September’s Book of the Month

Yep, I do this post fully aware that it is a foregone conclusion as to which book will be the pick of the month. Hell, Magic Binds is probably the pick of the rest of the year if I am being honest. But we will go through the motions to choose which book is the most anticipated release for September. I have chosen 10 titles to list in the poll, but if you have a different book you are most looking forward to just select “Other” and leave your choice in the comments section. A complete list of September’s releases can be found HERE.

I have to admit, while I am chomping at the bit to get Magic Binds, I am almost equally as excited to get Blood Red Kiss. I have been waiting for Gena Showalter to write Dallas’s story for what feels like forever, and I am so grateful I don’t even mind it is a novella. You know those stories that you just don’t think you will ever get, then years later they are written? That is Dallas’s story for me. So excited.

26 thoughts on “September’s Book of the Month

  1. bfmason50 says:

    I voted for Magic Binds ofc, but my second vote would go to Sarah J. Maas – Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5) atleast I get a book like 13 days before Magic Binds is released to hold me over!!!!!

    • kaleigha says:

      I just can’t believe that Throne of Glass is already on book five, honestly. Between this series and the Thorns and Roses one, Sarah J. Maas keeps a hell of a schedule.

    • kaleigha says:

      I have heard so many people say how great the books narrated by Renee Raudman are. It would be hard if you get used to one person voicing a series like Kate for their to be a change, I would imagine. I hadn’t thought of that before.

      • Iain says:

        I don’t listen to the Dresden audiobooks either, but boy was their an uproar when they used someone different for book 12 or 13 when James Marsters was busy overseas shooting a movie when they needed the audiobook recorded… they resigned him for the following books

        • kaleigha says:

          Oooh, James Marsters? I could so see (hear) him reading a book to me. Ok, that didn’t sound as creepy in my head.

          • Iain says:

            Yeah, I loved Buffy… when I found out he narrates books I was tempted to check one out… same reason I keep wanting to check out Leviathan/etc trilogy since its narrated by Alan Cumming

  2. Iain says:

    my 2nd place vote goes to Once Broken Night… didn’t feel like I was betraying Seanan McGuire when Kate Daniels books came out in July and October Daye books in August/September

    @bfmason: narrator continuity is important… I tend to avoid audiobook series that change narrators… pronunciations vary by narrator, and narrators develop distinct voices for characters (at least the narrators I like do)… sucks some people have to wait, but I’m unaffected since there are some series I prefer to read myself… to savor… I don’t always listen to audiobooks with my full attention… at work, driving, etc…

      • Iain says:

        Seanan is just suffering on all fronts now… October Daye books overlapping with Ilona Andrews in September, and InCryptid books overlapping with Anne Bishop in March…

        • kaleigha says:

          Yeah, that is pretty much a no-win situation. She only has to have another one to go up against Nalini to really feel the pain.

  3. Monika says:

    Folks, you are going to hate me (except Doug): I managed to snag an ARC of Magic Binds ;-). I loved it. It’s epic, with wedding and battle preparations vying for space (though Kate is more comfortable with one than the other). It’s gloomy, with-the-weight-of-the-world-on-her shoulders, but also hilariously funny (I don’t remember previous books being so funny). And there seem to be some hints for paving the way for Hugh’s redemption. Hope I did not overshare, only whetted your appetite 🙂
    Oh, my second choice would be the new in Death book.

    • Iain says:

      I think by now, all the avid followers know Hugh is on a redemption path with a book on the way… In Death is my Audiobook of the Month… love me some Peabody

      • Iain says:

        Speaking of… hopefully there’s another Grey Wolf novella this December/Christmas (not that there’s any reason to suspect there will be, I don’t think)

        • kaleigha says:

          I would be so, so happy with that. I know there was one in the works at some point, so hopefully it is just a matter of time.

        • Monika says:

          I just hope she is not overdoing it. I seriously don’t know when she has the time to write all the stuff she does, with working on KD, Hidden Legacy and putting up an Innkeeper Chronicle installment every week. I was unable to find any info on the Hugh book (except for the snippet posted on June 2nd) and no mention of Grey Wolf; does anybody have additional info?

          • kaleigha says:

            I haven’t heard much on Hugh or another Derek story, but then maybe we will get some word after Magic Binds. They will have a pretty long lag-time between that and the Hidden Legacy stuff, so hopefully something will be slotted in there.

            • Iain says:

              They’re probably too busy this year… the delays on Hidden Legacy 2 to next May/June, writing KD 9 for now, writing HL 3 for next July/August, writing KD 10 for next September I assume, and Innkeeper Chronicles 2 and 3 throughout… and aren’t they looking to move to Florida with all the kids out of high school?

        • kaleigha says:

          I “only” get them from Nalini Singh, which is like the best gift ever. I would probably stroke out if I got one from Ilona.

          • Monika says:

            And I get a case of envy every time you get a Nalini Singh ARC 🙂
            If any of you want to try your luck: I. A. are holding a contest for 8 ARCs of Magic Binds, you can enter until September 4th. You have to submit a “wedding fail” story on their blog, but there already almost 500 comments….

Leave a Reply

