News From The Others

heartPretty much everyone who comments here on Wicked Scribes is a fan of Anne Bishop‘s The Others. In fact, I can’t remember if anyone has ever said anything even remotely negative about it, and that is pretty rare (the only other authors universally praised here I can think of are Elizabeth Hunter and Ilona Andrews). And if you are like me, you haven’t been exactly thrilled with the thought of The Others wrapping up in five short months with the release of Etched in Bone. There have been a few rumors of it not really being the end, but they have been just that – rumors. Until now.

Over on Happy Ever After, the announcement has been made that the series will continue on. Not only that, but there are even a few details to get us excited. I personally had figured that if the series was extended, the focus would shift to someone we had already met in the Courtyard, maybe Vlad, for example. Turns out I was way off base. The publisher shared this about the 2018 release:

quotation marksSet in the country of Thaisia, a present-day alternate North America, the strange and beautiful world of The Others is one where humans live alongside shapeshifters, vampires and a host of beings even more deadly known as the terra indigene. The first five books of The Others have focused on the inhabitants of the Lakeside Courtyard — a private terra indigene community whose residents are tasked with keeping watch over the humans in the city.
Bishop’s new novel takes readers to a human village nestled in the terra indigene-controlled Finger Lakes region of Northeast Thaisia. It stars divorcee Victoria “Vicki” DeVine, owner of The Jumble — a small, self-sufficient community located on the shore of Lake Silence. Vicki and the town’s residents soon find themselves caught up in a chilling mystery, after a series of vicious murders rock the small community.

You can read a few small excerpts, and get a feel for some of the characters, by checking out the official announcement HERE.

While I am a bit sad to find out it won’t be focused on the Lakeside Courtyard, I am still intrigued by this new direction and new set of characters. Are you intrigued by the thought of delving into a whole new area of this world, or were you hoping for more from the characters we already know?

15 thoughts on “News From The Others

  1. Iain says:

    This is frankly one of the locales I expected if/when the series shifted… this is the community with Meg’s numbered friend with the other really important visions, right?

    And for a little dissent :D… I’m not a big fan of Elizabeth Hunter’s Elemental World… I read the first book (Earth I think) and enjoyed it enough… then I didn’t like the direction the 2nd book took… haven’t continued any further in a few years now, altho that seems to be her ever-expanding flagship series…

    I do enjoy Cambio Springs, tho… just 1 book left there… never considered trying her third series… think that’s just lingering feelings from other books, though… I read The Rule of Four years ago (terrible)… probably why I never got into Dan Brown either…

    • Iain says:

      I took the time to peruse the character guide… this is a completely new locale isn’t it?… Oh, well… unless this is basically a spin-off series, I expect each book to jump locales after this so I could still be right eventually…

    • kaleigha says:

      I am pretty sure you are the first one I have heard mention that they aren’t an Elizabeth Hunter fan – I haven’t tried her myself, but I do have one of her books on Mount TBR – on the one day pile. Of course, pretty much everyone is on there.

    • kaleigha says:

      That’s what I am thinking, too – we might meet some of the new characters in the next book, and hopefully see the Lakeside gang in the ones after that.

  2. snapdragon says:

    I am excited to visit another area in this amazing, complex world. So even though I will miss Simon and Meg I can’t wait to find out who or what else is out there.

  3. Cassandra B. says:

    I read the snippets on the HEA site and it seems really interesting. If the snippets are true to the book (which this far out, may not be the case), it looks like it might be a mix of first and third person. I don’t love that, but it doesn’t bug me too much. (I enjoyed Roxie Rivera’s Russian Protector’s series which switches between the two). I am glad the series is continuing and I am not surprised that the location is moving. I don’t think Bishop wants to humanize the Others too much and I think that would need to happen with particular Others characters being the main character.

    I really like the tone from the snippets–the humor is apparent and getting a wider picture of the world will be interesting. Since Lakeside Courtyard is such a role model in this new world, I wonder if it will at least be referenced fairly frequently. I am excited! I wish Bishop published more frequently.

  4. pals20 says:

    I’m not surprised by the move. In fact I thought “Marked in Flesh” with the terrifying Elders could’ve been a strong ending. So it makes me happy to have one more book based on Lakeside Courtyard. While I hope there will be occasional mentions of Lakeside, I am happy be in this world as long as the author lets me.

    And I would’ve also liked to have read about Vlad and Monty but I don’t think that will ever happen. This is one of those truly UF series where the romance is a slow burn, almost on the back burner when compared to the events that unfold.

    • kaleigha says:

      I know, right? I so thought Vlad was moving into his own storyline, but maybe somewhere down the line it could still come back to him.

  5. Phyllis says:

    On her Facebook page, Bishop posted a little bit about the Others novel AFTER the one blurbed in the USA Today. No title, but it will involve the wolves and Bennett. You should check it out.

  6. laura lecce says:

    I am a huge fan of Anne Bishop and look forward to the release of a new book every year. I would have loved to see Vlad take the lead in his own story, but I’m sure wherever the new series takes us, it will be fantastic.

    • kaleigha says:

      Yeah, I would’ve sworn it was going to be a Vlad-centric spin-off, but maybe somewhere down the line. I did see that the next book will be called Lake Silence, and I am assuming it will be a March 2018 release.

Leave a Reply

