What’s Up With the Arcana Chronicles? Updated…

day zeroHere is where I sound bitchy (and whiny) again. Has anyone heard what the blue-hell is going on with Kresley Cole‘s Arcana Chronicles? I have been staking out her Facebook and Web pages, where everyone is pretty much asking the same questions I am, but the questions have been glossed over and the lack of answers has been pretty much consistent. Here’s what I mean…

The first three books of The Arcana Chronicles were released in hardcover format by Simon and Schuster. Then, heading into the release of the third book, still with Simon and Schuster, there was a total cover redesign, which lead to a re-release of the first two books with the new cover style, in paperback. Ok, I am still following that. Now we are heading into the Day Zero novella (which is being called book #4 by some, or story #3.5 by others) and the fourth full book, Arcana Rising, under the publishing company Valkyrie Press. A reader here mentioned that Valkyrie Press is Kresley’s own self-pubbed company name, which makes sense. But did anyone hear she was going self-pubbed? It looks like her Gamemaker series went the same way – the first stories were published by Gallery, then the last one or two are from Valkyrie Press.

Here is my problem, though. The first three Arcana books were hardcover, albeit with an annoying cover design change. Fine. But Day Zero and Arcana Rising are showing up only as paperback and Kindle – and that is only through the American Amazon site. For me, in Canada? E-book only. Even the American Barnes and Noble website only has a Nook listing, so does that mean that the only place to get a print copy of either story is Amazon.com, and the rest of us are stuck with e-format only? Is there a physical copy in the future? I really don’t want to get stuck having to get the Kindle version and then find out that the print version was in the works. Since the novella is being released tomorrow and the next full book in a couple of weeks, I don’t think I am being unreasonable wanting to know what is going on already.

Lack of info bugs me, especially since Kresley is very active at promoting her works on Facebook. You can’t miss the constant repeat of the same questions I have asked in the comments sections in pretty much every post she makes, so how do we find out the answers? What really annoys me is no one else’s fault but my own, but I ended up re-buying the first three books in the new cover design so that things would match up, meaning I have two versions of each book  – hardcover and paperback – but now might be stuck with Kindle versions for the rest. Ugh. These things always (total exaggeration, I know) seem to happen when a super-successful author goes indie. I know it is a business and I wish them well, but is it really so hard to keep readers a bit in the loop?

Updated: So, I went to sleep around 6 o’clock this morning, the release date of Day Zero, and at that time it was still listed as Kindle only. When I finally dragged myself out of bed this afternoon, there is a paperback listing for it on the Canadian Amazon…at $19.22 for a novella. Bwahahaha…Still no info on Arcana Rising in print, but if you are like me and not willing/able to purchase through Amazon.com, it looks like you might be in luck. You just have to wait until the last minute to figure things out. It looks like it is from 3rd party sellers, but at least it is something.

30 thoughts on “What’s Up With the Arcana Chronicles? Updated…

  1. Trayce says:

    Am having the same issues with Lisa Kleypas latest series The Ravenels. The second book in the series (Marrying Winterborne) is available in hardcover and even the third book (Devil in Spring) is available for pre-order in hardcover. But the first book in the series (Cold-Hearted Rake) is only ever been available in paperback and I’ve never found a reason as to why. Is quite odd. And it completely sucks rocks as I’d like to have the entire series in hardcover. 😦

  2. bfmason50 says:

    Can you get someone in the States to buy the book for you and then mail it to you? Should not be that hard and what would the postage cost like 5 to 10 dollars? Not sure what the exchange rate is like right now. Let me know if you would like me to do something like that for you. My half Canadian side of me wouldn’t mind helping you out LOL. Hmmm or is it 1/3 Canadian? Mother and brothers born in Toronto, Canada area, father born in London, England. I was born in California 10 months after moving from Canada because they forgot the pills behind in Canada. So am I 1/2 or 1/3 LOL I digress. But seriously let me know if you would like me to help you out with that problem.

    • kaleigha says:

      Thanks! That is kind of you, really, and I appreciate it. I don’t have any American friends, but if I get really annoyed I can order through the Amazon.com website (it will cost a ton, but then I shouldn’t be so OCD about stuff, either).

  3. Maria says:

    I am not so OCD with the formats. Specially since I’ve completely converted to e-book, but I feel you. I hate when an author goes media silent. Specially, because if when they want and/or are interested, they’re very active. It happens also with Thea Harrison.Do you know anything at all about her? Her page only says that she’s working on something but it’s been months with the same message.

    • kaleigha says:

      Ugh, I had actually typed a whole paragraph-long rant about Thea Harrison at the end of this post, but deleted it because it really did make me sound like a spoiled kid, but nope. Not a word. The last release was in December, then nada. And that seems so strange to me, because from what I understand traditionally published works are often “in production” for several months, so she probably would’ve been working on the next installment well before the last one was published. There should at least be some word about what is going on at this point. This trend is getting old.

