Reading Wrap Up

I used to do these posts quite often, mostly so I could keep fresh in my mind what I had read and how I felt about it. Maybe I am getting too lazy, because now it is more like a once a month thing. Anyways, I have still be chugging along on the Dark-Hunters from Sherrilyn Kenyon, although I did take a break for some new releases. My thoughts vary on them, though.

Well, so far things have been quite positive. I did hit a bit of a stumbling block with Sins of the Night (Alexion and Danger), though. It was ok, but I never got completely interested in it – either story or character wise. It wasn’t bad, I can’t say that, but it wasn’t difficult for me to put it down and go read other things, either. It is the first one that I didn’t fly through. But I think I was getting a bit burnt out on the whole tortured Kenyon hero thing – I mean, I like a good sob story as much as the next guy, but it seemed like each one was getting more abused than the last. Maybe that was why I needed to take a break.  I am back in the swing of things and I am now in the middle of the ninth full book, Unleash the Night. So far so good, and I am really liking Wren as a lead character. I just know his backstory is going to be horrid, though. Sigh.

I did take a break from the Dark-Hunters to read Magic Binds from Ilona Andrews. Duh. That was a no-brainer, and it was awesome. Details are getting fuzzy, though, because I read it so quickly, so I will be doing a second pass hopefully starting this week. One where I can take my time and hopefully retain what actually happened.

And I also checked out the latest Shifters Unbound from Jennifer Ashley (aaand on first writing of this, I left the “f” out of Shifters. Awkward). Guardian’s Mate was a good story, and it looks like we might get some forward movement on the series-wide story arc, too, in future books. Zander didn’t disappoint, and I was glad he actually got a mate I liked, too.

It had been a few weeks since I had read an In Death book from J.D. Robb, and don’t laugh, but I missed them. So I also tackled #8 in the series, Conspiracy in Death, as I enjoyed it as much as the rest. No sign of me getting bored with this monster yet at all.

Oh, I did break down and get the first Midnight, Texas book from Charlaine Harris, Midnight Crossroads, after my last post mentioning the upcoming show. Eh, well. I am not done yet, but it hasn’t grabbed me. At all. I would go so far as to say that, to this point, it is pretty darn dull. I think I am still less than half-way through, but so far it has all been details. Who is who, who does what, who is wearing what and eating what and going where. I haven’t hit the actual story yet, but I do know every place that the cat Mr. Snuggles sits. I’m not giving up, but I am also not holding out much hope for me to suddenly get engrossed, either.

What have all of you been reading and loving? At what point did you find yourself needing a break from the Dark-Hunters, or did you manage to plow through them without stopping? Does Midnight, Texas, actually get interesting?

10 thoughts on “Reading Wrap Up

  1. Ginger Hamilton says:

    Good morning! I love your posts and once a month is fine with me, just don’t stop. I have found with some series that I need to take a break and then come back to it. I am reading Dark Bites by Sherrilyn Kenyon (anthology). I really Iike the Kattalakis Were-Hunters. Next up will be Dark Carousel by Christina Feehan, then the next Lara Adrian Breeds book. I have never read Robb or Ione. I am looking forward to reading The Beast. Cheers! 😎

    • kaleigha says:

      Hey Ginger – yep, as much as I love to pull a good reading marathon, sometimes you just have to step back for a bit. I have been working the Dark Bites stories into the series as they come up, but I just realized when you mentioned it that I skipped one. Duh. So far, the weres are my favorites, too. I still have to get to Fang and Fury’s stories, which are ones I am most looking forward to.

  2. Judy says:

    If you think that you’ve seen kenyon’s torture, wait there is more coming, Acheron is …well I will never read that paticular book again. To get the new life you had to have had a bad one, but every single person you meet? Here is hoping that the new year will bring hope.

    • kaleigha says:

      Yeah, that was me. Did they have to be loathed/abused/betrayed by every single person they ever came across? Parents, siblings, spouses, the whole works?

  3. Iain says:

    I read Dark-Hunter early in my UF/PnR days (2013) when I could marathon a series before moving on… I think I made it 20 books straight… I stopped at Sundown & Abigail’s books for awhile… which is around the time I stopped liking the couples as much… altho the first disappointment for me was Fang & Aimee’s book a few before that.. they foreshadowed it for like 15 books and then… that’s also the first Hellchasers book… and we already talked about the excessive sub-series’

    In other reading… I’ve read a bit of everything the last month or so… I binge re-listened to the whole Kate Daniels series… did a few Psy-Changeling re-reads after being pretty lukewarm to most of the new the anthology… read the latest Kate Daniels, October Daye, Pax Arcana / John Charming, and Wraith Kings books… and read the first book of Ars Numina, Weird Girls, Sirantha Jax, and Kingmaker Chronicles…

