July’s Book of the Month

It seems like we get a really good release month (like June), then a…less that jam-packed one, like July. It was tricky to find 10 releases that I thought could be in the running for book of the month, to be honest, and if none of these grab you, you can just select “Other” and leave your choice in the comments section. A complete list of July’s releases can be found HERE.

I have to go with Evil Eye from Alyssa Day. I am surprised by just how much I am loving this paranormal-mystery series, even though it is very light on the romance as yet. They are quick, fun reads, and I seem to enjoy each one more than the last. And let’s be honest – Jack really does deserve his own HEA after getting basically squat in the Warriors of Poseidon series, right?

12 thoughts on “July’s Book of the Month

  1. Larissa Benoliel says:

    Imprudence by Gail Carriger
    Where the Wild Things Bite by Molly Harper
    Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J. K. Rowling

  2. Redbutterfly says:

    I voted for Keri Arthur – Flameouts

    BTW is C.L. Wilson – The Sea King really coming out this month? I thuoght it was pushed back

    PS: OMG I totally forgot that Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J. K. Rowling is coming out this month *dies*

  3. Jill says:

    Ok, HP has to be at the top of the list but I am also really looking forward to the second Bourbon Kings book, The Angels’ Share. JR Ward is such a brilliant author and I really enjoyed the first book (though not fantasy fiction ).

  4. pals20 says:

    J. K. Rowling – Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
    Alyssa Day – Evil Eye (Private Eye #3)
    Rachel Caine – Paper & Fire (The Great Library #2)
    Gail Carriger – Imprudence (The Custard Protocol #2)
    Nalini Singh – Rock Wedding (Rock #4)

  5. pals20 says:

    By the way, have you or anyone else read Rachel Caine’s Red Hot Rain. It’s the 10th book in a the Weather Warden series but I’ve heard very little about it. The blurb sounds kinda meh, but I would welcome any reader inputs.

    • kaleigha says:

      I haven’t tried any of the series yet, but to be honest I found the whole thing a bit on the weird side. I think there was a kickstarter or gofundme campain for…something…and this was the prize if a certain amount was reached?

  6. dougmeeks says:

    Well I can tell you that the only one you can almost be assured will be an exceptional reading is Elizabeth Hunter’s “The Staff and The Blade” IMHO which does not mean the rest are not good but few if any of these authors are as consistently outstanding as she is …. my 2 cents

  7. Monika says:

    I am surprised at how many votes the JAK release is getting, I didn’t realize she was this popular (by the readers of this blog). I like her too (and own most of the 200 or so books she has written), but I have felt that some of her couples/couple dynamics have become repetetive and I think I like her older work better (from the 90s).
    I have to go with Doug, though, and state that The Staff and the Blade is by far my most anticipated release this month. Can’t understand why Elizabeth Hunter is not more popular; her writing is so distinctive, with original world building, hauntingly beautiful love stories, great action and no two of her couples are the same, they all have very different stories and very individual couple dynamics. I promise, once you start reading either the Elemental series or Erin chronicles you won’t be able to stop until you have read every last story of those series!

Leave a Reply

