Dianne Duvall and Random Stuff

I am officially on my fall vacation, which doesn’t suck. I use it and my January vacation to do the things I was too lazy to do all year, like major cleaning. That does sort-of suck. One thing I do is tackle my dust-and-cat-hair filled books, and I usually take that opportunity to take stock and see if there are any TBR books that I have lost interest in. After many, many purges and concentrated effort to read off of my shelves, over the last couple of years I have managed to drop over 200 books off of mount TBR. Now I am pretty much down to the basics.

One of the series that has always escaped the chopping block is Dianne Duvall‘s Immortal Guardians. I don’t hear much mentioned about it, so I thought I would ask all of you…are you fans? How much did you like this series? Is it worthwhile for the TBR-sometime soonish shelf?

And on a related note as to my paring things down, I was wondering how much any of you use the author pages sections? Other than the ones that have character guides, they don’t provide anything you can’t get on Goodreads except for the fact that covers and blurbs for each series are all on the same page. I find myself using them less and less, and I am toying with the thought of just keeping the guides and moving them like I recently did for The Midnight Breed guide. Let me know if you have an opinion one way or the other. Not sure if I am getting lazier, or maybe just trying to be smarter with my time, but I am all about not having extra “stuff” lately. Physical stuff, online stuff, you name it, I have been getting rid of a lot of clutter. Not always easy to do, but it always feels so good afterwards.

26 thoughts on “Dianne Duvall and Random Stuff

  1. dougmeeks says:

    The premise looked interesting but I decided long ago not to read any book/series that pushed some political/religious/pet cause and this one does it in spades from everyone I have talked to about it (except for rabid fans of the series), My standard saying is “I read to be entertained not enlightened”

    • ezinwanyi13 says:

      Hey Doug, she lightened up on the “organic” speech. I promise. I think after book 3, you will barely hear anything such agenda. Each book got better in this series. I think you should revisit it

      • dougmeeks says:

        I will give that some thought but I am at a point that I need to figure out what I am going to read in general. I have let myself be overwhelmed with books I probably should have turned down and so i have let some of the series I actually enjoy to slip like the Midnight Breed (several books behind). I am such a sucker for “shiny” new books and when they offer a lot of them to me for free I forget how many I already have to read LOL. I did not have this much problem quitting smoking 19 years ago 🙂

  2. Iain says:

    I don’t really use the author section… I really only stumbled into it once or twice clicking side buttons from a character guide… I do most series-blurb-skimming from goodreads author/series pages…

    • kaleigha says:

      Yeah, sadly I do, too. I like having all blurbs and that on one page so I don’t have to keep clicking back and forth between titles, but that is about it.

      • Iain says:

        I’ll open a dozen tabs until the tab bar on my browser has to add an arrow… close the tab once I read the blurb, move on to the next…

        • kaleigha says:

          That is one way to do it, but I am still working on a pain-free way to have everything organized. Maybe one day I will get the brainwave.

  3. ezinwanyi13 says:

    I enjoy the Immortal Guardians series by Dianne Duvall. The writing is entertaining and the plot gets better and better. I think her Gifted Ones series will be just as good.
    Now, she needs to hurry up and find Seth’s true love

  4. cheryl says:

    I have so many books that I follow that Dianne Duvall got lost in the large TBR and I think I have a couple of her early ones.
    As for the author page… nope never use it.Sad to say probably because I never noticed and I read your main page and then the new releases and that’s about it. Well that and the comments.
    I was checking it out and your book list for authors has some pages that say it is unavailable from wordpress?? any way I check Goodreads when in doubt and just google the Authors name if want more info.

    • kaleigha says:

      Hey cheryl…I am in the process of moving all of the guides over to the main blog and deleting the pages so not much will be showing up. I hope it streamlines things a bit.

  5. bfmason50 says:

    I actually enjoy your author sections I look at them a lot specifically when I am about to begin a new series or want to keep up to date with a series. But of course this preference is based on if you want to continue using your time to update those pages. Personally I do not really like Goodreads website lay out it is too hard for me to figure out what books are in the series and the correct order with all the hitting the back buttons and such. Or maybe I just never spent enough time trying to figure out the layouts of Goodreads. I also enjoy many of the same series that this site has for character guides and such. So once again I appreciate all your hard work that you do. I wish their was more character guides like this for the series that you don’t follow (HINT Glass Throne by Sarah Maas).

    • kaleigha says:

      Thanks. That was the one thing that bugged me about the goodreads layout – I didn’t like the clicking back and forth to figure out which book it was I was looking for. I would love to try and figure out a way to do something like that without having so many author pages – something like a master list, or a forum style page. Something easy to get to that had everything for a series listed on the same page, but didn’t require a million sub-sections and crap. Hm, forum style…I wonder

    • Iain says:

      With goodreads you need to find a book in the series, open its page, then click the series name in parentheses to see the order of all the books including novellas, etc… you can also find on the book page in the details section that tells you release dates even more series orders sometimes, for when multiple series overlap… Mercy Thompson World – Complete includes Alpha & Omega and the future Moira book in the ordering, and the Dark-Hunterverse includes Sherrilyn Kenyon’s many overlapping series…

      One thing I will say Goodreads lacks, is an easy way to check the mated pairings in that style of a long-running PNR series (or Contemporary series / etc)… best I can usually do there is get lucky that it’s popular enough to have a detailed wikipedia page… like this one: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dark-Hunter

      • kaleigha says:

        I have hit Wikipedia once or twice and gotten lucky – what I really like is when there will be an actual brief summary for some of the books. That is a real help.

  6. Amy says:

    I’ve only read the first book in the series, but it made me want to stab someone I was so irritated by the preachy organic sermons. Do yourself a favor and read Amazon’s top negative reviews — particularly the one by Mistress of the Dark Path. Honestly, her review is better than the book.

    • dougmeeks says:

      I loved this line ” the “Immortals” must filter out impurities in anything they eat or drink (it isn’t just blood these guys need but food as well). The more unhealthy stuff they intake, due to their lack of Brita Fang Filters, the more blood they must suck to stay healthy.”. The first 3 reviews confirmed my opinion of these books (sorry Ezi)

  7. Iain says:

    All this toxin talk reminds me of Argeneau Vampires… they have a pretty disgusting transformation process, since the bodies have to eject a lifetime of toxins… generally mattresses are thrown away afterwards…

  8. Dawn says:

    I love and look forward to the Immortals series, and can’t wait for the next Gifted Ones as well. (Gifted Ones gives the early years, I guess you’d say, as to how the Immortals came about and tell the stories of some of the people mentioned from their pasts.)

    I never found them to be that preachy. It’s just like if you had a friend who was a strict vegan, would you no longer talk to them or would you simply respect their way of living? I think the first couple books may have had a little bit more of it in them but that was either reflective of the time they were written or because they were setting up this whole new world & series.

    But to each their own. If you’ve held on to them this long, why not try the first one, and see if the writing style grabs you at least? If it doesn’t then you know.

    • kaleigha says:

      Yeah, trying one doesn’t hurt. At least now I am smart enough to get one or two to try rather than picking up a whole series then feeling like I had to like them because I still had 10 more to read.

Leave a Reply

