Spotlight Wednesday – Ann Aguirre

Ann Aguirre might be a bit more well known than the usual authors featured in the spotlight Wednesday posts, but when Azteclady mentioned that she had a new series starting up, I thought it might work. And since the first book is due out today, it is even better.

This new paranormal romance series is called Ars Numina, and it will consist of six books. Things get started with today’s release of The Leopard King.

the-leopard-kingSynopsis…

Proud. Imperious. Impassioned.

Until three years ago, those words applied to Dominic Asher, the leader of Ash Valley. His family has ruled the feline branch of the Animari for hundreds of years, guiding the pride through perilous times. Unspeakable loss drove him into seclusion, a feral beast nobody can tame. Now he’s wrecked, a leopard king in exile, and he wants nothing more than to die.

Fierce. Loyal. Determined.

Fortunately for Dom, those words still apply to Pru Bristow, his dead mate’s best friend. She’s had her heart broken too, but she never quits. With the conclave approaching, alliances with the Pine Ridge pack and Burnt Amber clans on the verge of collapse, she’s prepared to do whatever it takes to drag their leader back, before his second can start a war.

At best theirs seems like a desperate alliance, but when their mate bond turns hot and fierce, there’s no end to the questions and the doubts. Neither of them expects to fall in love. But sometimes people don’t know what they’re looking for until they find it.

The Leopard King will be followed by The Demon Prince, The Wolf Lord, The Shadow Warrior, The War Priest, and The Jaguar Knight.

Thanks again to Azteclady for pointing this one out. It is available in both print and e-format at Amazon.com and other retailers.

Are there any Ann Aguirre fans out there? She is another one on my “one day” list – which is actually a thing. I am not starting any new authors until I get my TBR pile dealt with, but when that is done I will be branching out.

17 thoughts on “Spotlight Wednesday – Ann Aguirre

  1. pals20 says:

    Me too, I want to start reading her Jax and Corine Solomon series, but somehow never got around to it till now. This book sounds good – old school PNR. Might be a good time to actually start reading her.

  2. alex says:

    I read Aguirre’s Sirantha Jax series as well as the Dred Chronicles which are set in the same space opera story universe. I haven’t read any of her other books, but both these series make my favorites list. One thing I’ll say about her books is they never get bogged down with slow pacing, and they aren’t repetitive. While her books don’t have humor in the way you think of the IAD or Night Huntress books they are sprinkled with this dry wit. I have tons of highlights from both series.

    Since I love Aguirre I’d like to try this but I’m not super into shifter romances and have been on a nonfiction kick besides, lately. I think the cover art is fantastic, especially considering she self-pubbed this and it still stands out (to me, at least) among other shirtless dude/animal print themed PNR covers. It looks a little dark and is only $2.99 on Kindle, so I will probably pick it up.

    • kaleigha says:

      I was pleasantly surprised by the cover art, too, all things considered. For self pubbed, it is better than a lot of traditionally published big-ticket covers I have seen lately.

    • Iain says:

      I picked it up… the $3 price is pre-order and first week only… dunno what it’s going to go up to next week, but anyone interested should pick it up now…

      The book also snuck in another thing I find interesting but hard to find… latent shapeshifters… I’ve come across about a dozen books with them out of several hundred

        • Iain says:

          Sage’s mate is also a latent… one of Mercy’s brothers anyway… I’ve read 5 other stories, and the listopia group I made showed me 5 more… pretty rare… like Omega shifters too

          • kaleigha says:

            Now that you mention it, Kirby might count, too. I didn’t think of her as latent because I took it more as her not knowing she was a shifter, but latent works too.

  3. shannon c says:

    Very happy to hear she has a new series coming out. Thanks for sharing. I will look for this. 🙂

    I read her Sirantha Jax and Dred Chronicles series. Great books….4+ stars range for me. I think it would appeal to fantasy fans who like a good amount of action, suspense and a little romance. I like her character development and world building.

  4. Haylo says:

    I’ve read all of her series and she’s an auto buy. I read this sooo quickly, It’s a really good book and the world is very interesting; I liked her shifters too. Now that PNR is so popular sometimes shifter series start to bore me, but I felt this one was very fresh. One thing I really appreciate about her books are that her heroines are not “The lady doth protest too much”. Nothing drives me CRAZIER than when despite being attracted to the hero the heroine fights it for the entire book. In this story when there was conflict, it was totally believable given the other occurrences within the story.

    • Iain says:

      Yea… usually when characters are angsty about the romance, I get annoyed quickly… but this one was an exception, since there were legitimate reasons… and I barely even noticed it until around the 50% mark… I think that was a lot of my problems with Corinne Solomon, among others (that was 3yrs ago now)… but I’m glad I gave this author a second try…

      • kaleigha says:

        I am not a huge fan of the “I want to…but I can’t…but I want to…but I won’t” thing, either. That is one of the reasons chicks in books can get on my nerves a bit, too (although it gets annoying when the male leads pull that too long, too).

        • Iain says:

          “I want to… but I cant…” seems like a way to stretch the story/word-count, or delay the consummation until the 90% mark… one reason I gave up on wading through YA for the gems… most seem to use the “want/can’t” mechanic because they can’t be graphic the way adult books can

Leave a Reply

