Reading Wrap Up

booksFor those who haven’t heard me whining before, Sherrilyn Kenyon books officially make up more than half of my total To Be Read collection. Seriously. Over half. I had 50 books from her various series – and three of them read. But I kept waiting for “the right time” to dive in. I always thought that the day I started on her books would be an event. You know, January 1st. My birthday. Something memorable to mark the day I started my very own TBR monster. Turns out one day I just grabbed one and dove in. Finally.

So, I made it through the Chronicles of Nick series, which wasn’t bad. I did find Instinct was a bit on the confusing side, but still manageable. Now I am five books into the Dark-Hunter series and still chugging along. I have been marathoning them for the last couple of weeks, and enjoying them so far. I did find myself getting a bit worn out from the overly tortured heroes, but then I hit Kiss of the Night which wasn’t nearly as tortured. So far, so good. The only thing that is weird to me is that Nick from Chronicles of Nick doesn’t really match up with Dark-Hunter Nick. I keep waiting for Caleb or Kody to show up, but then I remember that CoN has almost an alternate timeline going on.

I find myself flying through them, but I do seem to need to do some “homework”. I found some of the groups and terms weren’t explained well enough to get them into my head. I had to do a Wiki search to figure out who was who, and I still remain hazy on a bit of it. For example, I couldn’t keep straight some of the lesser-mentioned groups…Strati, Spathi, Talpinas, Tessera…that sort of thing. Maybe I need to not be so OCD, but I like to have all of the details straight. Hopefully I will get all of the groups straight as I read on.

My goal is to have all of the Dark-Hunter world books done by the end of the year, and I think it is doable. I have given the monster Acheron and Styxx books the evil eye since you know those suckers are going to not only take forever to get through, but are going to be heavy on top of it. I just know the break from the tortured hero isn’t going to last, but when it gets to be too much I will just take a break.

That is what I have been reading…and what I will be reading…for a while. What have you been up to? Have you pulled any long-standing titles off of your TBR lately?

62 thoughts on “Reading Wrap Up

  1. Kim H says:

    I USED to be a major fan of the Dark/Dream Hunters. (They are all mixed in.) I even tried to read Nick’s first book. (Too old for YA.). I even pushed through the book after Ash’s, but just couldnt do it. I’m not even sure what number they are up to now. I’d like to hear what you think of Ash’s book when you finish tho.
    Enjoy!

    • kaleigha says:

      I have dumped 99.9% of my YA for the same reason (well, too old and too damn many love triangles), but I have been surprisingly ok with the CoN books.

    • Monika says:

      I am with Kim H, though I already felt the quality of books going downhill before Ash’s, but I pushed thru until his book. I major tearjerker, but a memorable book. I loved it, though I felt that the two parts (backstory/modern day story) didn’t mesh so well. Also I felt a little let down by the heroine for Ash, can’t even remember her name. Can’t get myself to read Styxx’ story, mostly because of the way he behaved towards Ash.

      • Kim H says:

        THANK YOU!!! That was my problem…Ash’s heroine. All through the series I was lead to believe Ash was IT! I fell in love with him due to his badassness and strenght…only for him to end up with some punky kid (my opnion obviously!). Tried to read next book then said the heck with it.
        A lot of characters get this big, bad lead up (BDB Payne) then such a MAJOR let down for his/her own book. I feel cheated, then pissed! LOL

      • Iain says:

        Don’t want to spoil too much here, without tags, but basically… Ash is an unreliable narrator when it comes to Styxx… which is unsurprising when you consider how much of his/their backstory involves meddling gods…

        Basically, reading Styxx will, most likely, make you come to like Styxx, while at the same time diminish your feelings towards the sister that Ash had a good relationship with…

  2. Zenaida Hodle says:

    I have been chugging along the Dark hunter series and Chronicles of Nick for almost 2 years now. It’s taken me so long because I do take breaks. Right now I’m up to Styxx and I might be due for another break. Maybe 2017 will be the year I’ll be all caught up.

    • kaleigha says:

      You are doing well. That was how I read the Carpathian books, too. It took a couple of years of marathoning and then taking a break so I didn’t get burnt out. It worked out well.

  3. Lisa says:

    I had a 5-book bundle of the beginning of JD Robb’s In Death series for about a year. I finally took the plunge when you started to read them. I am now reading the most recent release 🙂

  4. JudyV says:

    I’m finally starting the Women of the Otherworld….its been on my TBR pile since….I don’t know…forever. Currently reading Bitten. Not quite sure how I feel about it yet Elena is starting to get on my nerves. I hope all of the women aren’t as bad

    • kaleigha says:

      As much as I liked the series, I wasn’t a fan of how Elena treated Clay, honestly, and it bugged me for a good part of the series. It was the only part that didn’t set well, because I liked most of the other characters.

