Book of the Month Update

grumpy_thumbs_downA few days ago, I went through the new release dates book by book and did a publication date check, which I do every month. As of Monday, everything was either good or switched around to where it should be, like Jeaniene Frost‘s next Night Prince book which had been pushed back to next February. Sounds good, right? Nope.

Thanks goes to Dee, who sent me over a message that, surprisingly precisely no one, C.L. Wilson‘s next book has been pushed back. So, if you were down for getting a copy of The Sea King on July 15th, you are out of luck. The really funny thing is that just two days ago, when I did my double-check, I actually said to myself “wow, looks like this one is going to be on time”. I don’t ever, EVER remember one that came out on release day, and I will probably get a few chastising messages about my snarky tone, but this is actually what made me give up on her books even though I really enjoyed them. I just got tired of the endless waits, delays, and lack of info.

I feel bad, because authors have lives too and I understand that things can happen, but every single book being pushed back and delayed isn’t great. So, are you disappointed, or did you see it coming? I really didn’t on this one, but I guess you just never know.

18 thoughts on “Book of the Month Update

  1. cheryl says:

    Sad to say but I can only hold out so long and give up. Unfortunately, she is not the only author I all but given up on. Two years between books for my “new” mystery author (mother/daughter team) and I know life got in the way for some of that … but that was the previous book. They never update their author page. Just drives me crazy. I am glad I never got into reading G.R.R. MARTIN of Game of Thrones fame… multiple years between new books for him.
    I would think if you want to keep a fan base you would have to have a pretty consistent flow of new material or you lose some buyers.

    • kaleigha says:

      I am pretty forgiving about long waits, even though I whine a little here and there, but the long and unexplained delays for every single book is just depressing. Not trying to make it sound like they owe us their life stories, but like Jeaniene Frost did, it doesn’t take much to say that stuff happened and this is the date. Sorry.

  2. bfmason50 says:

    I am a big Game of Thrones fan on the TV series. I have listened to the books but to be honest this is one of the cases where I enjoy the Movie/TV Series better then the actual books. The books are just way TOO LONG where he goes way OVERKILL in digging into the minuta. For example in one of the books it was like 10 minutes on the heraldry, and banners of all the different lords of a kingdom. I am just thankful that the series was not held back from continuing since now they are past where the books have left off.

    I understand that Mrs. Frost has had a very rough year in her personal life. There is a detailed post on her website explaining what has happened. In short she lost her Mother in the week between Christmas and the New Year. Then her dog gets very sick twice with extended trips and surgeries to vets. Moreover, her father then has a series of heart attacks and bypass surgeries. My thoughts and prayers go out to the Frost family.

    • kaleigha says:

      Exactly. Authors have lives too, and crap happens to us all. Hopefully she is all in the clear for a while, too, because on top of all the problems the delays would probably affect her income, as well.

  3. Dee says:

    Frost and Wilson, I love them both and when I get frustrated with the time frame and release of books I remind myself that writing is a job and above all else, family comes first. I rather be disappointed and a little frustrated about waiting on a book than to have a book that wasn’t up to the authors or reader standards. Am I disappointed, yes. Will I drop these fabulous authors, absolutely not! Knowing what J. Frost is going through….I think she needs our support more than ever.

    • kaleigha says:

      And Jeaniene is so good about updating and keeping people in the loop, too. She had a hell of a year, which sucks. I did give up on C.L. Wilson, though, I have to admit. There were a couple of behind the scenes interactions I had with her that made the decision a lot easier, though, even though the series was really good.

Leave a Reply

