Reading Wrap Up

booksI am going to try and make this post a little less rambly than usual, so let’s see how that goes. Since October has streaked by, I thought it would be a good time to do another Reading Wrap Up post to see what everyone has been up to.

My battle with Sherrilyn Kenyon‘s Dark-Hunters continues, with mixed success. I seem to be in the like one then not so much stage of things, with the last one being a solid meh. My problem with Dark Side of the Moon can be placed squarely on female lead Susan, and pretty much only her. I don’t like female reporter characters, which is weird, but that isn’t what bugged me about her. I didn’t like her over the top snark and sarcasm. I like both snark and sarcasm, but hers came off as inappropriate and mostly just rude. She did get a bit better as the story went on, but not enough to make me like her.

My other big stumbling block when I read is the pregnant-by-another-dude female, which I thought would mean I wouldn’t like Deborah Blake‘s Dangerously Charming. Turns out that in this case it didn’t bother me at all. I quite enjoyed this one, and look forward to Dangerously Divine….whose cover I found just this minute. Behold.

dangerously-divine

Aaaand, my enjoyment of J.D. Robb‘s In Death series is also still going strong. Loyalty in Death saw some great and long awaited developments for certain side characters, and paired with a good, solid story and lots of Roarke, I was a happy girl. I had weirdness with my last book order, which means I have to wait a bit for my next fix to be delivered. On to #10…and only like 35 more to go. Yeah.

Oh, and I broke down and finally tried A Promise of Fire from Amanda Bouchet. I was still on my no-new-series ban, but I caved and ordered this one for my ipad, and I was glad I did. It was a very nice break from my usual, and it has been a long while since I picked up one that had a historical feel. I will be definitely keeping up with this series, and I do so hope for stories for Carver, Flynn and Kato after the original trilogy wraps up.

Finally, there were a few re-reads, too. I tore through Ilona Andrews‘ latest Kate Daniels, Magic Binds, when it was first released, and I was shocked by how little I retained. Seriously, I might’ve remembered maybe 10% of the storyline, so the re-read felt almost like a first time, and it was great. The only downside is that you can feel the build-up to the end, which is not something I want to contemplate. Ever. And I also re-read What a Dragon Should Know from G.A. Aiken, and it was a blast. You can’t miss with one of these books if you are looking for crazy antics and humor, and going back to it was a treat. Now if I could just find out when the next new book is coming out, I would be happy.

So, I aimed for less long-winded, and missed by a mile. But what have you been reading lately? Have you kept up on the very recently finished serialized One Fell Sweep? Were you happy how it wrapped up? Do you also pick up the print or e-format versions when they are released, or do you stick to reading them on the Ilona Andrews’ Blog?

18 thoughts on “Reading Wrap Up

  1. dougmeeks says:

    The Amanda Bouchet books are driving me crazy, I gave “Promise of Fire” 3 Stars (almost made it 2) because I have a personal disgust of kidnapped victims with threats to their loved ones.
    (you can read it here http://www.amazon.com/gp/review/R12FNC7AJNFEC5 )

    BUT they sent me a copy of the second book “Breath of Fire” which was worse and better (I gave it 4 Stars) it still has some serious domestic abuse IMHO but it does have an addicting plot. Feel free to read my review (non-spoiler except for what you are going to see in the first chapter which I still consider pretty much the same as wife beating so feel free to read this also and see why I am tearing my hair out on this one and can’t wait for the 3rd book

    http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1760138551

    • kaleigha says:

      That does drive a person nuts, when you like a book but it hits your triggers. Some of Christine Feehan’s latest books are like that for me, and it is hard on the head.

  2. dougmeeks says:

    and just for info “What a Dragon Should Know (Dragon Kin #3)” is about the only book I ever read that had me screaming at my Kindle like “WTF , tell me that did not just happen”!!!

    LOL

    • kaleigha says:

      The Dragon Kin books are great for re-reads…I get so much more out of them now that I can keep straight who is who. Mostly.

  3. ccm says:

    Like the new inn keeper books and will buy when out along with the audio. I got my 79 yo mom to try the kate books and she really liked them. Since she listens to the mp3 version I’ll be buying the Andrew’s back list.

    I picked up the kindle first by Shannon Mayer Venom and Vanilla. Liked and will try the new book when its out.

    Just finished a short story by Tina Whittle. And I’m waiting for the last book in the Fallen Empire series by Lindsay Buroker.