  5. Iain says:

    Reading CoN first, you are probably going to encounter a bunch inconsistencies at least through Acheron’s book… because the timelines don’t start mingling until book 18

    And good luck on keeping track of everything… because each successive book only makes it worse/harder… exceptions to rules, more pantheons, etc…

    Acheron/Styxx books aren’t too bad, they’re really 2 books in 1… the first half of the book is a prequel/backstory set 11.000 years ago… then the story reaches a point where it jumps to the present and tells the 2nd story…

    I’ve been listening to a lot of steampunk this summer… taking a break with Kate Daniels on audio right now… been reading mostly new releases in my UF/PNR series I already read, with some Psy-Changeling favorites recently since AoH and Wild Embrace weren’t bad bad, but neither was a new favorite, so…

    My big new series reads this year (long time since I participated in this) have been Alex Verus, Hellequin Chronicles, Ministry of Perculiar Occurences, Marla Mason, Anne Bishop’s first series: Black Jewels, and pretty much everything Grace Draven writes… (Master of Crows, Wraith Kings, Entreat Me)

    • kaleigha says:

      Yeah, the CoN stuff isn’t enough to annoy me, but it does make me feel like I am missing something sometimes.

      The sad thing is, since I am determined to get through TBR-landia, that I haven’t picked up much in the way of new series for a while. But I will be keeping track for when I am caught up.

    • Monika says:

      For me the original Black Jewels Trilogy is still some of the best Fantasy I’ve read. But I hated how she continued the story, should have left it at the three books even though Queen of Darkness didn’t not really provide closure, but at least possibilities. Way to ruin a great trilogy!

      • Iain says:

        I liked the main trilogy, but the first and third book the most… and the duology about the weak Queen who had to revive a kingdom through hard work… the rest were hit or miss… I hope the Others doesn’t fall into the same trap

        At the time I listened to it, some of the dark events especially in the first one were a first for me… all the Shaving and such… but then I listened to the Phedre trilogy of the Kushiel series… and that third one was pretty messed up…

        • kaleigha says:

          I had heard that there were some…different elements…in the black jewels books, but they are still going on my “one day” list.

  6. Emma says:

    I’ve just started book 24 of Anita Blake. I’ve been reading this series since July and have read all the “available” novellas I have for the series as well.
    I get why a lot of fans lost interest in this series, but, just like another smaller series, by Jenna Blacks Morgan Kingsley series, what the others loathe, I love about the series’

    • Iain says:

      I didn’t even make it to the polarizing books that made most fans quit… I listened to the first book on audio and just really didn’t care for it… never continued

    • kaleigha says:

      Sometimes something just works for you that doesn’t seem to do it for anyone else. I do know that the ones that do still love Anita Blake books seem very, very devoted to them (I have been told off more than once by some of her fans).

      • Emma says:

        I don’t understand why people get so angsty about this subject.
        We don’t all like the same fruits, or the same shoes…so it stands to reason we won’t all like the same books.
        I started the Sookie Stackhouse series, and just couldn’t get into them. I ended up giving them to a family member to read…she loved them! Go figure!

        • kaleigha says:

          Yeah, I am not one to get upset when someone doesn’t like what I like – I figure to each their own. Like I love Nalini Singh, and there have been a lot of people since Allegiance of Honor who haven’t been thrilled with her stuff. That’s ok. I am just glad it works for me.

          But some people? They lose their minds if you don’t like what they like, and get rabidly defensive. I don’t get it. I had a back and forth with someone here in email who was mad that I said that the write up of an Anita Blake book didn’t sound like something that would interest me. There was much angst. I finally had to say that I didn’t insult the series, I only said it didn’t sound like something that I would like, and I am allowed my own opinion.

          Usually if I say something on the negative side, I get a chastising email from either the author or a superfan. It is way too much drama for a book sometimes.

          • Emma says:

            Fans can be…fanatical about their much loved books.
            I quite often want to say “It’s just a book, get a grip” opinions are like bottoms, we all have one.
            I am truly shocked that an author would jump on the bandwagon. That would be like a business owner jumping up and down about a negative review of his corporation

            • kaleigha says:

              Yeah, an author who shall remain nameless didn’t like when I mentioned that their book had been pushed back. Again. True, I might’ve been a bit on the snide side, but it is an author who has never put a book out on time, and doesn’t share release info easily.

              • Emma says:

                To no notify fans of the status of a book, to me, makes no sense.
                It’s like bringing out a new product with zero advertising. How will anyone knows it’s coming, or is out there?!?
                Baffling, completely baffling. Some people just don’t make sense, I wonder how they tick, or if they tick at all

                • kaleigha says:

                  I never really noticed it until I started blogging, and made it my goal to keep track of release dates as far ahead as possible. The sheer number of authors who don’t update, or don’t even drop a hint of what is coming where, is very surprising. You figure since it is how you make your living you would be all about getting word of your product out, but what do I know?

