Allegiance of Honor Spoiler Talk

Allegiance of Honor_MediumSo, it has been a solid week since Nalini Singh‘s Allegiance of Honor was released, and I thought that maybe you all would like a place to discuss. I read mine early, since I was kindly sent an ARC a while back, and I had a hard time keeping some details to myself.

Like I said…Spoilers…

There wasn’t much I didn’t like, I have to be honest, but that is to be expected. But if I had to choose my favorite parts of the book, I would have to go with the developments regarding Silver Mercant and Pax Marshall, who reminds me of a baby Kaleb (which is a very, very good thing). Both of those characters interested me in their previous appearances, but I found in this one I can really see their stories taking off. Maybe together? I would like that, I think. Plus, the deeper look we got into BlackSea got me much more interested in this pack. I was a bit meh before, but now I can honestly say I am looking forward to a water-changeling story or two. But not before Remy and his pack, ok?

One of my absolute favorite moments was really quite a small thing in the overall scope of the book, but it seems like I had been waiting for it forever. I was so happy when Annie finally met Kaleb and realized he had been the one to save her so many years ago, and finally got to thank him for what he did. I kept reading that part over and over, it made me so happy.

What did you think? Were you happy with not only a look back at previous couples, but the development of future storylines? What little moments made the story for you? Do you see Silver and Pax as a couple, or heading in two different directions?

16 thoughts on “Allegiance of Honor Spoiler Talk

  1. Monika says:

    I hope you don’t hate me, but I am of two minds about Allegiance of Honor: in a way I loved it, loved meeting all the known characters and I love how all the characters interconnect, for instance, we finally get to meet Isaac Beauclair who is Jessie’s husband (Jessie is the truck driver who helped Katya). I loved the glimpses of Remie, so once again there was too little of him; he needs to get his own story soon. I also loved that Annie got to meet Kaleb and that he sort of was an attraction at the party; it’s so nice that he was invited, even for very pragmatic reasons (since he can lock onto faces, there is no point in not inviting him for security reasons).
    I loved all the glimpses we get of BlackSea, but now we will need Miane and Malachai’s story, too. And I liked that Samuel Rain continues to try to get a bionic arm for Vasic (and that Vasic indulges him).
    If I would criticize anything – although it is also what I love about the book – its that with all the stuff going on and no central pair it maybe lacked a little focus; it was only loosely held together by the search for Leila Savea. The only story lines that got resolved were that she was freed (so many other water changelings still remain missing) and we finally got a happy ending for Xavier and his Nina. But many more questions are raised than answered: we still don’t know the form of almost any of the water changelings, the relationship between Nikita and Anthony didn’t even advance as far as I thought it would, there is the urgent problem with Bo’s implant, Amara Aleine has been in the wings a long time, then there is Alice (will she ever regain her memories?), Silver need her own story, too and if all that weren’t enough, Nalini has thrown a new character into the mix with Pax Marshall, not to mention the architect and Ming LeBon is not dead yet either…

    • kaleigha says:

      Heh…no hate. I have seen others say the same thing in some of their reviews. There was a ton going on, that’s for sure, and I figure it is the start of a new arc so hopefully some of those questions will get answered soonish.

  2. dougmeeks says:

    What I liked was a lot of what many people disliked, seeing all the other couples. The thing for me is that I read SO many books each year it is hard to remember things that happened in the first books of many long running series like this and a book like this one helps revive all the old memories and “oh, yeah, I remember what happened there” type things. It helps make it fresh again for the next one and of course there will be a collection of stories in a couple of months that will do some more of the same along with a couple of new shorter stories called “Wild Embrace” due out 23 Aug but for some odd reason on 2 Aug is a release of another old story they are calling a novel (pretty such it is not) called “Secrets at Midnight” all of this in the Psy-Changeling world in the space of 2-3 months, which makes me wonder if we are about to see the end of this series in the not too distant future and the publisher is making a money grab??? Add it a new release on the Guild Hunter series which I love in November called “Archangel’s Heart” and we have a lot of Nalini Singh coming in this year (plus any more contemporary romance novels she decides to write)

    • kaleigha says:

      We are getting a flurry of Psy/Changeling stuff for the rest of the year, that’s for sure. She has been a busy gal.

  3. Maria says:

    I partly agree with all of you. As Dougmeeks says, I also had forgotten most of the couples, so it was good remembering. Also, I would have liked to see more plots developed, or at least further developed: Nikita and Anthony specially. It was a tad longer than I would have liked, but I understand that to review and connect all previous books she needed the words. All in all, I liked it, but I didn’t love it.

  4. Anthea says:

    I loved the book. For me the book opens new avenues/story lines. It kind of builds the anticipation for what is to come. My only complain, there was not enough (for me) of my FAV couple – Hawke and Sienna. I read their story whenever I have nothing else to read or just feel like reading it again. One of my favorite parts was the birth of the pupcubs and the fact that Hawke and Lucas could identify which pack they belonged to where even the parents could not. And then also the Kaleb and Annie tale. When I read Annie’s book i kind of linked Kaleb as the one who saved her. Nice to know I was right. Only complaint – I read it so quickly (could not put it down). No i have to wait FOREVER for the next installment.

  5. Andrea Cruz says:

    I’m decuardo you although the book revolves around a kidnapping and an attempted kidnapping, the story felt that revolved too much around Naya something I do not like as much, if it was that many people loved the book and me too, but there are aspects that do not; the parts that I loved was the story of Annie and Kaleb, dignified death of Zen Zie already necesitava reunited with his beloved and I also feel I feel that Pax Marshall will mate, lover Silver Mercant I would like this couple, I wish if , asks the author and he said something like not known, read XD, Lucas doubt he and his involvement in the kidnapping and saw the need for an empathetic, but the question is here Silver that designation is (refer to the author and do not know)? nobody knows. The closure of the story of Javier and Nina, book Remy, marine changing from black sea, many things to unravel and we aging, gaining one more year, jajajaja .

    • kaleigha says:

      I had actually forgotten about Zie Zen until I started my re-read. I am just at that part now, and it is still so sad. I am liking a Silver/Pax story, I have to admit, but both of them intrigue me a lot either way. I might be crazy, but for some reason I think Silver is a Telepath – not sure if I made that up, but it was always what I assumed.

  6. Charleen says:

    I really enjoyed this book, its rare to get to read – what happens after and this was a great way to know what has been going on when they are “just living their lives”.

    I loved that Annie realized who Kaleb was, he is turning out to be such a great person, I’m looking forward to his development into a real hero. I also can’t wait for Ming to get all that he deserves!

    I have a feeling that Pax will be the new version of the old Kaleb, hadn’t thought about Silver but that seems very possible. I know it will be great.

    This is such a superb series! It just keeps getting better!

    • kaleigha says:

      I would love to see Pax go the Kaleb route. Kaleb is/was a total favorite, but it would be great to see someone in the PsyNet be able to give him a run for his money.

Leave a Reply

