Midnight, Texas Coming to TV

Am I the only one who didn’t know that Charlaine Harris’ Midnight, Texas trilogy was being adapted for TV?

According to what I found looking around, NBC has placed a 13 episode order for the new series, which they described as…

“…a journey into a remote Texas town where no one is who they seem. From vampires and witches to psychics and hit men, Midnight is a mysterious safe haven for those who are different. As the town members fight off outside pressures from rowdy biker gangs, ever-suspicious cops and their own dangerous pasts, they band together and form a strong and unlikely family.”

Here are a few stills that have been released from the pilot:

Midnight Texas - Season Pilot

Midnight Texas - Season Pilot

Midnight Texas - Season Pilot

The first pic gives me a total True Blood vibe, which I guess makes sense. I never did get around to reading these books, but I did see a lot of the reviews were mixed. The only thing that gives me pause is the fact that it is going to be shown on NBC, which means that they are limited as to what they can do or show, and certain elements might not translate well. A network with a little more…leeway…shall we say, usually works better for these types of shows. True Blood needed to be shown on HBO to be able to get the full impact, gore and raunch and all.

Well, here’s hoping this works out. I might just have to add to the TBR and check out the first book, too.

6 thoughts on “Midnight, Texas Coming to TV

  1. JudyV says:

    I’m underwhelmed. I read the first book and didn’t see the need to continue on with the series. It seemed to lack the excitement and intensity of the Sookie Stackhoise stories

    I guess I just could imagine life after Sookie

  2. cheryl says:

    I enjoyed the books but they were good not great … not a can’t wait for it like anything Ilona Andrews writes. They were enjoyable but not overly suspenseful … I like the quirky characters but the stills above make me cringe and think they will ruin that series even more than Kelley Armstrong and her werewolf series that started with the book Bitten and crappy memory can’t even remember the tv show name. The cast was horrible in that one.

    • kaleigha says:

      I actually enjoyed the show Bitten, in spite of the changes from book to screen and the over-dramatics. I have always been more of a Nick than a Clay girl, but on a completely shallow note, Clay’s long hair freaked me out in season 3. As in every time he was on the screen with his long, stringy hair, I kept staring at it and not paying attention to the show. Oh, and Nick’s wardrobe in season 1 – especially the red pants – was also a distraction. I kept thinking “who did the wardrobe for this? Seriously?”

  3. Barb (boxermommyreads) says:

    I actually liked this series much better than the Sookie Stackhouse books so I’m really afraid what NBC will do to it. Also, there is absolutely NO WAY the 3rd book will be able to transfer to regular television!

    • kaleigha says:

      That really is the problem with a ton of these adaptations – either they don’t put the needed money in to do the special effects right, or the censorship limits put on it from being on one of the major networks limits what they can show. It is a lose/lose.

Leave a Reply