                    • kaleigha says:

                      And like I always say, why would I spend so much time trying to track down release info for so many different authors when they don’t even bother to keep their own updated?

            • kaleigha says:

              I am ashamed to say that I didn’t even pick up the last Rock Kiss book. I didn’t have any interest in Abe at all, or Sarah, and a “reunion” story never really appeals to me. I am looking forward to Gabriel’s brother’s stories, though.

          • Iain says:

            We live in an age where there are more books than there is time in a lifetime to read them all… so why waste time on something you don’t like, or doesn’t excite you…

  7. snapdragon says:

    Acheron and Styxx — When you get there make sure that you have a box of tissues and water along with advil….when I read both of those puppies I was not fit for company. I kept ending up crying. They were good and I enjoyed them but reading them. Once was enough.

    • Iain says:

      Yea… them 2 are easily my favorites in the series… but I haven’t re-read them either… its also amazing how likeable Styxx became once you got his side of the story, after being demonized for 30 books…

      And to top it all off… the author connects with these 2 the most as well… apparently she had an abusive childhood herself… she made some blog posts following Styxx release… not sure how much she’s revealed before or since…

      • kaleigha says:

        Well, the good thing is is that there are a few books between Acheron and Styxx, so it isn’t like you get two emotionally draining, monsterously sized books back to back. That could require some alcohol.

    • kaleigha says:

      Yeah, I was getting that way just with Zarek’s book. I mean, I knew there was a happy ending, but the abuse and suffering was getting heaped on their pretty heavy (and constant).

        • kaleigha says:

          I enjoyed it a lot. Well, you felt like crap for Zarek, but he ended up being great. And seeing him, Talon, Julian and Kyrian in Wulfe’s book was a lot of fun.

          • Iain says:

            I really liked Zarek as well… I think one of my only complaints about the early books is it took Kenyon about 6 books to realize she wanted all couples to become immortal… and then went back and made them so…

    • tomehuntress says:

      So true. I re-read the 2nd part of Acheron😊 but haven’t read the first part in full. I absolutely love Styxx but gosh I was crying my eyes out. Haven’t re-read it, but it was the best though.

  8. Monika says:

    At the moment I’m still immersed in Emperor’s Edge, about to start book 6, Forged in Blood. Probably won’t be able to stop or read anything else until I have finished the series. The romance is also heating up: the two main protagonists have progressed to making out in a smokestack (where they are hiding out) 😉

        • kaleigha says:

          It feels good, doesn’t it? With my book purges, I managed to get rid of pretty much all of the series that I had one or two left to read, since mostly I was behind on the YA stuff. Now I think I only have two series that I am behind on.

  9. Lidy says:

    Kaleigha, congrats on your birthday (well, it’ll be in January, but who cares? January is the best month! *nobiasatall*). LOL

    Ah, I also found Instinct a little too much, but then I read Invision and was like WTF? We get one major secret revealed as if the characters were discussing the weather. I read and thought “What do you mean x is Nick’s…? WTF people!”

    The earlier books are full of info dumping. I didn’t have much trouble to keep them staight, but the lack of meaningful characters to “illustrate” them (I have a kinesthetic brain) made me go back sometimes and reread to know who was who. As for the tortured heroes… SK really does believe in miserable childhoods; I’m looking forward to your take on Seize the Night, Acheron, The Guardian and Styxx. Not that the other heroes haven’t been tortured, but the Dream Hunters are full of “I was raised by the Psy, poor me” angst and the WHs were in the middle of a war between the two races. The former human guys? Misery. Totally misery.

    As for Acheron and Styxx, I’d suggest you read a chapter of one, then of the other, at least while they are in the past. Some dates overlap, but it’ll depend on whether it’ll work for you or not. LOL

    • Lidy says:

      Oh and, Kody and Caleb won’t show up. There’s a theory of Caleb showing up in Styxx – he does appear in all his demonic glory in House of the Rising Son, though -, while Kody won’t be born for at least some centuries…

      • kaleigha says:

        I was flipping through my copy of Dark Bites to see which short stories were included, and I was surprised to see Caleb. It made me think it was a CoN story instead of a DH one. But nope, I got it figured out eventually.

    • kaleigha says:

      I found myself having to go back several times and do a refresher on who was who and how they were connected – and sometimes it was just a couple of pages since we had met them. And like you say, sometimes there were just things randomly stated that seemed to come out of nowhere. Important things that made me think that maybe I had missed something somewhere.

      • Lidy says:

        I love Caleb! I want he and Xev to make a decent appearance in the main series, get their mates and be happy. They deserve it so much.

        I’d often go back and check things again, but then I stopped. But then I went back in the middle of The Guardian (thought I had missed a huge something), and then in Invision (thought I had missed an even huger something), especially because Nick’s ancestry had been discussed a lot in Instinct.

        Maybe if she started solving some plot points instead of adding them, reading would be a more satisfying experience.

Leave a Reply

