Cover Lover – Blade Bound

This was a surprise for a couple of reasons. One, I wasn’t expecting the cover for Chloe Neill‘s final Chicagoland book, Blade Bound, to be released this early. Second…is that Ethan I see?!? Really. This final full-book cover is the first to feature anyone other than just Merit, if I am not mistaken. Blade Bound will be hitting the shelves on April 24th.

blade boundSynopsis…

Since Merit was turned into a vampire at the tender age of twenty-seven, she’s become the protector of House Cadogan and saved the city of Chicago over and over again. Through it all, she’s had her lover, and friend, Master Vampire Ethan Sullivan, by her side.

But then Ethan is violently attacked, seemingly by someone in the throes of a dark magic. And as that magic spreads across the city, Merit finds herself in a fight to the death for everything she loves.

Are you ready for this one to wind down? What direction do you think the new spin-off series will take? Shifters? Mages? Maybe something completely new?

18 thoughts on “Cover Lover – Blade Bound

  1. Gabby says:

    Why is it always age 27? The majority of female heroines are 27. Why are they never in their thirties or forties?
    To name a few: Elena – Guild Hunter. Claire – Outander (at least at the start). I think Charley is from Darynda Jones. Pretty much all of Sherrilyn Kenyon’s modern heroines – or they all look that age. I think Mary is from JR Ward’s books. I’m sure there are plenty more too. It’s like authors are afraid of writing about a woman who is over the big 3 0, like it’s some sort of dirty word. I’m sure there are heroines who are older – and look older but in this genre, unless they’re an centuries old vampire, they usually 27. Or they don’t advertise the face. Jane for example in JR Ward’s books must be over 30 maybe in her 40’s with the amount of training and experience it takes a person to be that good a doctor. BUT it’s not advertised. Do they think people will read their books less if the heroine isn’t young, wrinkle-less and the perfect symbol of femininity? If anything the older you get the more confidence and (perhaps) more carefree you get. I’m more likely to believe an older woman with a level head can save the world rather than a younger woman who is less experienced, still in her twenties. Most people in their twenties are still having fun and don’t have a clue what they want to be or who they are. (There are, of course, exceptions.)
    I’m sure entire essays can be written about this and feel free to correct me. 🙂
    I’ve also noticed this isn’t actually relevant to your post, so apologies.

    • kaleigha says:

      You know, 27 does seem to be the magic number a lot of times. I was surprised Nell in Faith Hunter’s new Soulwood series was so young – I think she is 22 – because she read as older to me. I have to admit, though, I was weirded out by the thought of Grandma Trixie in Dark Promises from Christine Feehan – someone’s great grandma didn’t seem like romantic material to me. Especially since she was as near-virginal as you can get after only having sex once in her life, managed to be completely stylish and hip, with a near-perfect body. It was…interesting.

      • Gabby says:

        That does sound weird. (I gave up on the Carparthian series after the 6th book). Which ia another thing; the focus on virginity? Why? A character is no less for having and enjoying sex.

        • kaleigha says:

          It was over the top, at least for me. And of course she will probably look even younger after conversion (or did look younger – honestly, I skimmed most of that book).

    • Iain says:

      27 seems like a numerology thing… multiple of 3, 3 years from 30, etc etc etc…

      Lynsay Sands works a lot of “non-traditional” ages into her Argeneau Vampires books to my recollection… last year’s heroine was a 60-ish widow road tripping in an RV… the hero from Bite Before Christmas novella was similarly aged… and Elvi Black from Accidental Vampire was turned on vacation in a freak accident and still acted like her grandmotherly self… and that one has an eighty year old mated off in the peripheral plot… and Carolyn was late forties I think in Under a Vampire Moon.. of course all these men/women de-age back to their optimal age/fitness when they survived the turn…

  2. bfmason50 says:

    I never understood the whole Ethan thing in this series. Why she cares and likes him so much, he is such a jerk in most of the books.

    • kaleigha says:

      I never clicked with Ethan. I can’t say I dislike him, but he didn’t grab me as a character, either. And that is strange because usually it is the female lead that I don’t connect with.

      • bfmason50 says:

        I almost never have a problem with the female characters, but always with the Guys. I wonder if deep down somewhere in our psyche we are partly wishing we are the object of desire by the main character? Hell I can be a better spouse then Curran for Kate Daniels right???

        • kaleigha says:

          There must be something going on, because I can usually cut the fellas all sorts of slack, but the gals usually don’t get the same benefit of the doubt. And if Kate won’t be needing Curran…I can help out with that.

            • kaleigha says:

              We are just doing our part to keep things running smoothly, as per our fan agreements. This way no character feels left out.

          • alexandra says:

            This is so interesting! Can I jump in? Thanks! I’m opposite…

            I am more critical of female characters, but even when I don’t connect with a female character I don’t dislike her. She has to be Bella Swan besotted before I reach that point. And if I find myself disliking a female lead it’s often at the same time I’m ready to abandon book/series. So I have a high tolerance.

