So, What’s Going On?

Just like the title of the post says, what’s going on? Things have been on the quiet side, there hasn’t been much to write about, so I thought I would see if you have seen anything exciting to share. For me, I found a few tidbits, but nothing earth-shaking…

  • J.D. Robb‘s 45th In Death book will be called Secrets in Death, and it will be out on August 8th of next year.
  • Christine Feehan‘s next Dark book will be called Dark Legacy, with a release date of September 5th. And the next Leopard series will be called Leopard’s Blood, with a due date of September 26th. And the second book of her new Shadows series, Shadow Reaper, is due out on May 30th.
  • Still on Christine Feehan, we all know that her Sisters of the Heart series is wrapping up next year. It looks like the spin-off series that will focus on the Russian agents that grew up with Viktor Prakenskii will be called Torpedo Ink. Uh, what? Please, please don’t tell me that it will be a literal translation and all 27 of those dudes will be tattoo artists. Biker/psychic/super-agent/assassin/tattoo artists.Please? I would seriously LOL.
  • I am not sure what is up with Rob Thurman‘s scheduled next release, Everwar. It was listed as a December 6th release, but there isn’t a cover out as yet. The American Amazon site doesn’t list it, but the UK one does. Goodreads says December 6th, but Indigo lists it as 2035. In my hunting for info on it, I stumbled across a bunch of stuff on Twitter which didn’t set quite right with me, even though it was a year old. Basically, she said that she believed she would be dropped by her publisher, which is very sad. But then she blamed her fans for her publishing and financial situation (!), which made me more than a little uncomfortable. You can see what I mean HERE, HERE, and HERE. HERE is a Facebook post where she goes into a bit more detail. Yeah. So, not sure what is going on with upcoming books, but I have to admit I probably won’t spend too much time looking, either.
  • Finally! There is an official blurb for Karen Marie Moning‘s last(ish) Fever book, Feversong…
quotation marks#1 New York Times bestselling author Karen Marie Moning returns with the epic conclusion to her pulse-pounding Fever series, where a world thrown into chaos grows more treacherous at every turn. As Mac, Barrons, Ryodan, and Jada struggle to restore control, enemies become allies, right and wrong cease to exist, and the lines between life and death, lust and love, disappear completely.
Black holes loom menacingly over Dublin, threatening to destroy the Earth. Yet the greatest danger is the one MacKayla Lane has unleashed from within: the Sinsar Dubh—a sentient book of unthinkable evil—has possessed her body and will stop at nothing in its insatiable quest for power.
The fate of Man and Fae rests on destroying the book and recovering the long-lost Song of Making, the sole magic that can repair the fragile fabric of the Earth. But to achieve these aims, sidhe-seers, the Nine, Seelie, and Unseelie must form unlikely alliances and make heart-wrenching choices. For Barrons and Jada, this means finding the Seelie Queen who alone can wield the mysterious song, negotiating with a lethal Unseelie prince hell-bent on ruling the Fae courts, and figuring out how to destroy the Sinsar Dubh while keeping Mac alive.
This time, there’s no gain without sacrifice, no pursuit without risk, no victory without irrevocable loss. In the battle for Mac’s soul, every decision exacts a tremendous price.

There is a great post on Karen’s Facebook page which talks about what you can expect from Feversong…and beyond. You can find it HERE.

  • Oh, Sherrilyn Kenyon keeps on rocking the upcoming new releases, too. June 27th is the date for yet another League book, Born of Trouble.

Sigh…well, I didn’t think I had enough to make a decent-sized post, but once again my long winded rambling won out. Are any of these developments something you are looking forward to? What news have you heard? How do you feel about the Rob Thurman situation?

36 thoughts on “So, What’s Going On?

  1. Kathleen says:

    I was actually worried about Rob Thurman. Her website was suspended and there was zero internet activity. She recently posted an update that falling trees had taken out her roof but that she and her dogs were OK.
    As for her books, “Everwar” is the last under contract, although she has a story in the Jim Butcher anthology. She repackaged her non-Cal books as ebooks recently. I think that she, like ML Brennan and others, is getting a raw deal by traditional publishing where my buying every book is clearly not enough. 😉 I don’t think she means to be as harsh as she sometimes sounds, she’s just very disappointed.

    • kaleigha says:

      Her lack of website updating was weird…it seemed like it was pretty well maintained, and then it just stopped. ML Brennan is in the same boat with the contract not being renewed? That does suck.

