Pick of the Week

I am pretty sure my pick of the week will not come as a surprise to anyone who has been around Wicked Scribes for a while, since I have made no secret of my somewhat odd and strangely intense love for Kelley Armstrong‘s Cainsville series. I can’t tell you why, either – I can’t point to it and say “I like this and this and this…”, in fact, it isn’t my usual type of read at all, since the paranormal element in the first couple of books was only hinted at. But love it I do, and so my pick of the week is Betrayals

betrayalsSynopsis…

When Olivia’s life exploded–after she found out she was not the adopted child of a privileged Chicago family but of a notorious pair of convicted serial killers–she found a refuge in the secluded but oddly welcoming town of Cainsville, Illinois. Working with Gabriel Walsh, a fiendishly successful criminal lawyer with links to the town, she discovered the truth about her parents’ crimes in an investigation that also revealed the darker forces at work in the place that had offered her a haven. As if that wasn’t enough, she also found out that she, Gabriel and her biker boyfriend Ricky were not caught in an ordinary sort of love triangle, but were hereditary actors in an ancient drama in which the elders of Cainsville and the mysterious Huntsmen who opposed them had a huge stake.

Now someone is killing street kids in the city, and the police have tied Ricky to the crimes. Setting out with Gabriel’s help to clear Ricky’s name, Olivia once again finds her own life at risk. Soon the three are tangled in a web of betrayals that threatens their uneasy equilibrium and is pushing them toward a hard choice: either they fulfill their destinies by trusting each other and staying true to their real bonds, or they succumb to the extraordinary forces trying to win an eternal war by tearing them apart.

Kelley Armstrong has been quietly climbing my list of favorite authors for a while now, and in fact there is only one young adult series I don’t have – I have everything else she has put out, and enjoyed it all (no matter the genre). I can even say that weirdly enough, I am even enjoying the love triangle (eh, sort of triangle?) in the Cainsville series, so that means I really am a fan. Her Women of the Otherworld and YA spin-offs were good. So were the Nadia Stafford books, and her new Casey Duncan series set in Rockton, too. For me, so far, Kelley has been a can’t miss author.

12 thoughts on “Pick of the Week

  1. Artemis Crow says:

    I haven’t read Kelley’s books yet. Sounds like I need to to pick up the first book in the Cainesville series. Thank you for the recommendation. Love the Betrayals cover. It looks like a Doberman and I’ve been in Dobie rescue for almost 11 years.

  2. Emma says:

    I’ve always been a huge fan of Kelley Armstrong, I deeply enjoyed her Darkest Powers & Rising series. Nadis Stafford was a huge favourite of mine, I’m so happy she went back and finished the series several years ago. I do so love the tooing and throwing Nadia had with Jack. Her otherworld series has always, always been one of my top 5 re-reads, I’ve lost count how many times I’ve gone back and read the entire series. However, her Cainsville series is become a top favourite as well. As you said, it’s not a series that really has a genre to be put into…but I’m so loving the mythology behind the series

    • kaleigha says:

      I was so surprised by how much I enjoyed the Nadia Stafford books. Thank god for the third one, because it was the best of the three. Otherworld had its ups and downs, but still was a very solid series, and I enjoyed the Powers and Rising, too. Have you tried the Rockton books yet about Casey Duncan? The first books was really good, too.

        • kaleigha says:

          It is different – in summary, there is a small town in Alaska where people go to disappear. Whether you are in trouble, running from trouble, or caused trouble, you can pay to get in, but you have to leave everyone and everything from your old life behind. It leads to quite an interesting collection of characters all living in isolation.

  3. Barb (boxermommyreads) says:

    I agree with you about the love triangle. I hate them but in this series, it doesn’t bother me at all. I think it’s because she is moving it so slow, and because the MC actually thinks things through and there seems to be no “insta-love.” This is on hold at my library waiting for me to pick it up – I can’t wait!

    • kaleigha says:

      God, the triangle of death. It is weird how you can loathe them so much, but then once in a while an author can write one that just works.

  4. Monika says:

    Sadly I could just never get into Armstrong’s Otherworld series. I loved the novella about how Eve Levine and Kristof Nast meet, but she had to go and ruin that, so I never wanted to read anything else of hers. The Cainesville series sounds like fun and I don’t mind a good love triangle, so I might give it a try.

    Although strictly speaking it was released last week, I only got around to reading it now, so my pick for the week would be Behind the Throne by K. B. Wagers. It is more SF, but with a kick-ass heroine and told from first person POV. As her sisters are murdered, gun-runner Hailimi Bristol becomes the heir apparent to a galatic empire, quite unvillingly. She soon finds herself immersed in court intrigue and has to fight off attempts on her life and on the throne. I really liked the relationship she had with her two trackers/bodyguards (who are a bonded pair)…

    • kaleigha says:

      For me, the Otherworld books had hits and some not so much, but I all in all liked the whole series. Eve was one of the weaker leads for me, but I loved Kristof and his snark. The whole angel/court thing was a bit out there, though.

      I haven’t tried much sci-fi at all – and even that has been a while. I should look some up for a change of pace.

Leave a Reply

