Stephenie Meyer Announces New Book

As I was doing my daily check over at Hypable today, I saw that Twilight and The Host author Stephenie Meyer has announced a new book is coming our way on November 16th of this year. This time around, it is an adult action/thriller called The Chemist.

the chemist.jpgIn this gripping page-turner, an ex-agent on the run from her former employers must take one more case to clear her name and save her life.

She used to work for the U.S. government, but very few people ever knew that. An expert in her field, she was one of the darkest secrets of an agency so clandestine it doesn’t even have a name. And when they decided she was a liability, they came for her without warning.

Now she rarely stays in the same place or uses the same name for long. They’ve killed the only other person she trusted, but something she knows still poses a threat. They want her dead, and soon.

When her former handler offers her a way out, she realizes it’s her only chance to erase the giant target on her back. But it means taking one last job for her ex-employers. To her horror, the information she acquires only makes her situation more dangerous.

Resolving to meet the threat head-on, she prepares for the toughest fight of her life but finds herself falling for a man who can only complicate her likelihood of survival. As she sees her choices being rapidly whittled down, she must apply her unique talents in ways she never dreamed of.

Well. Interesting. I did read the first Twilight book, but never felt the need to pick up the other three after I watched the movies. In fact, I just got rid of all of them in my latest unhaul. But I did very much like The Host, and her adult sci-fi alien story makes me want to give this one a shot. Speaking of The Host, I have finally given up the ghost on the long-rumored two followup books, The Seeker and The Soul, so maybe this one can take their place.

Will you be giving this new one from Stephenie Meyer a try? I don’t know if it has a paranormal element to it, but it sounds like it could be fun. The author credited her love of Jason Bourne for the inspiration, which is never a bad thing. Another one to add to the list, it looks like.

11 thoughts on “Stephenie Meyer Announces New Book

  1. bfmason50 says:

    As posted in an earlier message I love the Host where Meyer did an amazing job in her telling of an invasion of aliens. I don’t know if I admit that I actually enjoyed the Twilight series will require me to loose my man card? I did enjoy the last book the most where little Reneseme stole the show of that book in my opinion.

    I will most likely give this book a chance!

    • kaleigha says:

      If it makes you feel any better, while I might’ve only read the first book, I did buy two complete sets…one the black hardcover, one the white special edition.

  2. Monika says:

    Sounds kind of intriguing! I also read only the first of the Twilight series and didn’t watch the movies (or rather, I tried to, but kept falling asleep). The Host was quite an extraordinary story, and I also discovered that Stephenie Meyer is the producer! of Austenland (an Austenmania movie I quite enjoyed), so I might give this new book of hers a try (I do like good Romantic Suspense).

  3. cheryl says:

    I absolutely couldn’t stand Twilight the movie and the book made me nuts with the dialogue and …. okay ….simmer down…. can you guess how much I didn’t like it.
    However, the synopsis for this book is intriguing and I would definitely be interested in giving it a try. Never read The Host.
    I agree that I am on a romantic suspense run lately… just a nice change up from PNR but also because there just aren’t that many books from my fav authors coming out right now.
    I also found a couple of new releases just didn’t grab my attention … too much of a change up from the normal format of the story structure.
    I actually just started a couple of humorous books by a new author, to me:
    “Confessions of a Slightly Neurotic Hitwoman” by JB LYNN

    • cheryl says:

      That is the name of the first book.
      Sorry my thoughts go faster than the typing.
      I have so far read the first two books in this series and trying to convince myself not
      to read too many in a row.

    • kaleigha says:

      I actually like a bit of humor sometimes, just to mix things up. But it is a fine line between humor and slapstick, which I don’t like. I get picky on that. This has been a sucky month, for sure, but I am making some inroads into my TBR, anyways.

  4. psub20 says:

    I dunno, I feel the blurb sorta leaves the door ajar for the paranormal. I actually hope that
    there are supernatural elements so maybe that’s why I feel that. I’m not really a romantic suspense reader but I might give it a shot. After reading reviews… 😀

  5. Ashley says:

    I actually enjoyed the Twilight series, but mainly because my oldest daughter was a tween at the time, and I would only allow her to read it if I read it first. The characters drove me nuts, but if you accept the series for the overly dramatic teenage drama it is, it’s doable. And I enjoyed being able to discuss it with my daughter. Sadly, the movies ruined the book series. They were so badly done and horribly acted. Ugh. That said, I loved The Host and I’m still salty about no continuation. All that to say that yes, I probably will try The Chemist, but I won’t run out and buy a hardcover edition. If the ebook is priced well, maybe, but beyond that, definitely waiting for a paperback version.

    • kaleigha says:

      I actually didn’t mind the movies for what they were. Ok, I did eyeroll more than once, but the angst made me laugh. It might’ve been unintentional laughs, but it did entertain me. And I thought they were pretty.

Leave a Reply

