Book Chat

Happy Friday, everyone! This week was pretty great for new releases, with both Nalini Singh‘s Archangel’s Heart and Faith Hunter‘s Curse on the Land coming our way. Both of these were great books (well, I am almost finished Curse on the Land, but it has been pretty great so far).

So, if you would like to discuss the good, the bad, and the ugly about either of both of these books, feel free to drop a line in the comments section. Spoilers welcome, so beware if you haven’t gotten through them yet.

12 thoughts on “Book Chat

  1. Iain says:

    Archangel’s Heart was probably my favorite Elena/Raphael book since the series branched out to the Seven… I much prefer exploring the Seven usually… I’m also glad this book implies X person’s plotline is done with barring any surprises…

    While many hope Illium and Aodhan end up together, I think I’d rather they didn’t, if only because that means 2 books instead of one… I can see it going either way… I expect Laric to end up with a novella at some point…

    • kaleigha says:

      Yep, hopefully LiJuan can take a hike for a while…I won’t be missing her at all. One of my favorite aspects was seeing the Cadre in action. I had never considered it before, but I would love to get Alexander’s story. I am still hoping that Sparkle and Bluebell don’t end up together, but just stay epically amazing friends.

  2. Lisa says:

    I loved Curse on the Land! I can’t wait to find out what happened to Rick. I hope Jane & Rick get back together. Rick seems to have learned a lot since then.

    • kaleigha says:

      I was so surprised to see that Soulwood is/was only planned as a trilogy! What’s with that? Flame in the Dark (book 3) will have some major wrapping up to do if that is the case. But if it does wind down, I guess there are more characters who could get their turn.

  3. Haylo says:

    Loved both books but I don’t want to see Rick and Jane get back together. I don’t know if Bruiser is the right person for Jane in the end, but I like who SHE is with him more than I did with Rick. Plus their storylines are so separate now that it would have to splinter one group or the other for them to be together. Jane’s little family is great right now and I don’t want to see that sacrificed in order to bring Rick in.

    I LOVED Archangel’s heart. I have been a big fan of all the books except for Jason/Mahiya (I liked it but didn’t love it). This one was one of my favorites. The plot was stellar and the pacing was really good. I hope that we are good and done with Lijuan for a while. What I believe will happen is that we’ll finish the books of the seven: Illium, Aodhan and Venom and then the Cascade will come to an end and Lijuan will awaken and be finished off. I think will get Venom, R/E, Aodhan, Illium and then finish with R/E. If each of those books covers 2/3 years Lijuan will have a short sleep by Angelic terms but long enough for her to have regained strength and want to awaken and finish off the job.

    • kaleigha says:

      I am only up to the point where Ricky gets bit in Jane Yellowrock, so I have only seen a Jane/Bruiser flirtation up to this point. But since Nell is potentially only a trilogy, I guess Rick could end up back in Yellowrock world pretty easily.

      Guild Hunter could even go beyond finishing off the Seven at this point, which I wouldn’t have thought before. Izzy is young, but has a lot of potential. And Alexander is pretty much begging for his story to be told at this point. Plus throw in novellas for Kier and Ransom, and things are looking good.

  4. Lisa says:

    I can’t stand Bruiser or the vampires. I wish Jane would get away from all of them. I never liked Bruiser for Jane. Rick needed to grow up. I think he’s done quite a bit. Nell will be a great ally. I can’t wait to see what’s next.

    • kaleigha says:

      I was a bit lost with the whole Rick/Paka thing in the Nell books, because I haven’t gotten to that point in my reading of Jane Yellowrock yet. I ended up feeling bad for Rick, not having his “backstory” to make me loathe him like I have heard a lot of people say they do. But now I am way curious.

  5. Shira says:

    Loved Archangel’s Heart, too.
    I would really like to see a story on Alexander and his people, and on Vivek at some point of the series in addition to the rest of the Seven.
    Also, did anyone think Laric may be the one for Keir, since he’s headed that way?

  6. Maria says:

    Glad to see that I wasn’t the only one who got strong vibes of Illium and Aodhan together. I was going to try to re read previous books, because until this one I hadn’t gotten it so strong and I thought I might have missed it. I think they would be great together!
    I loved this one and I can’t wait to see where Nalini takes us next.

    • kaleigha says:

      Yeah, I didn’t get the vibe until here, either. I hope it doesn’t go that way, but if it does then that is ok too. Because I got my copy so early, I was wondering if I was nuts in picking it up and had no one to ask.

Leave a Reply

