This and That and Book of the Month

book of the monthI know it is a total shock, but Magic Binds has been chosen for the book of the month for September. Rather than asking which book was going to be chosen, it would’ve been a better question to ask what margin Ilona Andrews was going to win by. This was completely a race for second place, which went to the next ever popular In Death installment from J.D. Robb, Apprentice in Death.

On a side note, I have gotten a few emails over the last couple of days, ever since I got rid of the author sections, where people have been asking me if I am quitting blogging. Nope, I am sticking around. I am just trying to streamline things, and get rid of what doesn’t really work or doesn’t come in handy. I am the worst person for dumping things that I don’t need or use, even in my “real life”. I am not a big fan of clutter, or holding on to things that don’t serve a purpose – hence my many, many book unhauls, things like that. So, just to verify, I am still chugging along. Just in a bit more streamlined fashion.

But even though I have rearranged things a bit, if you have any suggestions as to things you would like to see added, changed, or refined here, let me know in the comments section. I might not be able to do it, but I can look into whatever suggestions you might make.

I am getting a lot done on my time off – a lot which should’ve been done a while ago, but whatever. I have two major vacations a year, and I take the opportunity to rip my entire house apart, donate/throw out what I don’t use, and clean. And it is the only time when I so wish I made the switch to e-books. Honestly. I take all of the books out, vacuum each one to get out the dust and cat hair, clean the shelves and then drag them out to clean behind for all of the hidden treasures, then rearrange everything. All together, it takes about 5 hours (and a bunch of Tylenol). And what scares me is that I have fewer books than I used to have. This is about 1/3rd of the bunch…

IMG_0004.JPG

You know, it never fails, I get to this point in something – books all over the place, closet ripped apart and everything flung all over the place – and then I don’t feel like doing any more. I really wanted a nap, but unfortunately didn’t have any place to have one so I had to finish it. The good news is that as of this point, I think I have done my very last un-haul. I dropped another 15 books during the course of my clean up, and now I am at the bare minimum for my TBR. There are probably a few already-read books I could pull since I have moved on from the series, but for right now I am about as efficient as I am going to get.

4 thoughts on “This and That and Book of the Month

  1. psub20 says:

    This TBR pile makes me feel better about my own TBR, not because mine is less but because mine is mostly ebooks, so it’s not as intimidating visually. 🙂

  2. Tavia Klein says:

    K: You are a great gal, keep up the great work. The book industry will collapse if you ever stop buying books. I hope that bedroom you showed us isn’t where you sleep, must be uncomfortable. lol.

    • kaleigha says:

      Heh…yep. That is totally my room. I am down from seven bookcases to six, which means I actually have room to move around now.

Leave a Reply