    Right now I jumped into Fantasy and am trying/liking the first Farseer trilogy book my Robin Hobb (Assassin’s Apprentice), and am listening to the first Newbury & Hobbes steampunk book (Affinity Machine)

    I liked Grimspace, but jumped ship before the cliffhangers started because the last 2 books of the series are pretty polarizing… had some similar problems with the books I sampled between Sirantha Jax / Kingmaker Chronicles and finding the Farseer books…

    Also listened to Apprentice In Death (#43)… didn’t hook me the same way it usually does… it had all the parts I’ve come to expect from one of these… I dunno… it even had the things I expected since #42 had the 2nd detective-in-training of the series pass his exam…

    • kaleigha says:

      Wow, you covered the gamut. I haven’t tried much in the way of fantasy, but there are a few series I would like to check out one day. I end out with the big dilemma on Game of Thrones, though – watch the show first and spoil the books, or read the books and spoil the show? Decisions, decisions.

      What I find so amazing is that In Death is 40+ books in and it is still so highly regarded by people. I can’t think of another one with that kind of staying power.

      • Iain says:

        I finally watched the first 4 seasons of Game of Thrones this year… I don’t really plan to read them… Wheel of Time burned me out on epic fantasy for the most part… 1000pg tomes… and I hear the first 3 books (4 seasons) are the best anyway… really don’t want to read tomes that are a slog to finish

        I’ve been branching back into shorter fantasy e-books and the longer ones on audio, though…

        I hear you on longstanding series that are still well-regarded… most of the Feehan / Kresley Cole stuff you discuss seems to be diehard fans or bust… same with Laurell K Hamilton and Sherrilyn Kenyon more and more… altho I still read them…

        Stuff like the Argeneau Vampires books I read don’t get talked about much even tho they’re in the 20s now

        • kaleigha says:

          Sadly, I haven’t watched Game of Thrones, but I keep up on what happens so I know who dies, that sort of thing. Weird. I never, ever thought I would be meh on Kresley Cole, but I got there and it is sad. I am even less interested in her stuff than Christine Feehan, who I make a ton of fun of but still remains a day-one read, strangely. I guess our tastes all change as we go, but it is still sort of sad.

  4. Lidy says:

    Another reader for the DH-binge-reading club! 😀 Except that I binge-read them to prepare for the release of Bad Moon Rising–and boy, talk about a disappointment.

    I like Sins of the Night; it isn’t one of my favorites, or even one I’d recommend to people, but I kind of liked it. The bad part is that it felt more like a background book (the type that lays things out to be used later on) and there was a lot of things happening. Also, I remember reading in the DH companion that SK wrote three endings to it, so some readers have different views on what happened to some characters because of it. O_o

    As far as horrible back stories go, Wren’s isn’t the worse. His mother was a bitch, but I don’t remember him being tortured, maimed and the sort, like Valerius, Zarek and Julian. He’s a cutie, isn’t he? It’s refreshing to have a hero without the ‘women are liars and cheaters who betray us and want us only for our money’ mentality. Makes me wonder what will happen if she ever writes a book about Savitar, Thorn, Jaden, Caleb and/or Xev – I foresee lots of misogynistic bullshit.

    Re: GOT. I’d advise you to watch the show first. Of course, if you could read the first book and then watch the first season, it’d be nice; in the beginning, it was pretty similar to the book, then it diverged. If you decide to read the books first… well, get ready to wait a long time for the last two (Winds of Winter and A Dream of Spring), because GRRM doesn’t write in the same speed as Christine Feehan, Nora Roberts or Sherrilyn Kenyon. I think you complained several times about CL Wilson’s (?) books being pushed, and it reminded me of GRRM (except that with him there are no dates announced). The show, no matter how much it changes things, will have an ending in two years, so that’s something to consider. (As an aside, I bought the pt-br edition of the five books for 1/3 it’s original price).

    I’ve began watching Black Sails – because one of its actors portrayed a character I really liked in GOT. Guy nailed it as Arthur Dayne, and then my cousin said something about this pirate show focused on Robert Louis Stevenson’s characters. So far, I haven’t seen anything to make me decide not to keep (or even to keep) watching it. The characters all seem a little bland, but I like the actors, so let’s see what happens. OTOH, this show is coming to an end in a few months, so I think I should probably give it another go.

    • kaleigha says:

      I liked Wren – a lot. He came off as almost innocent, which is really rare for the male lead. And I even ended up liking Maggie, too – which is even more rare for me. And getting a little glimpse of Nick was a bonus.

      Yeah, endless book push backs make my OCD twitch big-time. I really don’t handle the open-endedness well, either. I can handle a pushback and a new date, but a “meh, whenever” makes me nuts. Black Sails is another one I am thinking of trying. Like Vikings, it isn’t my usual fare, but I like the dude who was on The 100, and I think he stars in it, so bonus.

Leave a Reply