      • Iain says:

        If they’re motivated, and get the business off the ground, indie publishing seems to be more profitable for authors these days… but they have to do all the things a publisher usually does themselves (hire editor/cover artist, narrator for audio, manufacturer for possible print run, and advertising)… but they make 70% of the profit minus costs… vs whatever publisher gives them after amazon takes their 30%… and I think Amazon is more flexible with indie authors since the lawsuits from Big Publisher 😛 annoyed them

        • kaleigha says:

          I think another bonus is that there is less time between finished manuscript and publishing date. Like Karen Marie Moning had her previous book done and ready for publication in the fall, but the publisher decided to hold off on it until January. Seems so random.

          • Iain says:

            Or how Hidden Legacy got delayed over a year when Ilona Andrews missed deadline last year… so they could relaunch the trilogy in 2017 when their release schedule could better accomodate the publicity they wanted around it…

            • kaleigha says:

              That one hurt, but I was ok because we knew what was going on and it didn’t just silently disappear. It will be great to have less wait-time in between releases, too.

      • Kathleen says:

        ML Brennan left a nice, detailed answer to a question about her Generation V series being cancelled, ironically mentioning Cal Leandros as a long-running series. She says 1) urban fantasy is crowded, 2) series aren’t being given the time to build a fanbase that they used to / publishers aren’t willing to go forward with smaller numbers, and 3) pubs spending less on publicity for smaller authors and series.
        I have started leaving online reviews of things I read, even from the library, since having 50 or more reviews on Amazon bumps up promotion there.

        • kaleigha says:

          It seems like a vicious circle, though – publishers won’t spend the time/money on smaller series, but series can’t grow their base without the time/money.

        • Iain says:

          This shows you I’ve spread myself kinda thin on reading so many things… I barely notice series that havent released a new book until I go look… I wasn’t aware Fortitude Scott had been cancelled… altho I was aware a new one hadnt come out in August like usual…

          I think similar has happened with Amanda Carlson’s Jessica McClain series… the release date on the next book is so vague I think she went indie…

          Hopefully the last 2 books in the Fort Scott series gets written eventually and hopefully I like whatever ML Brennan is working on now (I assume she’s working on something that will grab first-time readers more… that seemed to be part of the probelm with Fort Scott she said… misunderstood premise)

          • kaleigha says:

            I find that more and more myself, too. I have a “master list” if you will, of authors who have had new releases mentioned on this blog over the years, and when I check them once in a while I am always surprised by how many haven’t published anything in forever.

            • Iain says:

              Yea… when looking for something new to read… if I see a couple books released before 2013 or so… and another book with no date yet… I find myself less willing to try the series… I already have a half dozen series like that… I don’t need more… especially if they’re cliffhangery

  2. Monika says:

    I am actually waiting for book 7 “Perilous Hunt” in the Fallen Empire series (more Sci-Fi than Fantasy). Lindsay Buroker wrote in a post some time ago that she was aiming for a mid-October release and she just announced on her fb page that it will be out either Tuesday or Thursday of next week.
    Elizabeth Hunter did a cover reveal for her next book in her Elemental World series “A Stone Kissed Sea”. It is set to release on December 6.
    The only piece of your news I personally find interesting is the blurb for Feversong, though I still have a difficult time imagining how she will be able to do justice to all that in just one book…
    27 biker/psychic/super-agent/assassin/tattoo artists: sounds disturbing and repetetive even if each H is just one of those things… and I guess the hs will all be doormats 😦

    • kaleigha says:

      The lack of lead time on self-pubbed books is a blessing and a curse. Great for the readers, who don’t have to wait forever for their next story. Hideous for those like me who try and keep track of those things. Feversong hopefully will deliver big after the sort of filler story I found the last book, but I am glad to know that she plans to carry on in that world in some form or another.

    • Iain says:

      Feversong sounds a lot like Shadowfever to me (the last one I read)…

      Also… that new Ink series could be 50% tattooists, 50% marine biologists on submarines specializing in squids (Torpedo Ink :D)

  3. Tiger Lily says:

    I have read Thurman’s Trixter series and love it. I tried the Cal series after I found Trixter because I liked Trixter so much. I didn’t like Cal and I certainly am not going to buy it if I don’t want to read it. I hope she can continue to write but nobody is owed a career from other people. You either do it so it is successful in its own right or you don’t and you usually have to move on to something else.

    • kaleigha says:

      At first, I thought she only had the Cal Leandros books – I think I had them all bunched up with the other series in my head.