  4. Emma says:

    This does seem to be a growing trend…Some authors are forever and a day on social media keeping their fans up-todate, whilst others only seem to pop up when its release time/promotion time.
    Not completely the same but…I once bought 2 books from an author which were great, the third came out…wonderful…then…nothing! no information anywhere and the authors wiz page (I think that’s what it is called) is so empty, I saw tumble weeds

    • kaleigha says:

      Yeah, on the KC Facebook page, there is this constant stream of promo posts and countdowns to the upcoming releases and highlights of reviews. If I remember correctly, some of the comments that were gushy about the books were answered, but the comments that had questions about formats and such weren’t. Weird.

      • Redbutterfly says:

        Ok my two cents… I’ve been wondering what was up with Thea Harrison too so I subscribed to her newsletter a few days ago. Already received one, no news about when the next Elder Races book is coming out or who it’s going to be about (maybe it was said in another newsletter), but it came with a short story from ER world (she’s doing someting like Nalini Singh, giving short stories to her newsletter subscribers) and a sneak peek from the cover shoot of the next ER book. So I think/hope that soon we will have some news.

      • Emma says:

        That’s not weird, that’s somebody specifically ignoring questions thet can’t or won’t answer!
        Which, from my opinion is so totally rude!
        Sociak Media is used as a tool for self promotion, I’d much rather they say “I don’t know, or I’ll look into it and get back to you” rather than the constant white noise static

        • kaleigha says:

          It is one of my pet peeves, I have to admit. I mean, I don’t need to know every detail, but I do like to see authors keep the readers somewhat in the loop about what is coming out, when, and how. But then that could be just because that is what I do on the blog, so it is my interest.

          • Emma says:

            It’s not just you, I, as a reader like to keep up-todate, simply so that I know how many books are coming out each month…I hear more from Goodreads lately than some authors out there…
            Which frustrates me to no end

            • kaleigha says:

              It is getting to be quite interesting to track down info sometimes – a combination of Goodreads, Amazon (.com and .uk, strangely), random blogs and Facebook. Ugh.

              • Emma says:

                Sounds like you’ve turned detective…
                It must take an enormous amount of time to trawl through all those sites.
                I just couldn’t keep up…I ended up signing up for Amazon release updates…
                But for a blogger, that’s just a total waste of time. ugh!

                • azteclady says:

                  And the thing is, if the author simply said, “we hear you, we are working on it/looking into it” it would go such a long way to pacify impatient readers!

                  Yes, it’s still not a set date or specific answer, but at least acknowledging people’s concerns and questions is both polite and business savvy. Readers do remember when authors ignore them, and our patience wears thin after a while, no matter how much we may love previous words.

                  • kaleigha says:

                    Yep, it does help. It bugs me more when there is a flurry of promotional posts, too, because you know they are active but just not bothering to answer.

                    • azteclady says:

                      It’s not only rude, it’s bad business, and it’ll likely come back to bite the author–they are ignoring the readers who are most invested in their work. People who don’t ask are likely to forget to check down the road.

                    • kaleigha says:

                      I have found myself drifting away from those authors whose works get constant, unexplained pushbacks, or those who just don’t give readers a heads-up about their new stuff. That whole last minute thing usually means that I miss a bunch of listings here, too.

  5. azteclady says:

    Please take this with a large helping of salt, because I’m talking as a reader only:

    What I think happens to many authors is that they just don’t realize all the many details that come with being your own publishing company. After all, when you sign with a publisher, the theory is that they’ll take care of editing, formatting, cover art, back end matter (for online retailers), distribution (national and, in many cases, worldwide), and many other bits and pieces that are more obscure. For successful authors, publishers will go the extra mile and seek to create hype via places like Kirkus or RT Magazine.

    Successful authors who go indie/self publish, often don’t find out what ALL goes into publishing until after the fact, and then they may be afraid of losing face–hence, the absolute silence when questions start cropping up.

    As for print: I know that for indie authors, the prices for print editions are usually ridiculously high, regardless of format, because, in essence, they are doing print on demand; I don’t know any indie/self author who has the means to order a couple of thousand of print copies, pay for a warehouse somewhere, and then ship them all over–which is one of the things trad publishers do, and why they can sell mass market paperback, or even trade size, at relatively decent prices.

    Now, imagine doing that for international editions too, and you see how obstacles to quick and easy distribution of print copies start piling up.

    Mind you, some trad-to-indie authors do this very well (Nalini Singh, Courtney Milan), because they did their homework properly in the first place, plus both of them retained their agents. It can’t be a coincidence that if you have someone on your side who a) is savvy in this very specific business, and b) can take care of at least some of these angles for you, the whole enterprise will be a lot less fraught, both for the author and her readers.

    Mind you, I don’t do facebook, but Ms Cole’s website is terribly un-informative when it comes to future releases, so I’m not shocked that there’s nothing concrete, or even that there are a lot of crickets when pointed questions are posed.