            However male characters I am more likely to actually dislike. It’s hard to explain but I don’t think I’m as critical of male characters yet they are more likely to hit my dislike threshold. Maybe I like to justify my dislike of female characters but I don’t feel guilty for hating on guys? I dunno.

            I didn’t like Barrons from KMM’s Fever series at first (didn’t abandon the books because they are so addictive!). Anyway, he grew on me, and now I genuinely like his character. Though I’ll never understand why he’s such a huge deal to some fans. If anyone is a Barrons groupie I would like to hear why if you care to share. Just curious!

            Also, I never liked Ethan, either. Thought he was kinda lackluster. Nothing special there.

            • kaleigha says:

              There have been a couple of instances where I loathed the main female character but forced myself to continue on. Thankfully, I usually just find myself minorly annoyed with them. But on that same note, usually I bond with the male leads a lot more than I did Ethan, and I still don’t quite know why. I didn’t mind Barrons, but for example I much prefer other members of The Nine.

            • bfmason50 says:

              I tried to get into the series with Barrons and Mac but I just couldn’t. I listened to the first book and while I thought it was interesting I was just too far lost. I also did not really understand why some women fall so heavy for Barrons from the reviews I read before I got the first book to listen too. It was one of the books that was recommended on the Vampire Book Club site that I also use with this site as a reference for upcoming books and reviews.

              As a male I almost always like series where the main character is a female. I am the same way when I play video games for the past 20 years. Games like Everquest, World of Warcraft, Diablo (1, 2, 3), Skyrim, Dragon Age series. The thought of staring at a males butt for a few hours a day is not my thing. So I want strong female characters kicking butt on the pages of the book. If they have little to no sex like in a YA series, does not bother me. I have at times gotten to the point since I listen to most of my books because one of my jobs is pizza delivery I have fast forward parts of a book, ie some of the recent Black Dagger Brotherhood books.

              Among my favorite female characters are Kate Daniels, Kat (I dislike Bones most of the time), Celena from Glass Throne series, Meg (Others), Charlie Davidson, Gin Blanco, Rose (Vampire Academy), Sydney Sage (Bloodlines/Vampire Academy). I don’t know if this requires me to give up my man card or not but hell I did not even dislike the Twilight Series and Bella, the character that drove me up the wall was Edward. I could not understand or even comprehend how he was so dead set against teaching Bella how to fight in the last book. I understand it may be hard for you to train spar against your spouse but she needed to be taught. I could never imagine Curran refusing to train with Kate in similar circumstances.

              The few male characters I actually like or respect are Curran (90% of the time), Simon (Others series), Derrek (Kate Daniels), Adrian Ovoshkov (Bloodlines 90% of the time when he not drunk and feels sorry for himself). As a person that does not drink and never done any drugs I have no respect or acceptance for people that try to hide from their troubles through alcohol.

              • kaleigha says:

                I like both the male and female to be strong characters, but balancing each other out. Like Kate and Curran, Mercy and Adam, Meg and Simon, Nevada and Rogan. One might be physically more powerful or just have more – money, pack, etc – but they can hold their own with each other, and as a team they become something more. I didn’t mind Bones, but I much preferred Ian. He was just so unapologetically HIM that he stole every scene he was in. I so hope that translates over to his own story as well, because sometimes a great side character becomes too much of a good thing when their turn comes up.

                As for the females, there is one particular character that makes me rabid, and that is the intrepid female reporter. Hate them. HATE. I will most of the time refuse to read a book that has that as the female lead. They are almost always pushy, demanding, self-righteous, and always stumble stupidly into something supernatural that ends up with them near death and having to be rescued by the vamp/were/angel/demon hero. I don’t mind like in Kelley Armstrong’s WotO where Hope was a tabloid reporter, because she was a supernatural herself. There was this one series that I am drawing a blank on where the female lead stumbled her way stupidly into the middle of supernatural because “people had a right to know”, she nearly got everyone killed trying to rescue her, then she gave news reports to the magic community via a magic mirror. Yeah, die already.

                My all-time, forever and ever most hated female was Kelly from Jean Johnson’s Sons of Destiny series. She was the “star” – gag – of the first book, and pretty much took over the next five books, too. I grimly made myself read them purely in the hopes that she would be killed. Seriously. Her and Gabrielle from the recent Feehan Dark book are tops of my hit list.

                • bfmason50 says:

                  The character that I drop dead hate in a series is Kiyo from Richelle Meade’s Dark Swan series. For his actions in book 3 and 4 of the series, If he would die a horrible death like Crucifixion, disembowelment, placed on the rack or the iron maiden would all be too good for him. He deserves a fate of the utmost pain and torture. I am really a peaceful person I swear :).

                  • kaleigha says:

                    Good to know I am not alone in my utter loathing for a fictional character. It is a bit irrational, my complete hatred for her, and honestly a gruesome death would’ve made my day. The only other time I have had a reaction that strong to a character was in a book I had to read for an English class in university – Clarissa from Samuel Richardson. I seethed through the whole damn book, but I was rewarded when the twat finally died in the end. Made the pain worthwhile.

Leave a Reply