  4. cheryl says:

    Wow… it sounds very frustrating and I certainly understand that authors aren’t millionaires unless you’re one of the big names … Nora Roberts and James Patterson for example. They have been writing a very long time and if I remember right Roberts wrote for Harlequin when she first started.
    I tried Rob Thurman a few years back and didn’t like all the negativity in the stories … only such much sad I can take, (the Cal series), … and frankly gave up on it. I am a voracious reader and even I have cut back on purchasing books and getting more from the library. There are a lot of e books out there and self-publishing seems to be a trend but the books are getting to be so few pages that (200 pg avg or less) you are getting less story for the buck. I was checking out what I thought was a novella by some favorite authora and one was 71 pages and the other 50 pages… 3 to 4 bucks isn’t alot but for less than a 100 pages. Nope, just no.
    Sorry if it sounded like a rant but just a little frustration on the buyer and seller… to me.
    I saw a Go Fund Me page for an author that says she needs help with her mortgage because writing doesn’t pay enough…. was sympathetic but amazed too.

    • kaleigha says:

      James Patterson is actually a huge pet peeve of mine. Seriously. My father reads all of “his” stuff, and he has a new hardcover out probably every three-four weeks. You have to wonder how much of what has his name in big letters on the cover actually comes from him. He probably, at most, does an outline and passes it off to the “small print” name on the cover and calls it a day. He gets however many millions and other authors write forever and barely break even.

      I have been pretty ruthless about what I buy lately. I made a conscious choice to make myself tackle Mount TBR before I got invested in anything new, and so far, so good. I haven’t gotten much into self publishing as a result, because I am diving into my big-ticket series I have had forever. But the lack of pages for the buck would suck.

      In my hunts around author pages and Facebook posts, I have been seeing more postings about sales stats and money. I guess the stigma of talking about those things might be wearing off a bit, but it still surprises me. Even Karen Marie Moning in the Facebook link I listed above makes a point to stress the need for fans to pick up her works on or near publication date, since that impacts the bottom line in a big way. And Kim Harrison went into a bit of detail about the effect of poor sales on her latest series a while back. It is a side of the publishing business that I haven’t given much thought to, honestly. As much as I can sympathize with authors struggling with their bills, I guess I am just too practical. I would pick up whatever job I needed to to keep the bills paid, and write when I could.

      • cheryl says:

        I agree with you on James Patterson, he is a library only for me since his co-writers are okay but nothing close to his earlier works. I understand the numbers game but we all deal with income vs expense and have to deal with where our “entertainment” spending goes and how much. I would hate to see some of my favorite authors stop writing but I buy a lot of e-books these days and have had to pare down. The new releases cost of 12.99 to 14.99 not including tax makes my wallet go .. if I have 50 dollars to spend that leaves me at 3 picks plus a paperback bk … picking wisely and of course, sometimes I just have to wait for a few months for the price to go down or go to my local library. I want all writers to make a decent living but everything these days is making a dent in the wallet so authors that I would buy no matter what… now get on my “can I stand to wait for it list ” … and only about 3 authors make that gotta have it list.

        • Iain says:

          Even just waiting a few days/weeks can make a difference these days… i remember reading a list of complaints when The Shadows came out last year… the ebook price dropped from $15 to $8 within a week I think… they just kept the price high long enough to gouge the pre-orderers…

          I’ve never read Jamers Patterson… I read John Grisham when I was younger and Michael Connelly a few years ago… didn’t feel the need to jump on the Patterson train… altho I know a few of his books have been Academy Award winning movies like Mystic River…

          Nora Roberts writes at least 5-6 books a year when you add in the JD Robb stuff… not sure how many other pseudonyms she has… I read somewhere she had to create pseudonyms because she was publishing too for 1 name… you’d think James Patterson would have reached that point by now with his adult and YA stuff among others… I see them all the time on the new release shelf… NYPD Red, that numbered one, the kid one…

          • kaleigha says:

            Yeah, he does YA, romantic suspense, Women’s Murder Club, Alex Cross, NYPD Red, Zoo, Michael Bennett, The Private series…and on and on. Oh, and at least a couple of novellas a month from those various series, too.