    • kaleigha says:

      It’s a good point, though…the turn-around time and getting things organized. I’m not savvy about the behind-the-scenes thing, but I can imagine it would be very involved. I hadn’t been to the KC website lately, but you are right about lack of info on there. It surprised me how uninformative it actually was.

  6. Lidy says:

    I remember that when I read the preview for The Player, I wondered if KC was self-publishing it, but then she made a Facebook post asking readers if they found something different, which I took to mean it was something of an Easter Egg; on her website, she says it was the Valkyries’ first publishing project. S&S website doesn’t list the two YA you’re talking about or TP, but it does list the next IAD. However, I’m not completely sold on her self-publishing and not warning readers like Lara Adrian did when she made the same choice. Also, the cover to TP is very similar to the ones for the previous books, including the typography, and this could be considered plagiarism (I read a blog post about a designer who was asked by an author to put her book covers together after she decided to leave traditional publishing for indie publishing). It just seems very odd that KC decided to stop publishing with S&S and kept quiet about it. Of course, if she’s made the choice out of her own volition or pressure, then it could help explain why S&S are re-releasing her IAD stuff.

    Also, is there any way of knowing if Valkyrie Press isn’t an imprint of S&S, like Signet is to NAL, or even its child company, like Carina Press and Harlequin?

    • Lidy says:

      Forgot to add: the fact that the last YA was released yesterday seems to mean that it was self-published. At least, I have noticed that American books are usually released on Tuesdays.

    • kaleigha says:

      That is what I found so strange, too. It isn’t like it has to be a huge deal, but most times an author will inform the readers when they are making that major a switch…but then the lack of info that follows is pretty much the norm, too. We still haven’t gotten the official blurb for the next Lara Adrian book – which is due out in a couple of weeks. Alyssa Day’s books just seem to pop up out of nowhere, and Thea Harrison hasn’t had even a hint about what is going on in 8 months. As soon as I see an author is going the self pubbed route now, it makes me shudder.

  7. Lidy says:

    Curious. I had no idea Thea Harrison was self publishing; I knew of her older titles, such as the ones she wrote as Amanda Carpenter, but not the new ones.

    As for Lara Adrian, while I’ve never read any of hers (although I downloaded two of her free historicals on Amazon), I thought the blurb was because of Amazon – some authors have complained that when they put the ebooks up for preorder Amazon will release them instead, before release day. But it doesn’t make sense. She could have released the blurb on her site, Facebook, by now.

    • kaleigha says:

      Yeah, the last traditionally published Thea Harrison book was in December, and then…nothing. Not a word. She did mention that she and her publisher weren’t able to come to terms on a new contract, so she decided to branch out on her own. And that was the last I have heard. AS for Lara Adrian, I have been keeping an eye out so I can update the new release date page with the blurb, but it just keeps saying “coming soon” or something like that. Meh.

  8. Anna says:

    I have a similar problem… I first started this series in italian, that’s my first language after all, but then the series was scrapped and that, per se, was a major disappointment. Shortly after that I found out the news regarding the redesign so I ended up buying those new edition of Poison Princess and Endless Knight. But…. surprise! Poison Princess was shorter than Endless Knight so I ordered a different edition, thinking it was the right one. Nope. It had the old cover (the one with Jack and Evie), even though on amazon the book was presented with the cover I was looking for. So, for a while, I ended up owning three different copies of Poison Princess. In the end, I returned the copy with the wrong cover and decided to keep the book that was shorter than Endless Knight. Problem solved? Not at all. I had a few troubles finding the right edition of Dead of Winter. So currently I own: 2 Poison Princess + 1 Endless Knight + 2 Dead of Winter. Crazy, right?
    Now….. Day Zero and Arcana Rising are from Valkyrie Press, not Simon & Schuster. Once again, the sizes don’t match. Yey!! *sarcasm*

    • kaleigha says:

      I am going to be blunt, but it really is a pain in the ass, isn’t it? I got Day Zero from a third party seller, but I couldn’t get Arcana Rising in print format at all as of yesterday so I bought the Kindle edition. I have eight different versions of five books in three different formats.

      • Anna says:

        Yes, it is!! And what makes it even more annoying is the fact that it’s something that keeps happening! I’m starting to understand why so many people prefer stand-alone books!
        Btw, I didn’t know that Valkyrie Press was Kresley’s company… If she’s releasing her books all by herself, I guess I won’t ever see an alternative paperback edition so I should just buy them and be done with it! Ugh! >.<

        • kaleigha says:

          Well, it is hard to say what is coming, and nearly impossible to get info about. Like I whined about in a previous post, questions were asked by many fans on Kresley’s Facebook page, and they were skipped over for more promotion posts.

    • kaleigha says:

      Oh, guess what…I just noticed that the Canadian Amazon site (where I live) has Arcana Rising in paperback in used copies – or new Hardcover. HARDCOVER. I am going to spit, I swear.

Leave a Reply

