Site Updates

Just a quick drive-by post to mention that the Character guide for the In Death series has been redone in a book-by-book format, as was requested. I also added the official blurb for each book, so hopefully it will be easier to keep track of what’s what.

I also added a guide for the new Shadows series from Christine Feehan. This one might come in handy, because I don’t know about you but that many similar sounding Italian names was a bugger to keep track of. That is one tangled family tree – and I can’t wait until the focus turns to one of the other branches. Ugh.

Cainsville and Psy/Changelings will hopefully be updated soon-ish, but I have been a bit stalled on the Dragonkin guide. I can’t actually remember the last time I worked on it, so for those who messaged me as to when it will be done I honestly can’t say. Probably not by the end of the year, but maybe January. Hopefully before the next release, anyways.

19 thoughts on “Site Updates

  1. Iain says:

    Shouldn’t have to worry there… she seems pretty focused on writing Crow books right now… her newest series… sad to see Pride basically on hiatus… I think the next Dragonkin book is still on the table… but she gives so little info ahead of time…

    • kaleigha says:

      I was surprised that there wasn’t more info about a new release for the two main series, actually. I checked around my usual sites, and there was nada.

      • Iain says:

        The only reason I know this much is because of a question on the Bite Me (Pride #9) goodreads page, that was answered by the asker because they emailed the author (which you think would be a good indicator it’s time to update your website/news/FAQ

        https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18167468-bite-me

        Solveig asked: Is this the last book in the series?
        Solveig answered: I sent the author this question and got this answer:
        BITE ME is the last book in the Pride series…for now. The Pride series is currently on hold. Shelly would like to return to that world, but is unsure when that will happen.

          • Iain says:

            In a lot of ways, all of her series are similar… yes, one is Norse mythology, one is shapeshifters, and one is medieval dragon(shifters) and humans, but really, you could interchange series with little difference… if I didnt like the general feel of the books. that could easily be a bad thing

            • kaleigha says:

              The new series didn’t grab me, but not sure why. You’re right, though – they do have a similar tone/feel to them, but I couldn’t get into the latest series. It wasn’t bad, but I didn’t have any interest in upcoming stories. For me, I think it maybe lacked a bit of the spark that the other two have.

  2. Iain says:

    Like the new In Death layout… the book blurbs will be really helpful too… once the series gets into the 20s, some books start getting heavy callbacks

      • Monika says:

        I agree that breaking up characters according to book will be helpful. I also like the blurbs, because after more than 40 books I can’t remember which story belongs with which book.
        I would upgrade Nadine Furst to “major character” (blue), she is in most of the books and gains in importance as the series progresses.
        Also, hasn’t chief medical examiner Morris (in the beginning called Morse) made an appearance yet? He is an important recurring character, as is Roarke’s personal assistant Caro…

        • kaleigha says:

          Hm, is Morris Dickhead? He is the only one I have come across so far. And I remember seeing Caroline only once so far. That is going to be the tricky part of this formatting – having to go through the whole list each time I add new characters to see if they are recurring.

          • Iain says:

            Dickie Berenski is Dickhead… he’s chief tech according to your guide… Morris is chief medical examiner I think… he eventually starts getting brought in in pretty much every book… around book 30+ they add an anthropologist for bone science…

            • kaleigha says:

              Ah, thanks. I am only three books in for the guide, but on number 6 personally, so I get mixed up as to who has shown up as yet.

            • Monika says:

              Iain is correct. Don’t remember when Morris gets brought in, but because he has been a minor but constant presence in most of the books it feels like he has been there forever…

              • kaleigha says:

                I do hope that I don’t overlap, but I know it will happen. I figure I will catch the major recurring characters, but it will get tricky with random patrol officers and the like popping up here and there.

        • library addict says:

          I would agree that Nadine is a major character. I love Caro, but she’s not been featured much lately. I miss her.

          Also, Morris’ first name is Li if that helps. We learn that in Promises in Death. He was misnamed as Morse in a few books IIRC,

          We do learn Crack’s real name in a later book. And there are some other major and recurring characters who first appear in later books, but I won’t list them all to avoid spoilers.

Leave a Reply

