to do there are at least 4 or more major plot lines and she will solve a couple in this novel and make progress on others while leaving us some hooks for the next book but never anything that looks like a cliff-hanger.

We have a kidnapping to prevent, a kidnap victim to save, a worldwide catastrophe to prevent and a lost love to try and find and some will get fixed in this book and some won’t but the main thing about this book and most of her books IMHO is that when you finish you are happy, it is a warm feeling that she conveys to her readers that even with conflict and occasional violence these are huge romances at the heart of these novels.

This may be a first in that there is no couple in this story as much as it is a strengthening of the couples we have already met and some major movement in the overarching story-lines of this series plus the introduction of a couple of people who might play some major parts down the line.

When I read this book it kind of had a sad undercurrent since it seems things are starting to come to fruition and I wonder if the end is in sight, I have no read anything about an end to the series but I worry when too many people seem happy in any series, my own personal paranoia when the writing is of such high quality that you feel like you are a silent part of the family. Only the very best of stories can do that in my experience.

Bottom Line: Exceptional (fill in the blank with required superlatives) and while it might not be as engrossing in places as some other books, it is a bit different than previous novels in this series. Anything less than 5 Stars would be an insult in my way of thinking, you can always figure out how good a book is by how badly you want it to kust keep on going, I never want these books to end.

Ok, I am not even going to ask who is interested in picking this one up, because…duh. But I will say happy reading!

10 thoughts on “Allegiance of Honor Review

  1. Shira says:

    I agree, too.
    I won an ARC (miraculously) in the contest at her website last month and I’ve read it.
    It was a really good way to catch up on everyone and be introduced to some characters who may have their own books in the future.
    If it takes as long for the identity of the Architect to be revealed as it did for the Ghost, maybe we’ll have at least 8 more books?
    Anyway, I hope Nalini will continue to write until she’s 90 like she says!

      • Shira says:

        I think the one suggested in this book is too obvious. She always keeps us guessing but never to be sure until the last minute, like we finally knew for sure who the Ghost was in Tangle of Need, and like the pupcubs.

  2. Monika says:

    Great review as always, Doug! The story about the lost love: is that by any chance Father Perez’ story?
    I am starting to feel a little smug because as opposed to all the people who got an ARC I still have this great book in front of me and now it’s not too far off 😉

  3. dougmeeks says:

    I hate reading my reviews after they have been published and see errors like this “want it to kust keep on going”, I need to do a better job of proof reading my own stuff.

    • kaleigha says:

      It is annoying, I know when I make a post and see a glaring error it bugs me to no end. But I also hate proof-reading, so it is a no-win situation.

  4. bfmason50 says:

    On the website vampirebookclub.net their is a vote for the Apha Championship between Kate Daniels and Kane Malloy. Where there is a chance to win the following:
    “Participating in the Alpha Showdown is all about fun, and free books equal fun, right? We hope you’ll find lots of great new reads during this year’s Alpha Showdown, and to help that along, we’re giving away some stellar reads.

    For the championship round, we needed an championship-level prize. So how about an ARC of Nalini Singh’s Allegiance on Honor?”

    I voted for Kate Daniels since I am a avid Ilona Andrews fan. If you would like to vote you can do it at the following link. http://vampirebookclub.net/alpha-showdown-2016-championship-kane-malloy-vs-kate-daniels/

    I hope it is appropriate to post this contest on your website. If it was not please just delete the post Kaleigha. Last year I did win on one of the random contests for Alpha Showdown where, I received copies of BURN FOR ME (signed by Ilona Andrews), COLD BURN OF MAGIC (signed by Jennifer Estep), ACROSS A STAR-SWEPT SEA (signed by Diana Peterfreund), INCARNATE (signed by Jodi Meadows) and UNDEAD AND UNSURE.

    • kaleigha says:

      Nope, I don’t mind at all. I actually headed over to vote, too. I was surprised to see Kate wasn’t in the lead, but then I haven’t read any of the other books. Yet. You got lucky last year for sure!

      • bfmason50 says:

        I am not completely surprised watching the votes for the entire competition Kane has been getting major votes. Which has been helped that the author of the series has posted on her front page that links up with the voting. While at the same time, Ilona and Gordon are on vacation so their site has been pretty quiet. I hope Kate wins but it is not looking good!

Leave a Reply