    I gave up on Kenyon a long time ago, didn’t really remember why. I stopped at Acheron. Last month I decided to try Styxx and had to skim. It just went on and on with the abuse, I could take only so much of that.

  4. Alexandra says:

    Yes, I was happy with the ending of one fell swoop (but man did that one chapter still sucker punch me even thought we were forewarned). I can’t wait to get the physical copy when they release it. I do wonder what the next book will be like. But gosh it is going to be torture waiting for White Hot to come out. Currently I am re-reading the Noon Onyx series by Jill Archer because she is going to be releasing the fourth book (pocket full of tinder) in the series this December. Have you read that series before?

    • kaleigha says:

      I haven’t read the Noon Onyx books, and it seemed like any info about them was hard to come by for a while. I will check out the dates on the new one to add them to the release pages.

      • Alexandra says:

        I figure if you like Faith Hunter, Patricia Briggs, and llona Andrews then you might like her. Because of you I began reading Sarah j Maas (so thank you so much!). Also for the longest time I wanted to thank you so much for putting up these release lists on your site because they are super helpful. Once again thank you so much

  5. Ashley says:

    I have mixed feelings about the end of One Fell Sweep. It did wrap up some loose ends, but it was SOOOOO rushed. I could feel how desperate the authors were to wrap it up. That said, I felt like Inkeeper #2 was rushed as well, although not as badly as this one. Don’t get me wrong, though, I ADORE the Innkeeper stories and can’t wait for more. I just wish they could tweak the looooooong build up, emotional sucker punch, then super-rushed ending pattern. And the main heroine having a near-death experience each book is another one of their signature moves. Gosh, that was critical for an author I love! Guess I just want them to be perfect. šŸ˜‰

    • kaleigha says:

      I usually read the Innkeeper online at the start, then stop and wait for the print release. For this one, I think I read pretty much all of it online. I did notice the burst at the end to get it wrapped up this time, but I do wonder how much will be edited/added to the last chapters and epilogue in the print release.

      • Ashley says:

        I have read all three as serials, so I didn’t realize (silly me!) they added/edited for the print versions. I sure hope so, because that epilogue had some significant happenings that were just glossed over!!!

  6. Iain says:

    I liked Amanda Bouchet’s book because it was a different use of Greek mythology than I usually come across in UF/PnR… but worried the MC was too poweful (luckily its balanced with life-threatening close-calls)…

    I agree with Doug for the most part… I get tired of Alpha Dickheads and Stockholm Syndrome in PnR, but I didn’t have too much problems with Promise of Fire, once the carnival scenes were over…

    I like to wait for the Innkeeper books to be published, because I figure any bumps in the plot get smoothed out in editing… publishing a chapter or less at a time, probably causes the rushed feel, because they can’t go back and make changes to earlier parts, and you don’t want to cut off mid-action at the end…

    Personally, I’ve been reading a lot of meh things I can’t think of write now, and working on the Kara Gillian series by Diana Rowland on audio… its a series I’ve pushed through despite minor problems, because I was so interested in how the series shifts from UF mysteries to Demon Apocalypse midway through… but sometimes I just want to bang my head against the wall… I wish I had the books on my kindle so I could find out exactly how many times per book the MC is baffled or a variation of baffled…

    Romancing the Inventor by Gail Carriger came out yesterday, so I jumped ship for a day and read that… probably pick up Archangel’s Heart next

    • kaleigha says:

      Yeah, MC in Promise of Fire was pretty much over the top power-wise (and skill wise), but I have a feeling that Griffin might have a few surprises in store for us, too. I liked the sort of mash-up of mythology, historical feel, magic, and the sometimes almost contemporary talk. Sounds weird when I type it out, but it did work.

      • Iain says:

        Yea… in a lot of ways, I felt the book read like something you might read in school when your history/english class spent a month focusing on Greek Mythology…

      • Iain says:

        Your reviews are near the top of the pile on goodreads, so they’ve kept me going the last few weeks as I rushed through 3-6… partway through 7 now…

  7. snapdragon says:

    I am so excited to get OFS on e-book. It’s a free story online and they always change, enhance things at the final edit before pay release. It will be a great present in late December.

    I have gone on a Kristen Ashley kick lately and I so enjoyed the Rock Chick series and have been enjoying some of her other books.

Leave a Reply

