White Hot – Version 2

I have never made any secret of the fact that I am a cover-junkie, but there are a few series that I am so addicted to that I can forgive about any cover issues. Ilona Andrews is one author whose books have not always been the luckiest when it comes to art, so I was intrigued when word came down that the White Hot cover was getting a do-over after its publication delay. I didn’t dislike the first version, but I have to admit that I did have visions of Tony Mauro or Dan Dos Santos-type art for this great series. That didn’t happen. This is what the original was to look like…

white hot

See, not bad. Not great, but not bad, either. Then I saw the revised art for White Hot on Amazon, and it wasn’t the change I was hoping for. I actually like it less than the original version, honestly. Behold…

white-hot

The only thing throwing me off is that darn title font. The colors are pretty, the models are the same, but that icy drippy font is weird for a book cover. Especially one called White Hot.

So, better or worse, in your opinion? Or, like me, are you just so happy to get your hands on this that you can forgive pretty much anything. Except that font…

15 thoughts on “White Hot – Version 2

    • kaleigha says:

      I think they just laugh it off at this point, from what I have seen. They just ask that people stop emailing them to comment on how much they hate the covers.

  1. Iain says:

    If they’re doing this, I assume Burn For Me has a fire font soon, and whatever the final book is could have a smoky font or something… good thing covers are rarely seen on kindle tho…

    • kaleigha says:

      I do wonder what the revamped Burn for Me will look like – assuming that they go ahead with the re-release and re-packaging.

    • Monika says:

      You can still do that ;-). Actually, back in primary school we used to make covers for our school books from brown paper for protection…

  2. cheryl says:

    Well, I have my hug-able kindle fire and kindle keyboard… but my fire has become my go to reader just because I can find my books by the cover alone and if I dim the background light it doesn’t bug my eyes and frankly I can still listen to my books with the fire.
    So, with the colors of the kindle fire I have gotten back to enjoying the covers and have to admit that this new cover is ugly and it makes him look like he be wearing no pants. Old eyes, I know, but still looks that way on my laptop.
    Why do they have to have a couple on the cover at all?.. they could use the part of the description of the world or events with a couple in background and it would look so good. I always think of the bodice rippers of yore where you had to have a sexy cover to get people to buy it (supposedly) but geez aren’t we smart enough to buy a book without the under dressed and slinky poses??

Leave a Reply

