Pick of the Week

Jennifer Ashley‘s Shifters Unbound is one of those series that I always enjoy, but I find myself getting some of the characters and storylines mixed up in my head. But as a bonus, one of the few characters I still have straight is Zander, the main character in this book. I have been interested in his story since he was introduced a few books back, and Guardian’s Mate is it.

guardian's mateSynopsis…

She wasn’t ready to lead…

Chosen as the Guardian of her Montana Shiftertown, wolf Shifter Rae Lyall is facing opposition—for no woman has ever been selected for this powerful position. Still adjusting to the new authority thrust upon her, Rae travels to train with Zander Moncrieff, a Shifter healer, tasked with teaching her about her new role and its responsibilities.

He wasn’t ready to love…

A polar bear Shifter, Zander wears no Collar and follows no rules but his own. Rae finds him arrogant and demanding, yet compelling and intriguing. Zander has no wish to mate but the sassy Guardian is drawing him out of his shell, stirring feelings long suppressed. And when a new threat looms over Rae’s home, she and Zander must race to the rescue, forced closer to danger…and to each other.

Is anyone else finding this series starting to blend together for them? Not that they are bad stories at all, but between the few different Shiftertowns featured, several guardians, and similar names on a lot of the male characters, I find myself losing track of where things are. Throw in several different novellas, and I find myself getting a bit lost.

Advertisements

14 thoughts on “Pick of the Week

  1. Danielle says:

    I mix them up from time to time or have to try really hard to remember when the character was first introduced. I love this series but it is seeming to start to drag on at this point to be honest. I read Guardian’s Mate and gave it 4stars, it was good but I haven’t LOVED a shifter unbound book since Tiger Magic, I’m hoping that changes with upcoming releases

    • kaleigha says:

      We had a bit of a discussion in another thread about that, and we said how one problem is how there really hasn’t been much development in the overall story-arc, so some of the stories now are feeling a bit repetitive.

      • Iain says:

        Case in point… book 10, the one after this one… is a friends-to-mates story… hard to do in a mate bond world… but really, the author already did a trying to force a mate bond story back in book 7… gonna be hard for the end result not to read as similar… (wish there were spoiler tags here… this would be a great time for that forum to exist kaleigha)

        • kaleigha says:

          Hm, I know, right? I even thought of adding a chat feature, but that seemed skeevy and a bit desperate. But if I do manage to add a forum, that is a good idea…spoiler and non-spoiler discussion sections for books.

  2. Maria says:

    I generally enjoy them as “in between” books. What I mean is, they’re around a 2.5 stars in my internal system, so it’s an enjoyable read, but not a wow one, so I read them in between more intense books. I even kind of treat them as standalones, because only two characters have impacted me: Tiger and Zander. The rest blurr, and as there’s not an arc story, I don’t need to keep track of who is who.
    I do want to read this one. The feminist part of me likes the development of a female guardian and I already said that Zander is a favourite so… I’ll read it in the weekend probably.

    • kaleigha says:

      Yes! This! You said it better than I could. Like them, but don’t hand onto my seat waiting to get my hands on the next one – and I only really remember Tiger and Zander, too. They were unique in a sea of similar characters, and they stood out for me.

  3. Iain says:

    Sometimes I feel like I read some authors just because they’re so much better at releasing books/stories ALL THE TIME…

    I love the Dresden Files… or at least I did… but waiting 2-3yrs a book now is annoying… JD Ward, Jennifer Ashley, Chloe Neill, Seanan McGuire and a number of others all release about every 6 months and most do novellas in between… generally, having to wait more than a year between books gets frustrating… mostly because any book that takes more than a year tends to be delayed (and delayed and delayed)

    Guilty parties to this include Stacia Kane, Kelly Gay, and now Jim Butcher… I’m sure there are others, but those first 2 have been delaying their next book for over 4-5yrs now

    • kaleigha says:

      I find myself getting out of the rhythm of a series when you have to wait so, so long for the next installment. As I have whined about before, though, my problem comes more from the multiple push-backs and long periods of silence that follows. I get it that things happen, but when every book in a series ends up getting delayed over and over, I just give up and move on.

  4. Shannon C says:

    Just read a new release that blew me away, so I need to suggest an additional book for pick of the week: Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5) by Sarah J. Maas. 🙂

    I could not put it down. Lots of political intrigue, action, suspense, drama and a slow build romance. It is marketed as young adult, which generally is not my thing. But it did not feel too young/immature to me. I think this would appeal to fans of Andrews’ Kate Daniels series, Moning’s Fever series, and Wilson’s Tairen Soul series.

    This latest book ranks up there with two of my top favs – books #3 & 5 from Daniels series. It really was that awesome.The last 20% of the book blew my mind. I am still sitting hear stunned as I write this.

    • Iain says:

      I recently added Kate Daniels to my audiobook collection (already read the books on e-format)… and I gotta say… the audio just makes it better I think… altho the plot issues in book 1 still drive me nuts every time… it was Curran, not Kate, that pushed the Crest angle…

      Might try Throne of Glass sometime… I’ve seen a lot said about it

      • kaleigha says:

        I almost didn’t finish the first Kate Daniels book. I was so busy trying to keep all of the different terms and characters and government branches straight that I couldn’t get into the story. When I gave up that end and just went with it, it was much better.

        • Iain says:

          I focus more on the characters than the organizations… and most terms can be generalized despite different words being used cross-series… I mean… the most important aspects of Kate Daniels world are magic pendulum, The Code vs Loupism, and necromancers VR-controlling vampires… the rest can seep in over time…

          • kaleigha says:

            That was how I had to read it. I was trying to keep track of the Guild, the Knights, that sort of thing, and I got bogged down. When I stopped trying to remember every branch of every group, things flew along.

    • kaleigha says:

      You would never believe how many times I have almost read this series. I bought the first book in hardcover, then gave it away and bought the paperback because of the cover continuity issues. Then I gave away the paperback and bought the hardcover again with the new design. THEN I gave that away in the last young adult book pull. It never ends.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s