          • Monika says:

            There have been rumours that Nora Roberts (J. D. Robb) has a ghostwriter (or several), too. Speaking from my own experience, especially with the in Death series I don’t think so. NR has a very distinctive voice and I think I would notice if the style was different all of a sudden. Some authors are just very prolific. Lindsay Buroker in a post explains how she has gone from writing a couple of thousand words a day to crack the 10’000 words a day mark, which for me is difficult to grasp, especially as her writing is of quite above average quality. Since May of this year she has churned out 6 books in her Fallen Empire series, each at least 220 pages, some closer to the 300 page mark…

            • kaleigha says:

              I am only in early days of the series – just finished book 9 – but I do get a distinct vibe from her writing. Not to beat a dead horse even more, but that was what was so jarring about her sudden change in tone. I wouldn’t accuse her of having a ghostwriter, but it felt different enough that it wouldn’t shock me.

            • Iain says:

              I think being able to write 5-6 books at once makes writing 10k words/day easier… if you get stuck on one, work on another… in UF/PnR, Seanan McGuire/Mira Grant is like that… her monthly writing summaries list tons of books she’s writing, but contracted and early planning, shorts/novellas, etc… her numbers have to be similar…

              This might be oversimplifying, but I always felt, with Nora Roberts at least, writing Romance made churning out dozens of books so fast easier… Romance books can easily be only 250-300pgs, have an expected arc before you start, etc

              • kaleigha says:

                And once you have your core characters developed and know them so well, you would think it would make things a bit quicker, too.

                • Iain says:

                  Yea… on the other end of the spectrum are big series with many moving parts, especially epic fantasy… I can see why George RR Martin has trouble finishing books… Robert Jordan was the same way… Wheel of Time kept getting longer and longer before he died and Brandon Sanderson finished the series…

                  I’ve also read a few articles about Planners vs Pantsers… authors that outline and those that just write… Pantsers seem like they have the potential for more writer’s block, or writing themselves into a corner they can’t get out of without going back and rewriting something they don’t want to necessarily change…

        • kaleigha says:

          Sometimes you just have to play it smart, and really enjoy what you get. You might not have as many, but hopefully the quality makes up for less quantity.

      • Iain says:

        I thought it was pretty much accepted that authors writing was a 2nd job and a passion for them generally… maybe if they’re lucky their first job is also in publishing or something, but I see a lot of author bio that say: X by day, author by night…. Y kids or Z pets…

        I know I read once about Ilona Andrews journey to published author through a number of online groups to Kate Daniels finding an editor… and that becoming financially secure enough to start writing full-time was a big deal for them…

        The problem (I hope) is when an author isn’t financially secure enough to stop working other jobs, but they are medium-sized enough that the publisher wants you to do book launch tours and conventions and stuff… depends what your day job is I guess… some indie authors manage it all…

        • kaleigha says:

          For a long time, I figured published author=rich, but then I realized that that was a myth for most authors. Then, like you, I started to pay attention and noticed that quite a few authors mentioned a day job. It makes sense, since like I say, survival comes before living the dream. At least for me.

          • Iain says:

            Not everyone is living the dream like JK Rowling… practically homeless, writing in public places… BAM, published Harry Potter, richer than the Queen of England

  5. Maria says:

    Thank you so much, you made me laugh with the tattoo artists thing, and I needed it sooo bad. I’ve been gradually abandoning Christine Feehan, and the Sisters is the last of her series that I follow… I don’t think I’ll be picking this ink series up.
    About the prices of the books… try living in a non speaking english country. Besides the price of the book, we have to support the costs of transportation. Or wait for the book to be translated (many times poorly translated) and the price is yet again higher. That’s why I’ve turned to e-books and I’m an avid user of the library. It’s the only way to keep my book budget within reason.

    • kaleigha says:

      It is hard enough living in Canada, so I can’t imagine the troubles elsewhere. Between the dismal state of the Canadian dollar compared to the US, and shipping costs, it can be crazy. At least the Book Depository has free worldwide shipping, and now prices seem to have leveled off. For a while, it was crazy expensive compared to Amazon, but now they are pretty much the same.

  6. Iain says:

    I’ve never gotten into Rob Thurman’s work… I’m looking forward to In Death #44 despite not clicking with #43… I thought Secrets was #44 for a second… I read the blurb the other day and it could have been…

    Authors blaming fans for anything other than success never helps the situation… just costs them what fans they have and lowers chances of increasing fanbase to levels they want/need…

    • kaleigha says:

      I figure they can complain about piracy, too, but that is about it. Piracy is my personal pet peeve, since I figure it cuts so far into their bottom lines that it impacts what the rest of us get to read, and when.

Leave a Reply

