Site Updates

I am playing around with things again.

One thing I find that comes in handy when I am reading is a complete reading list for a series, but I can’t stand flipping back and forth on sites like Goodreads to figure out whose book I am looking for, or whose story is coming up next. So, the best idea I could come up with is to add reading lists to the character guides, and add the main couple’s names where applicable. And since I am at it, I might as well do a complete list for those series who have spin offs and the like. For example, this is what I put on PhoenixFyre’s guide for the Black Dagger World books…

– Black Dagger World Reading List –

BDB = Black Dagger Brotherhood
BDL = Black Dagger Legacy
For something like Charley Davison, where the series focuses on one set of main characters, I just went pretty basic…

– Reading List –

I don’t really know if it is necessary for the one-main set of character books, but I think it could be helpful for the one couple per book series or the ones where there are a lot of connected spin-offs. Does this work out ok, or is it a bit of overkill?

23 thoughts on “Site Updates

    • kaleigha says:

      I did fictfact a while back when it first started, but never really got into it for some reason. I should go back and check it out, now that you mentioned it. The only thing is I like to see whose book each title is, since I am tending to blur them together lately.

  1. Dawn says:

    I like it! I used the old authors pages you had, because the Goodreads is so annoying. I also use https://www.fantasticfiction.com/ — it doesn’t have everything I look for but it has a pretty good amount of the established authors. (It also separates out the AO books, although this only means clicking a button that a 4 year old who has good motor skills could also do! Well, at least they try to keep the kiddies away from the ones that could scar them for life.)

  2. Helen says:

    I think this would be very helpful, especially if it’s a new series to some of us and we want to know the book to start with.

  3. Monika says:

    Ideally there would also be a short synopsis (like a reminder) what the book is about (main story arc), because that gets difficult to remember, too ;-). Only like one or two sentences…

  4. PhoenixFyre says:

    I love your idea on this. I too on my personal books always put the couple down so I don’t get confused or lost. The bigger the series such as Dark-Hunter…you can get lost after a while.

    PS: I will update my guides soon. I have had my five grandchildren the whole summer and I will continue to have them through the fall. After that I will catch up on all three series.

      • Dawn says:

        Is it just the Dark-Hunters? Or the Dream and Were Hunters too? That was what kept confusing me. The series intertwined, but then were listed separately, and MY brain hurt trying to figure out how they fit together!

        • PhoenixFyre says:

          It is mixed. Dark-Hunter/Dream-Hunter/Were-Hunter and Chronicles of Nick all go together. But CON is about a young Nick starting age 14 to adult and why he is trying to change his future.

          I drop everything when these books come out and also ‘The League.”

      • PhoenixFyre says:

        But it is worth it. A fantastic addicting series with amazing characters. And then you add ancient Gods…LOVE IT. Give me some Acheron and Simi anyday of the week.

        • Dawn says:

          I love how authentic Kenyon’s Atlantean mythology is. (I actually asked her once if she had a “secret source” that had been found or if it was made up, it is so realistic!) But, I have to admit, I am a few books behind as after Acheron, I was so overwhelmed and depressed (I don’t think I will ever read the first part again, it was so devastating) I just haven’t been able to get back into them — plus at this point I feel like I need to do a re-read, and that’s A LOT of time! I also keep picking up CoN, but I’m scared to get started on them, as I’m afraid of that alternate timeline confusion. (Heck, I still can’t keep straight how Professor X died in X-men 3, but was alive for Days of Future Past! – Sorry, geek girl coming through)

          I tried the first couple League books, but they didn’t grab me. Now if she were to restart/continue the Avalon series, I’d try that again.

          • Iain says:

            Chronicles of Nick is meant to be read in publication order… the timeline isn’t alternate, so much as overwriting events in early books… if you remember, in the epilogue of book 22-ish, Acheron confirms with Arik that past events have changed between Arik’s book and the present… because Acheron remembers both timelines…

          • PhoenixFyre says:

            Dawn…You can read the Chronicles of Nick. It is about Ambrose…Nick’s future self trying to save everyone from his destructive future. He has had three chances already and this is his last chance. You will love it. Nick is hysterical in it. It start out where he is age 14 and you will meet some really fun and wacky characters and you will see a lot of Kyrian, SImi, Savitar, Thorn, Noir, Jaden and of course Acheron. Simi actually got to meet Nick earlier. He is also dating Styxx’s daughter from the future. I can guarantee you won’t feel lost plus you learn a lot of secrets you didn’t know from Dark-Hunter and Jaden is one of the major secrets we wanted to know. You will find out surprises about Jared and Jaden’s connection to him finally. So read them. PS: You will fall in love with Nick’s bodyguard…Caleb and you will meet Noir’s son and daughter and there are surprises about Nick’s future son.

            Also, the Avalon series is actually being continued in the Dark-Hunter series now. And the Dragon’s are involved. You have so far, Blaise, Morigan, Illarion, Cadegan, etc. And more are being brought into DH series.

  5. lemonamour says:

    This is brilliant!! All your time and hard work is very much appreciated. Though I would place For I Have Sinned after Third Grave, otherwise there are Charley/Reyes spoilers. And kudos to you for taking on Dark Hunter. Good luck with that. Cheers!

  6. Dawn says:

    I think this update would be helpful for any long-term series, especially those which have extra novellas or free short stories (by the way, what is the difference? can anyone tell me?). For instance, when you get the Psy-Changeling, would you include all the extras that Nalini’s offered through her website (please, pretty please?) I know several other authors have done similar things to thank their readers (Paige Tyler recently had a newsletter serial that she then offered as a whole to subscribers through Instafreebie), or broaden their audience (going to graphic novels, like Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files)

    I think you might have answered this a short time ago, but I can’t remember what you said…Thanks for your patience

    • kaleigha says:

      Hm, the free stories are tricky. For me, I find there to be a difference between a short story and an excerpt (or a slice of life, deleted scene) that sort of thing. I usually just list the stuff that you have to buy, like full novellas or stories that are in compilations.

      • Iain says:

        Yea… Nalini Singh takes shorts to the next level… sometimes its just Lucas reading a bedtime story or something… whereas Seanan McGuire has a whole slew of InCryptid freebies, but they extensively expand on the Price family history, and most are mini-adventures… 25-30 pages or so…

        • kaleigha says:

          I believe Jennifer Estep has a whole series of shorts for her Elemental Assassin series, too. Not sure how long they are or how important to the story, though.

Leave a Reply

