Archangel’s Heart Review

Any time Nalini Singh has a new book in sight I am happy, and Archangel’s Heart is no exception. This is the 9th book of the Guild Hunter series, and it is still going strong. Doug Meeks sent over his early review for this one, which is due out on November 1st.

archangel's heartWhat Doug said…

I read a lot of fantasy/paranormal romance, much of what is classified as urban fantasy really is romance in many cases but I can count on my fingers(with a couple left over) the number of writers that can really pull off a true emotional, gut-felt and truly believable “I can’t live without you” romance. Nalini Singh is one of those very few and this book pulls you right into that “love to last the ages” feeling while trying to figure out a sinister plot that has you guessing a good bit.

We start with a summons to a meeting by a mysterious and ancient order of angels known as the Luminata who call the entire Cadre together to discuss the fate of Lijuan’s territory since it appears she is no longer in charge of her lands (her actual status is saved until the last page).

It soon becomes apparent that this is a dual plot since the above plot gets shunted aside until later in the book because of some very sinister things going on at the fortress of the Luminata.

This is a great set of plots and the romance is worked into the story beautifully as well as finally some answers to a few questions that have been hanging around this series for a long time plus it looks like we may add a few secondary characters to the series.

This book does reveal something that has not been shown a lot in this series, which is that none of the Cadre are really 1 dimensional characters, we get a bit of time with all of them in this book.

Bottom Line: 5 Stars, maybe I am just addicted to the writing of Nalini Singh because there is really nothing to even mention that was negative, The story was riveting, the emotion was heartfelt, the only thing I can ever complain about is this book could have been 200 pages longer and I still would have wanted more, there is so much fertile ground for future stories. 5 Stars for one of the paranormal genre’s premier writers once again giving us an exceptional story that you will remember long after the last page.

I was very lucky, I must admit. Not only was I sent an ARC for this one a while back, I was also sent an early copy of the actual paperback release, too. It was a great surprise, and I will be diving back in again for my re-read pretty soon.

6 thoughts on “Archangel’s Heart Review

  1. Charleen says:

    Thank you for the excellent review! I will be waiting up for this to show on my Kindle tonight. Since today is my birthday, I’ll think of it as a late gift! Can’t wait!

  2. Maria says:

    I started it and finished yesterday and I absolutely loved it. Doug I agree 100% with you! Loved to see the Cadre’s interactions with one another, loved the plot, loved the new paths you can glimpse ahead… Absolutely 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

